We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zehar

Save Saved
You added Riad Zehar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Zehar
79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
arapoti
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here with our 3 children after a week travelling through Morocco. Before our trip we stayed in Riad Reves d`Orient which is run by the same manager. This Riad is very intimate has lovely details and is nicely situated around the corner from the Souk. We defenitely prefer to sty in this kind of place because it has such an authentic feel. It used to be a private townhouse so it seems like you`re staying at a friends house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
90
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We arrived at the Riad around 21/Dec and it was perfect! The place was cosy and the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. They really looked after us. This Riad is smaller than it's sister one (Riad Reves D'orient), but is just as nice and the staff were really incredible. We had breakfast on the roof terrace most days which was very nice. Fatima who runs the Riad speaks French so if there are complex things that you need it might be worth asking Samira. They even had free internet (and took a lot of effort to help us to connect).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Samira, took wonderful care of me.
I enjoyed my stay at Samira's riads . The staff was amazing and I would highly recommend this lovely Riad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed a this Riad with my wife and a family of 3 kids aged 6, 4 and 2. We were looking for a riad inside the Medina with a family room.
This is a great Riad for families. It is ideally located, right next to to Jama el Fna square, but on a side street which is completely quiet in the evenings and at night. We wanted something central with a Riad atmosphere, but that was quiet enough at night and this fit the bill perfectly.
The Riad itself is finished to high standards, and the family room had 2 double beds and a cot. It was on the first floor so the stairs were a bit of a concern for our toddler but in the end not a big deal, the room can be closed off and access to the stairs blocked off.
Breakfast was very good. Evening meals were cooked by Fatima and ver good. We got a chance to compare the Tagine we had at the Rid with ones you get elsewhere and the best one was at the Riad. We had a couple of evening meals there and the rest were in Marrakech.
The Riad is held by Samira who can organise activitis for you, shuttles to the airport, car rental, hammam and the like. Shuttles are defintely recommended. For 30 eur return you get someone to pick you up, take you to a drop off point close to the Riad, and guide you through the Medina to the Riad, with your luggage (and kids :-)) on a cart. Handy when traveling with children and well worth the money.
We rente a car and were looking for car seats for the children - this isn't seasy to get in Marocco but if you insist you can get some. Same for the shuttle to the Riad, if you want car seats you can ask Samira.
The good thing about this Riad's location is that it is literally 5 minutes from the main square and you can find it easily from there, so you just need to find your way back to the Main square to find your way back to the Riad.
If you are looking for a good family Riad then this is a good choice. Samira also runs a Riad 5 minutes away from this one called Reves d'Orient (http://www.tripadvisor.es/Hotel_Review-g293734-d1557836-Reviews-Riad_Reves_D_orient-Marrakech.html).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

During the last week of december 2010 we stayed with four persons at Riad Zehar. The Toubkal rooms where really carefull and very nice decorated, as well as whole Riad. The Riad has a wide roof terrace, with also a cosy covered space. We experienced Riad Zehar as a quiet and very hospitable oase, only a street away from the souks and central curiosity's of Marrakech!
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning at the time it suited us. Riad Zehar is the best kept secret of Marrakech. The price/ quality proportionally will not dissapoint you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We, two couples, stayed at Riad Zehar for one week during christmas-time. Riad Zehar is located in the nicest neighbourhood within the Medina, Mouassine. It is located in a quiet street very close to shoppingstreets, the souks and the Jemma El Fna Square.

The Riad is very smal and intimate with only three rooms (two rooms for two and one for four, in which we stayed) and it looks just perfect with beautifull decorations everywhere! Breakfast is served every morning, in the courtyard or on the rooftop-terrace.

Our room, the room with two beds, is decorated beautifully. It had one room on the first floor, which also contained the tadelakt bathtub/shower. There is a small hallway which containes a toilet, a sink and a closet. Down the stairs is the second bedroom wich looks really romantic.

The host, Fatima, is so warm and caring! Not only does she serves you a cup of tea whenever you return from a long day on the streets of Marrakech, she also brings out a blanket when it's cold at night on the terrace and took care of us when we arrived past midnight after a delayed flight. Samira, the manager, speaks english very well and stops by the Riad (she also runs another one) regularly to help you out. She helped us when we wanted to visit a Hammam (a very nice authentical one), a trip to Ourika Valley and a taxi to the airport. She is a very modern and lovely lady!

We felt like leaving a family when leaving Marrakech!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Thank you very much for every think ! Spent only one night, I like it so much...
Samira, super graceful hostess who made me feel like at home. One night was not enough, I well com back soon,
Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zehar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zehar

Address: 79 Derb Habib Allah Mouassine | Quartier Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Morocco, Welcome to Samira's Riads " Home from Home " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zehar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zehar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.