We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AnaYela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AnaYela to your Saves list
AnaYela
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed with two of my kids (23 and 15) at the AnaYela in July which is admittedly not the best time of the year to visit Marrakech (44 centigrade). The place is close to perfect. Beautifully and tastefully furnished, lovely rooms with airconditioning, a small, but very refreshing pool and wonderful attentive and super friendly service who not only serve a great breakfast, but if desired also dinner and on one occasion a completely spontaneous wonderfully improvised dinner snack after a long, hot day out. One very thoughtful feature: a little Moroccan cell phone they gave to us to call a taxi or the staff in case we would ever get lost or needed to be picked up somewhere with all the necessary numbers on file. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
44
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I could only find one negative review to Anayela out of the many many positive reviews. It was with this in mind i start this review.
My girlfriend and I were picked up from the airport and driven to anayela by the manager himself.
As you leave the car the smells of spices wrought metal and yes even motorcycle oil fill the air. you walk passed small shops and businesses down old city lanes.
Because the anayela is a restored palace riad in the medieval part of the city. The Journey has to be finished with a five minute walk to an old impressive wooden door. Your luggage is ferried by motorcycle and taken to your room. Then the door opens and like alice you enter into wonderland.
There are only 5 double rooms at anayela so its ideal for a romantic city break or small group of friends to hire outright.
The first evening our waiter abdul prepared a chicken tangine he served with some style in the red carpet tent on the roof of the riad even though the hotel was full we seemed to have the place to ourself.
What can i say i felt like some an early 20th century adventurer discovering an oasis paradise. And therein lies the rub if there is one. If you want a little romantic city break or hoilday with a hint of adventure about it. Then anayela is the 5 star experience for you. If on the other hand if you want a totally sanitised western style hotel with the rest of the beige hoildaymakers go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

AnaYela is hidden in the mesmerizing old city centre (medina) of Marrakech. Upon arrival we were greeted with milk and dates. Then we were offered slippers to wear inside our new home away from home. Our room was amazing! The big bath was a real eyecatcher. Also our bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was nice and healthy and we've also had dinner on the rooftop. In a 1001 Night Fairy Tale like setting. I loved it!! I will certainly return to this riad!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its a very beautiful Riad. The Rooms are very tidy and look great. The People are very nice and they make every wish come true. Also they are very helpful with planing the time in Marrakech, e.g. With organizing drivers etc. The food is simply delicious! But the best is the roof of the Riad. You can sit in a tent, Drink a tea and enjoy a marvellous view over the city. I really enjoyed my Time there and definitly recommend it to everyone who is travelling to Marrakech any time soon.

Room Tip: All Rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

this is a boutique hotel, located very close to the souks of Marrakesh, very authentic friendly
neighborhood. we already had experience with Moroccan hotels, so we knew that the outside has little to do with the interior, but we truly couldn't imagine the hotel would be that gorgeous. i'd like to particularly mention the extremely friendly and willing to help personnel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Where to start.
We booked to stay here for 4 nights as part of our 10 day honeymoon in Marrakech.
We'd just spent a glorious 4 nights at another riad (Dar Zemora - you have to stay here!) and must have been totally spoilt because when we arrived here it was a total shock. I could write huge paragraphs on this place but instead I will just hit you with bullet points:

*Nowhere NEAR the 'heart of the medina' as advertised on their website. Barely within the city walls, and then it's in the worst area. I don't want to be rude to the locals, but it really was in the middle of squalour. There was rotting rubbish all around the riad and the view from the roof terrace just looked out on yet more rubbish and derelict homes and satellite dishes. No other riads are here. We were the only tourists. You couldn't get taxi's to the door so it involves either a 15 minute walk or 1 hour walk if you get lost. And you will get lost and hassled by the local teeneagers. We didn't even want to try to navigate the streets at night so we had to stay in.

*The photos on the website make it look huge and opulant. It's actually tiny and the rooms are really thin with no natural light. Also there are NO locks on the doors. I didn't sleep all night worrying.

*The food was AWFUL. It was bigged up by the manager but it was the most plain and most expensive food we had all holiday. Just terrible. Do not eat here.

*There was no-one else staying there so it made us feel really self-concious. The tiny plunge pool is right next to reception so you wouldn't want to use it and it just felt weird. The roof terrace where you could sunbathe was really dull and shabby looking. The sunbeds were faux-leather plastic so were scolding hot in the summer sun.

*The manager is what can we say, SO strange and has no sense of over stepping the mark between attentive host and annoying invasion of privacy. He acted as if he was the manager of a youth hostel, not a supposedly luxurious hotel. We didn't get a good vibe from him at the start, but when he proceeded to present me with my worn knickers he'd 'found' across the dinner table, infront of my new husband, i nearly died of embarrassment and felt completely violated. Just awful.

*The overall price of this Riad is rediculous. Yes the interior is quite nice, but for only £15 more a night you could stay at the best hotel in Marrakech La Mamounia. Which is exactly what we did. We left after one night and as soon as we walked into La Mamounia we let out a huge sigh of relief!

We also heard from various staff members that guests were constantly leaving early. I'm confused at the other reviews and can honestly say I have never had a more strange or over priced or awful time at a hotel.

Room Tip: My tip is to avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ana Yela is a hidden gem in the busy medina of Marrakech. The decor, attention to detail and accommodating staff made our stay there extremely memorable. The food is simple, but simply delicious. Daniel, the riad manager, was available as needed to recommend, suggest, or assist. We could not have asked for a better home in Marrakech!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but we loved ours best - the one with the giant bathtub and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AnaYela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaYela

Address: Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AnaYela 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AnaYela is a small 300 year old palace in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The real sensation of the Anayela is its unique atmosphere and its extraordinary architecture. Real new luxury - special experiences for special guests. The Anayela has 3 rooms and 2 suites - each with a different design and all the services and comfort you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AnaYela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anayela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AnaYela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.