We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great deals for September
Ranked #46 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We have just finished our five night stay at Riad Mur Akush and we're so pleased that we stayed here. It's in a great neighbourhood, which is safe and easy to find (unlike many things in Marrakech) and perfectly located to the most interesting parts of the souk. It's also close to roads which lead out of the Medina so taxis are easy to come by.

The room we had was beautifully decorated as well as being comfortable and spacious. Having wi-fi internet was bonus we hadn't counted on but made great use of particularly for travel research about Marrakech. The main area downstairs is charming and again great attention has been paid to the interior design.

The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to be helpful.
Mohammed and Rachid assisted with all our requests and for our last night Zohra cooked us a traditional Moroccan dinner. The whole experience was all that we had hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
225
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was our second visit to Marrakech and we booked this Riad following the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed for 5 nights in the Suite Amel, the largest of the rooms. We found the Riad and our suite to be a very charming place to stay, a relaxing oasis amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. From the rooms to the terraces, the stairways and courtyard, you will find the place brimming with traditional Berber and Moroccan craft. It has certainly been furbished sympathetically to give you a traditional feel. I had read some reviews stating that the Riad was a bit rustic but I think they are missing the point! It was clean, very comfortable and a lovely place to spend our time.

Rachid was on hand to ensure we had a delicious and filling breakfast every morning, at whatever time we surfaced! Both he and Mohammed were happy to answer any queries, offer advice and make any bookings for us. We twice ate at the Riad (20 euros) per head, cooked by Zora the housekeeper. Although quite expensive when compared to much of the restaurants on offer, it is still a must. The food was as authentic as you are ever likely to get and absolutely gorgeous too. A traditional Moroccan salad or soup, followed by tagine (many options abailable) and fresh fruit. Moroccan mint tea, tea, coffee and bottled mineral water are provided throughout the day at no extra cost.

The Riad is situated to the north west of the souks, either a 10 minute walk to the Jemaa el Fna or a little less to the top of the souks (taking the back way). Obviously the Riad is situated in the medina, so is amongst the local community. It is not a run down area as one review suggested.

Due to the close proximity to a mosque, if you are a light sleeper, it may be worth taking a set of ear-plugs for the early morning call to prayer. Although I was woken by it, it wasn't something that bothered me. If you choose Suite Amel and fancy a lie in, ear plugs may come in handy as the roof terrace is on your roof and the moving of furniture by guests can be a bit noisy!

As well as the souks and obvious tourist spots, here are some recommendations from us:
1) Pampering at Les Bains de Marrakech - a sumptuosly decorated spa. Arrive early to make use of the pool and relaxing areas.
2) Lunch, dinner or drinks at the cafe Le Terrace des Epices (north west corner of souks) - a well run and very clean (especially the loos) cafe, decorated in a contemporary Moroccan style.
3) Lunch or dinner at Dar Belkabir (or Dar Bel Kabir) - well priced traditional fare at the top right of the Jemma el Fna (next to Cafe Montreal I think).
4) Petit fours or pastries from Patisserie des Princes (32 Bab Agnaou) - As you look at the Cafe Glacier at the bottom of the Jemma el Fna, take the road immediately to the right that runs between it and the Post Office.
5) Jardin Majorelle - Yves Saint Laurent's house and gardens, for a relaxing moment and break from the sun.
6) Caleches - city tour by horse drawn carriage.

We had a fantastic stay at Riad Mur Akush and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I scoured this site looking for an authentic good value Riad , close to the sights, and believe that i could not have chosen a better place to stay, from the momment we arrived to the minute we left we were looked after exceptionaly well by all the staff, we celebrated my wifes birthday here and they laid on a Morracan feast, our dinner was served in the courtyard decorated with candles and lanterns an experiance to be savoured and one that will always be remembered, the setting and the attention we recieved would be hard to replicate in the best hotels. The sunsets from the roof terrace are fantastic.However back to the practicalities , the riad is only a 10 minute stroll to the main square yet far enough away to escape the crowds, although alchohol is not served they are happy for you to bring your own for consumption on the premises, the fridge in the kitchen can be used to store your drinks, our room was clean and comfortable, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Myself and a friend have just returned home from a 4 night stay at the Riad Mur Akush,
Where do I begin!? As first time travellers to Marrakech and being women we were slightly apprehensive about what we had read online, but it was just not true! Just walk like you know where you're going, and it's all good! We dressed conservatively and found ourselves rarely hassled! The Riad was amazing!!! A complete oasis in the middle of busy Marrakech - especially with it being August!

The rooms and communal areas were spotlessly clean, and really well maintained! Our room (Suite Yassin on the top floor) had fantastic air conditioning which meant sleeping was really comfortable.

Maria the owner was great - I am so forgetful with emails, but she was patient, and replied to all my questions really quickly (of which there were quite a few!) The Staff were amazing - Mohammed and Rachid could not do enough to help us with anything we asked (and we asked ALOT of things!!) From extra bedding, to peppermint tea, to having a later breakfast, organising trips to the mountains and even helping us in the souks - nothing was too much trouble - THANK YOU!!! They even recommended Les Bains de L'alhambra for a traditional hammam and massage and it was AMAZING!!!!

We really felt like Riad Mur Akush was a home away from home (I am a VERY fussy traveller, and it exceeded all my expectations and standards. The location of the Riad is perfect -there are other reviews saying it's in a random area - it is really not. It is literally 30 seconds away from a main road where you can be dropped by petit taxis, and really easy to find. Good tip - if you're using taxis to go back to the Riad ask for La Maison Arabe - it's just more well known to the taxi drivers and is right next to it! Also we walked to Jemaa el Fna (the main square) and it's a straightforward route following a main road, and takes about 15 mins - easy peasy!

The Riad is traditional, yet with all the modern comforts i.e. air con, TV etc. There are travel books about Morocco and Marrakech for everyone to use downstairs, and the fittings such as the taps and sinks and doors and mirrors are just gorgeous! There was also a TV and a ipod dock in the room which was fab for the evenings getting ready to go out!

We were also allowed to use their computer and internet free of charge whenever we liked - amazing service! There was also free Wifi, which was great for the old Blackberry!

Basically we would recommend this Riad to all our friends and family, and we cannot wait to visit again!

THANK YOU RIAD MUR AKUSH for making our trip to Marrakech unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

For me Riad Mur Akush will always hold a special place in my heart. Apart from the overall cleanliness and efficient manner in which it is run the hosts of the riad are truly exceptional! Even though our holiday was planned during the peak of the Moroccan summer and coincided with Ramadan (with Moroccan Muslims fasting up to 17 hours without food or water) that never stopped our host from going out of their way to provide us with round the clock comfort and quality hospitality and service. Half of our holiday was spent in our riad, hiding from the hot sun’s rays, sipping Moroccan mint tea with our host while learning local tips about the souks, fab cafes and hidden treasures of Marrakech. Near the end of our stay my boyfriend (now fiancée) proposed to me with the help of the Riad Mur Akush! The riad was decked out in roses and rose petals, Moroccan brass and stain glass lanterns (which provided the perfect lighting for a romantic proposal) and a fantastic 3 course vegan-styled Moroccan dinner. The entire staff anxiously waited in the courtyard as my partner popped the question and were the first to congratulate and celebrate with us on our new engagement! Since we’ve returned we have remained in close contact with few members of staff from our raid and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My wife and I were first time visitors to Marrakesh and spent a consideable amount of time researching various Riad´s. We were looking for a clean, traditional, well priced and located Riad. We were not dissapointed!
The staff are friendly and attentive, and the location is excellent. This Riad is easily assessible, and within 5 - 10 minute walk to the famous Souks. The rooms were traditionally decorated, clean and spacious. The Riad had the feeling of a private home, rather than a large hotel/hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have just come back from Marrakech, and couldn't recommend our Riad more. From the moment we arrived the staff were nothing but friendly and helpful! Our room was lovely - really cool at night! The mint tea was great, and its location was convenient because it was a safe/simple 15minute walk from the square, yet not so close that everyone wanted to offer you tourist things the whole way home!

Would definately recommend, and if we ever go back, we will definately visit Riad Mur Akush!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.