We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis amidst the bedlam of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Jardins Mandaline to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55, Derb Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little oasis amidst the bedlam of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Marrakech. We had taken heed of some of the reviews on here and arranged for the riad to pick us up at the airport. And lucky we did because it would not have been easy to locate otherwise. But rest assured once you get the hang of the streets you will find it quite easily. Plus it is quite helpfully signposted.

The riad is beautiful inside - like a real oasis in the chaos of Marrakech. You could almost forget that the madness of the souks was only a stones throw from your room. The rooms were clean and tidy and very nicely decorated. We stayed in the Mayza room which was definitely big enough for 2 plus luggage (the only slight downside is that there is only a thin curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom and not a proper door but it did not present a problem for us).

The facilities at the riad were lovely - the pool was just the right temperature and was always clean. The wifi is only in the public areas but works well enough. The roof terrace is beautiful with sun beds and a little shaded alcove for reading or just escaping the harsh Moroccan sun!

The food at the riad was to die for and we ate there 2 nights out of 3! We could really recommend the lamb tanije! Ad the food was very well priced.

All of the staff at the riad were extremely friendly and helpful and we could not have asked for better service. Nadia was great at booking our trips for us and Said, the night staff was great fun to talk to.

All in all a beautiful riad and a lovely stay - we would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    35
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
114
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of June and I have to say it exceeded our expectations. The riad is located down a residential alleyway some 30/40 meters off the main path. This meant peace and quiet (except for the odd cockerel grrrr). We were due to arrive in the evening and rather than try and get our bearings in the dark in a city of corridors and mazes we had arranged for an evening meal at the riad. This was the only time we ate there as we like trying different places but honestly it was the best quality meal we had in Marrakech.

The riad itself is beautiful. Nadia and Sayeed do/have done a fantastic job. We stayed in room Dellah and it was great, extremely clean and big enough for a week’s stay no problem. Although French is spoken by the hosts, Nadia’s English is excellent which is helpful if your French isn’t too hot such as mine, although I did try!

The only slight downside was the Wi-Fi only works properly within a few meters of reception therefore you’ll struggle to use it in your room, or sitting by the pool/roof terrace. There is a desktop PC in the courtyard which has an excellent internet connection, albeit a French keyboard which takes some getting used to.

Overall, a fantastic base, and around 10 mins walk from the main square. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our experience of Les Jardins Mandaline was mixed though overall positive.

To start with the less good aspects. We stayed in the Imam room as it was the cheapest and unfortunately it felt like the cheapest room. The room is on the ground level and so can be noisy in the evenings. More importantly, there is no door between the bedroom and the bathroom and there are no external windows. Therefore, all the condensation from the shower stays in your room and the walls are often wet to the touch. Also, the shower has been designed so that there is no door and so the bathroom floor becomes incredibly wet incredibly quickly and there is no drain for the water.

Having said all this, almost everything else about the Riad is great. The Riad itself is beautiful - the centre of the Riad (with the plunge pool) is peaceful and open, and the terrace is lovely. Everything is very tastefully designed. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but is nice. The staff are friendly and keen to help - they helped as with planning trips outside Marrakesh and were very happy to make reservations for us on the phone. The Riad is well located, a short walk from the main square, but also close to taxis, and is in a pleasant and safe area away from the main tourist drag.

Overall, we would recommend this place, but maybe don't stay in the Imam room if you can afford not to.

Room Tip: The Imam room gets damp and is on the ground floor and therefore can be noisy and you feel like you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A small paradise in the busy, hectic medina. Nadia was very helpful, Said was adorable and even though the rooms are smaller than I had imagined, for the price they are very good with a beautiful courtyard and great terrace. The hammam is a lovely extra that doesn't cost much and is a wonderful way to recover from the bustle of the medina!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I travelled to Marrakesh on my own for a long weekend of much needed R&R. Not sure Marrakesh is the right location for that, but this Riad was absolutely perfect. Once you enter the front door the bustle of the streets disappear and the calm is tangible. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff and I was made to feel very much at home. There's a lovely rooftop terrace with sunbeds for a little private sunbathing and there are lovely little alcoves with cushions to cool off in when you get too hot, or there's the pool inside. I'd recommend the Hammam and massage - the streets are so dusty and dirty that to have gone somewhere else for one and then having to walk back to the Riad would have ruined it. I had mine early evening then had dinner in the hotel - the food is excellent, though they need a little notice so you need to plan to eat here, but I'd recommend it. Don't be put off by the quiet streets you need to walk down to get to this Riad - I came back on my own after dark a couple times and felt very safe, actually safer than on the main busy streets! Marrakesh isn't for the faint hearted traveller, it's bustling and full on crazy, but the same things make it amazing at the same time. Best to find a nice cafe on the squares and just people watch over a refreshing cup of peppermint tea! I really can't recommend this Riad enough - I just wish Nicole would open another hotel so I could experience her hospitality somewhere else in the world! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

was here with my husband 7 year old and it is in a fantastic location. a very short walk to the souks and djemmal fna. It was quite safe walking back in the evenings. Nadia and Sayeed were very helpful. nadia gave us a map which was very useful. they have a hammam in the riad which was great after a dayout. they organise a guide to get round the city if you want. i would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: their website is quite helpful, if not contact nadia who is ever so patient to answer all your queri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Myself and a group of friends rented this Riad exclusively for a girlie weekend. There we 18 of us and we could not fault it at all. We were collected promtly from the airport with no hassle at all. The minibuses stopped in a small crazy square, and then we were led through the medina through some small caotic streets until we came to Riad. What a contrast once we were inside. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, all the rooms are very tastefully decorated.
Having the Riad all to ourselves was just perfect for our group, as in the evenings we could just relax where ever without having to worry too much about other guests.
The staff were brilliant and looked after us all so well, organising our taxi's whenever we needed and attending to our every need. he breakfast was nice, and selection of breads, pancakes and cakes with various jams and honey etc. And the coffee and fresh juice were really good !
We only ate in one evening but this evening we celebrated my birthday, a long table in the dining room was set and some of my friends decorated the riad with banners and balloons. The food was amazing this evening and they prepared a gorgeous birthday cake. I can't wait to hopefully return one day and will definatelky be recommending this beautiful place to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Jardins Mandaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Address: 55, Derb Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Jardins Mandaline 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Jardins Mandaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Jardins Mandaline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;