We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise lost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Jardins Mandaline to your Saves list
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Derb Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Paradise lost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This wonderful riad is perfectly located inside the souq, 15 min from jem'el fna (the main square). The common parts are amazing, and there is an high attention to details. The riad has a small swimming pool, an hammam, a beautiful terrace for sunbathing and eating.. It serves really good breakfast and the dinner was very good as well. The best part maybe is the staff: super kind and really helpful (especially Said), they will make you feel at home. In addition our room was the one in the terrace, and besides minor issues, was great. We used a promotion and had a complete hammam experience at a cheap price. Amazing quality/price ratio, A MUST DO IN MARRAKECH !!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
131
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I’m sure it has been written many times before but Les Jardins Mandaline really is an oasis of calm in the colourful, exciting, occasionally infuriating city that is Marrakech. Situated in the Medina, it is approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the main square (if you know the way, of course!). Everyone who works at the riad is lovely, friendly and more than happy to help.

On our first night we arrived at approximately 1am but were warmly welcomed with mint tea and biscuits. Our room was not extravagant but very comfortable with plenty of storage space and a well-stocked bathroom. It also has air-conditioning which is essential in summer months (temperatures got up to 38oC while we were out there).

The rooms are cleaned every day and fresh towels are provided. There is a lovely, refreshing plunge pool – perfect for when it gets too hot on the sun terrace!

Breakfast is included and consists of freshly squeezed orange juice, tea/coffee, a daily-changing selection of Moroccan breads/cakes. Reasonably priced dinner (€10/12/15 for 1, 2 or 3 courses respectively) is also available, freshly cooked on site. We only ate once but the Tangia (a Marrakech speciality) we had was absolutely fantastic. Plenty of times throughout the week fantastic smells emanated from the kitchen so I can only assume everything else is equally as good!

Taxis can be arranged through the riad and I would highly recommend doing so, especially if you are not familiar with Marrakech. Once you’ve got the hang of where you are though you realise just what a fantastic location the riad is in – very close to the souks, but far enough for it to be quiet and calm. Wifi is available, though a little patchy it is usually possible to pick up a signal somewhere if necessary!

Will appeal to everyone from singles and couples to families. All in all a perfect retreat, couldn’t ask for much more really!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely time. Very nice riad. Unfortunately upon arriving we asked the price of some items and upon leaving were charged 3x the price. Felt a bit ripped off as you can imagine. Be careful what you order!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole293734, Propriétaire at Riad Les Jardins Mandaline, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello

I am delighted that your stay with us has pleased you
however, I would like to make a correction to your review on the tariffs for our services
After confirmation with Mohamed, our night watchman, he made ​​it clear you good price beverages, plus all our prices are displayed
It is also possible that on your side, you have not understood the price because the price of all other benefits that you took was correct

I wish you good luck and thank you for your participation

Regards
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This Riad was absolutely lovely, couldn't have wished for more. The Riad was beautifully decorated and was so peaceful. We took tea most afternoons by the pool and was so carefully prepared by the staff. It is a 10 - 15 min walk to the Medina and once you have done the trip a few times it is easy to find. We stayed in the Iman room which, having read some reviews I dont think was the best choice as it was very damp and if you are staying in a busier period it would be extremely loud as there are seating areas right outside. I cannot remember the name of the man who was on duty during most of our stay but he was absolutely brilliant! so attentive and friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble for him, he is a credit to the hotel!

Room Tip: Have the sweet platter - comes with tea and lots of little sweet dishes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wonderfully tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main square, this Riad, hidden down a winding street in the heart of the Medina, offered a perfect re-treat from exploring the gloriously exuberant souks. We were welcomed by the very accommodating and helpful staff who were quick to offer us advice, directions and tips on our stay in Marrakech. I would strongly advise accepting the airport transfer offered as I am almost certain we would have been lost for the duration of our trip if we had not done so. Our room was perfectly quaint, comfortable and had a real Moroccan feel. The Rooftop terrace was a beautiful feature of this quintessential Riad, a perfect place to relax and soak up the Moroccan sunshine. This Riad had a real homely feel, helped by it's friendly, attentive, staff who would frequently reply with ''of course, this is your house''. The breakfast served each morning was very tasty and freshly prepared. Our stay here combined with the excitement and culture that Marrakech has to offer was a fantastic experience. I would strongly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting this fascinating city to ditch the hotel and experience the real Marrakech by staying at Riad Les Jardins Mandaline.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went their for a week of holidays with my partner and we found there a very very very good riad in the medina of Marrakech. Located in a small street off from one of the main street of the medina, the location is perfect and quiet.
really easy to go to the souk and the Jema el Fna square (15 minutes). The rooms are awesome and beautifull! The staff is extremely friendly and will help you as much as they can whatever the hour of the night. Good breakfast and excellent food during the evening.
Would recommend to use their transport facilities from the airport/train station.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All the room are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A good location about 10 minutes from the square, not really difficult to navigate once you have done it a couple of times.
For us it was an oasis for most of the time, however , we had a very noisy group of 50 year old women from London that took over the place for the weekend. Noise carries in this place, so don’t expect a quiet time if there is a group or children staying.
We ate here once – it was good but very expensive, as was the wine and beer. The menu is limited to 2 choices per night and you have to order in the morning.
One thing that became a little tiring was having to ring the doorbell for entrance all the time. Sometimes it could be quite a long time before the door was opened and we had rain whilst we were there. Odd that there is not a key or entrance code.

The room was small and quaint – nice Moroccan touches like the linens and the sinks. There was no door for the bathroom – just a voile curtain – so you need to be very friendly with who you are sharing with. In hindsight, we probably would not have chosen this room if we knew how small and poorly appointed it was. We saw some of the other rooms which were much nicer. As with all these things you get what you pay for.
Would I recommend it – yes – but be careful which room you choose. Would I stay again – no – there are loads to choose from – so we would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: pay more for the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Les Jardins Mandaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Address: 55, Derb Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Jardins Mandaline 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Les Jardins Mandaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Jardins Mandaline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.