We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Faris

Save Saved
You added Riad El Faris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad El Faris
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14, derb Charki, Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #568 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

After reading other reviews I expected more really.

On the bright side, the riad is indeed an oasis of peace and the people who works there are very nice.

The cons are that nobody speaks english (which is fine for the basics but does not make things easy) and that even though the riad is about 20 mins walking from Djemaa El Fna square, it is hard not get lost and the surroundings are not nice at all.

We stayed in room Cumin. Generally speaking the room is nice but it has no windows and since the door is right next to the common room, smells from the kitchen (every morning) and from people smoking goes into the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    25
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in two Riads in Marrakech (3 nights each). Both were great, although this Riad (El Faris) had better rooms, and the decor was superb. There is a lovely roof terrace to enjoy the evenings before heading out to town. The breakfasts were tasty and we enjoyed the evening meal which we had on our first evening.

One tip - take euros to pay the bill otherwise you will get stung with a very poor exchange rate if you pay in Dirhams.

We did find getting to and from the Riad a little daunting - it felt a little like it was in the rougher end of town - there were quite a few youths hanging about in the alleys and they were sometimes a little intimidating (more so than the normal hassle that one must expect and learn to enjoy in such a great setting). We ended up taking taxis as much as possible to avoid this, which was a bit of a shame.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, they all seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Riad El Faris is a clean, friendly and beautiful Riad in the North of the Medina. It offers individual, well decorated and traditional bedrooms. We stayed on two occasions over the fortnight of our holiday to Morocco and had the opportunity to stay in the Chambre Vanille and Cumin, which were both great. Aziz made our stay very welcoming and he could not enough for us, he guided us the right way to the souks, answered any queries we had and arranged transport for us. The Riad also contacted us prior to travelling to arrange a transfer from the airport which worked out at 15 euros, also we had our evening meal at the Riad which was within the traditional Moroccan style and consisted of grilled vegatables for starter, Chicken Tagine for the main and yoghurt for the desert. The meal was good value for money and very tasty.

The Riad is in the North of the medina and is about a 20 minute walk to the centre (providing you do not get lost, which is very easy to do in Marrakech, however all part of the fun!) Th locals are very friendly and helpful, but do be aware if you ask for directions etc...they will expect a small amount of money for them doing so.

Marrakech is great city, full of traditions and great people - it a very mad and crazy ( and extremely hot if you are travelling July/August) and the Riad El Fairs offers a haven of peace and tranquilty, I would recommend anyone to stay at this Riad as it great value for money and the staff are just exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Firstly, the riad looks exactly like the photographs! We were collected from the airport and given a warm welcome by Aziz who arranged a taxi into the square for us on our first night. He walked us into the square the following day and gave us a tour which was really helpful.
The riad is not in the centre but either a 25 minute walk (mostly through the souks so you can do your shopping on the way) or a 10 minute taxi ride away. Once you know your way it is quite easy and a bit of an adventure. It takes 2 minutes to walk to Bab Kachiche and there are plenty of taxis there. Don't pay more than 20 dirham for the journey. It never cost us more than that even at 3am!
If you want an authentic experience then this is the right place to stay. The area is such a contrast from the touristy square and a nice break from it too.
Our room was wonderful and was cleaned and tidied every day. The food was also great. The roof terrace was a lovely place to chill out in the evening.
It was our first time in Marrakech and it was a culture shock. Read a guide book before you go!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

After reading reviews hours and hours on various riads , we decided to go for Riad El Faris, it was a decision of which we have NO regrets.
- it looks as good as the photos , its peaceful calm and tranquil after the hussle and bussle of the medina .
- all rooms are a good size we stayed in the Safran room and were not disappointed, the rooms have an old town morrocan charm.
- staff are friendly , helpful.
- intially we worried about the location of the Riad due to the distance to the jama al fana , it does take approximately 20 mins walk provided you dont get lost, the medina can be a maze but that is part of the fun , a mini taxi can be taken to jama for around 30/50 dirhams , prices do shoot up in the evening .
We really enjoyed our stay at the Riad El Faris and definitely would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: The room Safran and Cannelle are beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed in Riad El Faris with my mom for four nights. When we arrived (the riad arranged a taxi) we felt very welcome thanks to Chouaib and Aziz. Our room was clean and beautiful and the dinner in the riad was very good. The riad is in a corner of the medina, it's about a 30min walk to the souks and it's hard to find a taxi around. In the evening the small street of the riad is very dark, and there were always +10 children following us to the door. In the beginning they were friendly but after that they began throwing water at us and even put their hands under our skirts when we were in the dark street of the riad - we didn't feel very safe being only 2 women. Breakfast is the same every day - bread, pancake and strawberry jam. Aziz and Chouaib are very helpful, they event walked with us to show the way to the souks. The manager, Samira, is not very friendly and the atmosphere changed when she was there. We booked a double massage but there was only one masseuse, and she was on the phone for 10 minutes while massaging with one hand. The massage was also in our room so one person had to go to the terras for one hour - I don't recommend taking a massage in the riad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We would advise anyone going to marrakech to stay here, the welcome you get when you arrive really makes you feel at home. Staff at the riad were extremely helpful and friendly.
Not right in the centre of the action - but only about 20 mins walk away from the main square.
Thanks to Samira,Aziz and staff for all their help and service, and look forward to a return visit .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Faris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Faris

Address: 14, derb Charki, Zaouia Abbassia, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Faris 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven of peace nestled in a quiet alley of the Medina, the Riad El Faris offers warm Marrakesh hospitality and luxury Riad accommodation inside a small Arabian Nights palace. Its suites and guestroom boast a refined décor taking from the traditional Moroccan architecture. This 4-star Medina guesthouse allows guests an unforgettable stay in Marrakesh, an authentic travelling experience that will delight all your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad El Faris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Faris Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Faris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.