We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Save Saved
You added Riad Ta'achchaqa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ta'achchaqa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #502 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a brief stay here and it met my expectations based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were exhausted after a long day of travel and were thrilled to receive such a warm welcome at the Riad. As others have noted - it can be very difficult to find in the winding alleys of the Medina. We were approached by someone to help us find the riad - and did pay a bit for his services. I didn't feel taken advantage of - he provided us a very valuable service! We arrived after dark and I am not sure we would have found the riad otherwise - at least not without a great level of frustration! We did arrive late and were not able to arrange for dinner at the riad (you need to arrange that in advance.) The riad is walking distance to market / square however (about 10 - 15 minutes) which is very lively at night.

The room was clean and provided much needed R&R after a long days travel. I would recommend this riad to anyone looking for nice accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We started our stay in Marrakesh at a different riad, lovely, but expensive. We spent our last 4 nights here and wondered, why did we ever stay at that other place?

This place is great, lovely rooms, quiet, sweet people who care about your time in the city. A couple of cozy cats to cuddle with on a chilly night.

One thing of course, no doors on the bathrooms! Which made for some hilarious, married moments.

It's got AC and it's also a bit away from the square which is really nice. The sheets are nice and great comforters. Also BREAKFAST. Really yummy with eggs and bread and yogurt with pomegranates mixed in. YUM.

We have been totally happy here. Wouldn't have it any other way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Riad might be for you if:

You find it an adventure to get a taxi to a street corner and then find kids with carts to show you through the maze to an unmarked door which is your Riad (don't pay them 70dhr, we gave them 30 and closed the door).

You can deal with hotel staff who speak only French.

You have a map, compass, gps, and can find your way in and out of a maze when exploring this exotic city.

You don't need a door on your very elegant bathroom.

You find an oasis in the midst of chaos to be the perfect vacation.

Great find if it fits your bill.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Ta'achchaqa was the last of the 8 ryads we did on our Morocco-trip. And apparently we saved the best for last - what a wonderful experience ! We totally don't understand some of the negative remarks made in other reviews...

Location : very good, in the center of the old medina of Marrakech, near/in the souks. It's a nice walk of about 10 minutes through the shops to the famous Jemaa El Fna Square. You have to go through some small alleys to get to the ryad, but this is not really an issue. The alleys are fairly well-lit and there is even a private guard at the beginning of the alleys (although we don't really see why as we never felt threatened in Morocco).

Ryad itself : wonderfully decorated, more luxurious and with more eye for detail than the other 7 ryads we did. A fairytale from 1001 nights !

Rooms : very spacious and luxurious; no door between bathroom and bedroom but toilet and shower are separated from the rest of the room behind a wall.

Service : excellent ! Nourredine was the perfect host ! Candles were always lit, we were served as kings, he showed us around to a nice little restaurant and to the square, ...

Cats : the ryad has one or two house cats, very sweet and clean. We are cat-people so we liked this a lot, but for people who don't like cats : the cats are not very pushy... We were surprised to read in some reviews that people asked the owners to remove the cats. Besides that : if you don't like cats, you're better of not going to Marrakech at all as there cats everywhere !

Dinner : we never had dinner here, but 20 eur per person is a lot of money for food in Morocco. There are plenty of small restaurants in the medina where you enjoy a 3 course menu for around 10 euro per person (or even less).

Summarized : a perfect place for a citytrip to Marrakech !!!

Room Tip: We had the Chemaia-room on the ground level. Very nice and cozy room, but we can imagine that it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My stay at this hotel had some very good points and some not so good points. I'll summarize here:
Good points:
1. The owners are very friendly and helpful, especially Anwar who actually became our guide and took us to Jamma Al Fna on the first night and showed us around. He even haggled for us when we brought some items.
2. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport which was also incredibly helpful. We could never had gotten to the riad if it wasn't for this
3. The room had air conditioning.
Bad points:
1. The location is poor. It is too far from Jamma El fna square which is where all the action occurs.
2. The alley way which leads to the Riad is too dark, smells of sewers and is intimidating. There occasionally are a few local men who hang around this area and once asked me for money, when I said no, this caused an argument.
3. Beware: the bathroom/toilet and the main bedroom are all in one! i.e there is no door on the toilet. I am newly married so can you imagine how embarrasing that can be? Apparently all the rooms have this which is shocking for a 5 star place.
4. Do not get the meal on the first night. It is 40 euros which is far too much! You can easily go to a nice restaurant near Jamma El Fna for 120 dirhams(about £12).
5. I hate cats and the Riad is full of them. Even when I told them that they bother me, nothing was done.
This is not a five star hotel, more like 3 stars.
Read less

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here a few months ago when researching Marrakech for a student visit, college paid airfares but accommodation was our responsibility. There are cheaper places but this looked the most interesting.

First thing to say, if this is your first time in Marrakech, you're in for a real treat, the city will assault all your senses. I have never been anywhere quite like this, but a part of the uniqueness is the cramped streets and please believe me you'll have very little chance of finding this Riad straight from the plane and an ordinary cab. DO (do) arrange your airport transfer with the Riad, they will ensure your cabbie gets as close to the Riad as can be driven and then will walk you directly to the Riad from there. The walk will immediately immerse you into Marrakech life. Once you arrive you'll think you're hopelessly lost and have no chance of navigating out again but the secret is to observe en route. As you walk with the cabbie you'll pass a barber and opposite that will be a lampost, you'll turn next to the lampost and the secret is to remember the route to that lampost, so out of the Riad you turn left, walk to the end and then left again, walk to the end and left again, you'll emerge opposite the barber and next to the lamp. A right from the lamp and a few yards later you're at a junction,a left will lead you to a great restaurant with a wonderful rooftop terrace and reasonable food, straight on will lead you down Moussasine and down there on your left is one of the very few licensed premises in the Medina (expensive for both food and beer). Follow the Moussasine down and via a dogleg right at bottom and first left followed by another souk walk and you'll end up at Jemma El Feena with its wonderful night-time food stalls.

This is a city to explore and you'll mainly explore it on foot. Fredric will provide you with a detailed map which will assist your exploration. The sights and smells will astound and delight you, the locals all have stories to tell and the streets meander like their stories. Take your time to get lost in the Souks, haggle hard with the vendors and you'll love Marrakech.

Turning to the Riad, well its small, only 5 rooms but ours was very big and very cool. The riad is immaculate throughout although be aware the massive black onyx baths take about an hour to fill, and even then the water is only lukewarm. The staff are charming and very helpful, bed supremely comfortable and breakfast on the rooftop terrace is a lovely start to the day. This is a superb Riad representing great value for money in a fascinating city. Get out there and enjoy...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This Riad is beautiful, the pictures do not do it justice. We stayed here as a group of three girls and we could not of been more welcomed.

The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you, they brought us tea whenever we asked. our room was lovely and the location of the riad is perfect. right in the mix of everything. At first you might feel a little un safe navigating your way through all the streets to get to the riad, but it is perfectly safe and the security will help you.

there is a house cat which is amazing he is adorable and does not pester you just lies there and waits to be cuddled.

all in all an amazing place to stay better than any hotel. if you want a real morrocan experience this is it !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ta'achchaqa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ta'achchaqa

Address: 19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ta'achchaqa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Ta'achchaqa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ta`Achchaqa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ta'achchaqa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.