We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic fairy tale experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AnaYela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AnaYela to your Saves list
AnaYela
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“fantastic fairy tale experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

this is a boutique hotel, located very close to the souks of Marrakesh, very authentic friendly
neighborhood. we already had experience with Moroccan hotels, so we knew that the outside has little to do with the interior, but we truly couldn't imagine the hotel would be that gorgeous. i'd like to particularly mention the extremely friendly and willing to help personnel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
46
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Where to start.
We booked to stay here for 4 nights as part of our 10 day honeymoon in Marrakech.
We'd just spent a glorious 4 nights at another riad (Dar Zemora - you have to stay here!) and must have been totally spoilt because when we arrived here it was a total shock. I could write huge paragraphs on this place but instead I will just hit you with bullet points:

*Nowhere NEAR the 'heart of the medina' as advertised on their website. Barely within the city walls, and then it's in the worst area. I don't want to be rude to the locals, but it really was in the middle of squalour. There was rotting rubbish all around the riad and the view from the roof terrace just looked out on yet more rubbish and derelict homes and satellite dishes. No other riads are here. We were the only tourists. You couldn't get taxi's to the door so it involves either a 15 minute walk or 1 hour walk if you get lost. And you will get lost and hassled by the local teeneagers. We didn't even want to try to navigate the streets at night so we had to stay in.

*The photos on the website make it look huge and opulant. It's actually tiny and the rooms are really thin with no natural light. Also there are NO locks on the doors. I didn't sleep all night worrying.

*The food was AWFUL. It was bigged up by the manager but it was the most plain and most expensive food we had all holiday. Just terrible. Do not eat here.

*There was no-one else staying there so it made us feel really self-concious. The tiny plunge pool is right next to reception so you wouldn't want to use it and it just felt weird. The roof terrace where you could sunbathe was really dull and shabby looking. The sunbeds were faux-leather plastic so were scolding hot in the summer sun.

*The manager is what can we say, SO strange and has no sense of over stepping the mark between attentive host and annoying invasion of privacy. He acted as if he was the manager of a youth hostel, not a supposedly luxurious hotel. We didn't get a good vibe from him at the start, but when he proceeded to present me with my worn knickers he'd 'found' across the dinner table, infront of my new husband, i nearly died of embarrassment and felt completely violated. Just awful.

*The overall price of this Riad is rediculous. Yes the interior is quite nice, but for only £15 more a night you could stay at the best hotel in Marrakech La Mamounia. Which is exactly what we did. We left after one night and as soon as we walked into La Mamounia we let out a huge sigh of relief!

We also heard from various staff members that guests were constantly leaving early. I'm confused at the other reviews and can honestly say I have never had a more strange or over priced or awful time at a hotel.

Room Tip: My tip is to avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ana Yela is a hidden gem in the busy medina of Marrakech. The decor, attention to detail and accommodating staff made our stay there extremely memorable. The food is simple, but simply delicious. Daniel, the riad manager, was available as needed to recommend, suggest, or assist. We could not have asked for a better home in Marrakech!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but we loved ours best - the one with the giant bathtub and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our three night stay at Anayela in January 2012 was one we will never forget. Stepping in from the dusty street one would never expect such an opulent property that Anayela presents. The rooms are luxurious and the food is great, but the staff, by far, are the best asset that Anayela has to offer. Simply step from your room and one of the friendly staff members is ready to meet your any need.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Our 2night stay at anayela in January was an experience we will never forget. From the noisy streets you step into the most peaceful riade with exquisite surrounds and exceptional attention to detail. It was beyond our expectations. Staff were incredibly professional yet warm and friendly. The manager Daniel is knowledgable, down to earth and readily available if needed yet manages this unobtrusively. We felt like we were staying in our very own palace. Incredible. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Arrived late at night after 36 hours flying (and waiting) and stepped through a small door in a dusty alley and entered another world I had only seen in fairy tales and movies. Hard to fault.

The pictures on the website are not touched up or shot from obtuse angles. This place is the real deal.

Would recommend the day long guided walk - avoiding the faux guides but you will still end up in the carpet shop and perfumery - although I don't think anyone has ever regretted buying an authentic berber rug (all three look great at home).

Its also worth getting up early in the morning and going on to the roof and looking across the City and and out to the snow capped mountains.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in Anayela for two nights in june and were in awe of the breathtakingly beautiful riad. If you have always had some fantasy about Marrakech being a place out of 1001 nights, you'll see your dream come to life here. The riad is relatively small with 5 rooms, which secures you of some peace and quiet and very attentive and personal service. The place is an oasis after a day in the busy city: once the door closes behind you, the only thing you hear is the sound of the swallows and singbirds.
The rooms are stunning: very Marroccan with beautiful bed, bath in the room, arabic lights and tadelakt walls. When we were there, it was extremely hot (> 45* C), so the airco was very welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the babouches that we got when arriving, were used frequently.

But I think, besides the beauty of the place, the wonderful roof terrace, the welcome silence and the absolutely delicious (!) breakfast (with French cheeses, fresh fruit, bread and pancakes!) and dinner (try the tajine!), the thing that impressed me most was the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, polite and extremely attentive, and we were able to speak to some of them about Marrakech and living there, which gave a nice insight. A special thanks goes out to manager Daniel, who went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, helping us with all sorts of external enquiries and even coming along with us on a couple of trips. The fact that he was fluent in Dutch (besides French and German) made it even easier for us. Even when we stayed in other hotels for a couple of nights, he still helped us with several things.

As far as I'm concerned, there is no other riad to consider: Anayela is the one and only!

Room Tip: As far as I've seen, all the 5 rooms are really beautiful. I stayed on the first floor, in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AnaYela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaYela

Address: Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AnaYela 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AnaYela is a small 300 year old palace in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The real sensation of the Anayela is its unique atmosphere and its extraordinary architecture. Real new luxury - special experiences for special guests. The Anayela has 3 rooms and 2 suites - each with a different design and all the services and comfort you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AnaYela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anayela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AnaYela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.