We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning riad in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunning riad in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a hectic week climbing the Atlas Mountains and camel riding in the Sahara, arriving at Riad Mur Akush was the perfect, relaxing break we needed. Our host was incredibly calm and friendly, and we were provided with delicious afternoon tea on arrival. The inside of the riad was really beautiful, and with the sounds of the birds and the fountain this really was tranquil accommodation. Our room was perfect - a gorgeous bathroom with a very comfy bed. It was very easy to reach Djemaa el-Fnaa with a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was a delicious mix of fresh orange juice, coffee, pastries, cake, and yogurt. Would love to return to such paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
223
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This review will be an odd one as due to a mix up in another part of morocco we missed our transfer back to Marrakech and just ended up staying nearer the airport. However I felt this riad still deserved a great review due to the amazing organisation and friendliness of Maria via email from the time of booking right up until the day we couldn't make it! After seeing these great reviews we were looking forward to seeing this place for ourselves and if we ever go back to Marrakech we will finally be staying here!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent, kind, helpful staff in a gorgeous riad. we stayed with kids and they were really helpful with them. convenient location very near to Dar Marjana which is a restaurant experience that should NOT be missed.
Definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very pleasant stay. Had a very spacious and well-appointed room. The rooftop is lovely and provides for nice views of Marrakesh. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Djemaa el-Fnaa and the souks, but we were actually very happy we weren't located amid all those crowds. The call to prayer did wake us up, but it was not overly bothersome. A highlight was the cooking class we took with Zakia. After selecting a menu (harira and a traditional berber tagine), we went to the nearby market to select the meat/vegetables, and then prepared the dishes under Zakia's guidance (and of course, got to eat the dishes for lunch). Would highly recommend staying at this riad!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain el Aouda, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was like being at home. Complete comfort with the people, tea and coffee whenever we wanted (for free!), and we even got to watch the world cup on one of the staff member's tablet! Oh, and it was a beautiful, quiet place (except when the call to prayer sounded from the nearby mosque). And cheap. I'm recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergeijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Vacation begins already with the reservation and communicating with the friendly and helpful owner Maria. Her manager at the hotel ensures a perfect execution of the promised services. He speaks excellent English (and French, of course), picks us up right on time as agreed at the airport and also does his utmost to provide us a bottle of wine at the table when all the shops are already all closed. Dinner on the roof terrace with the best tagine we had in Morocco for 3 weeks. I can really recommend this Riad to anyone.

Room Tip: Grand Suite Amel that we had, offered great stay and sleep facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Manager at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and ended your 3 week holiday in Marrakech in Riad Mur Akush! I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
I send you my best wishes,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This Riad is a little sanctuary in Marrakech that surpassed my expectations. Myself and two friends stayed in the Amel suite on the top floor. Very comfortable, great taste in decoration and a spacious bathroom. The Riad itself is beautiful and a great deal of thought and care has gone in to every mirror, painting and rug! The staff looked after us wonderfully (Rashid even brought breakfast up to the balcony for us!). Impossible to fault. Fantastic job to the Riad Mur Akush team!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking that time to leave your review for us, it much appreciated.
We really enjoyed taking care of you and your friends and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Riad Mur Akush and all the little things that make us what we are.
Take care and all the best for the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#36 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#37 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#52 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#38 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#51 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#64 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.