We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ta'achchaqa to your Saves list
Riad Ta'achchaqa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #619 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Wanting to have the true Moroccan experience, my boyfriend and I booked this riad for a four night stay. I can easily say it was one of the nicest places I've stayed (and I travel a lot). We were greated with a wonderful mint tea, and given a lot of information by the front office staff. They told us where to go, what to do, and where to buy certain items (including some great homemade soap). The resident cat is adorable and breakfast was delicious. In addition, dinner the first night was very good.

One thing I would recommend is do get an airport pickup scheduled by the front desk. WIthout it, the riad is a little hard to find the first time. Other than that, we highly recommend this place!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Alright the Riad is a little hard to find - so take Frederic's advice and book a pick up form the airport. Booking a cab through the Riad is anyway cheaper than the fare you wil be charged if you pick up an airport taxi.

This is my second stay at Ta'achchaqa - I stayed in Jan 2010 too... and once I got used to the derb (took a couple fo hours max.) I was away. It's a brilliant location - very near the souk (1 minute), the Mouassine (1 minute) and easy access to the Square (walking) and Nouvelle Ville (it is walkable if not too hot a day or a short cheap taxi ride).

The Riad itself is absolutely gorgeous - it really feels like a luxury stay and at a very reasonable price. Frederic and Michele are excellent hosts and the staff are extremely attentive and welcoming (without crowding you). Despite my not speaking Arabic and speaking negligible French we managed to work things through and always with a smile. Frederic's English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable and helpful if you want tips or to organise a trip or visit. Totally worth it. Treat yourself!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had a lovely time. The location was excellent, only 6 mins walk to main square, 1 min to the souqs, and yet the Riad was a peaceful cool oasis from the bustle of the souqs. The Riad itself was very attractive, service was excellent, breakfast delicious, as was the one evening meal we had there (good value for money). It was not as hard to find as we expected after reading other reviews if you follow the detailed directions word for word. We would highly recommend the Riad Ta'achchaqa to others.

  • Liked — All
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Riad Ta'achchaqa is a beautiful and tranquil riad in the centre of the medina of Marrakech, in easy reach of the souks and Jemaa el Fna. Frederic and Michelle, the French owners, are incredibly helpful and will provide you with all the information you need to explore the city, as well as making restaurant reservations and organising taxis. I strongly recommend emailing Frederic to organise a taxi from the airport as the riad is very difficult to find if you have not been before. Breakfast was fantastic on the terrace, and the service throughout our stay was genuine, attentive and warm. Highly recommended, we will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The owner arranged a taxi from the airport and the driver took us to the riad, otherwise I don't think we'd have found it. The riad itself was stunning; from the decor, to the room, to the service. The owner is very knowledgeable and more than happy to advise you on anything from sightseeing to where to eat. We had a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Honestly, having stayed here for 5 nights, I can say that this is one of the nicest hotels/b&bs I've stayed at for the price. Whoever NJ Sherlock is, is talking absolute rubbish...

Yes, it's hard to find, but so is anything in the middle of the Medina in Marrakech. Make sure you either know where you're going, or arrange a cab through the riad itself when you book the room: the driver will lead you through the backstreets to the front door of the riad. If you don't like something different and interesting, then go to Eurodisney.

Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, the night porter was a lovely gentle man who always welcomed us in and made us the odd mint tea when we needed it, and even the riad's cat was a complete darling.

The riad is beautiful, and the rooms are lovely - it felt like we were in another world. We were as happy just hanging out at the riad as we were cruising through Marrakech. It was, tranquil, light, spacious and airy. And it was a treat to be staying in the middle of the Medina, walking distance away from everything.

And the breakfasts were just right - morrocan pancakey things, French pastries, spreads, and nice coffee.

Negatives? The hot water supply wasn't always great - sometimes it bordered on lukewarm. Oh, and it helps if you speak a bit of French (of the hosts, the husband speaks English, but the wife doesn't speak much). But that's about it.

I sort of regret saying it (because I want to keep it to myself) but you should stay here if you visit Marrakech. It's lovely.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Hot water was a little dodgy from time to time
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed there for 2 days and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are well furnished and spotless. The staff was kind and helpful.
We also had dinner there one night and it was really really good.
The owners arranged also hammam just for two of us and were always ready to give us suggestions.
There is also a nice terrace where you can have breakfast in the morning.
Don't let you negatively be impressed by the location. The Riad is at the end of some narrow streets, but however it is not far from the main square (10/15 minutes walking) and going around is safe also during the night.

  • Liked — Staff's kindness, room, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ta'achchaqa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ta'achchaqa

Address: 19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #619 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ta'achchaqa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Ta'achchaqa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ta`Achchaqa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ta'achchaqa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.