We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, excellent location and services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great deals for September
Ranked #46 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Bergeijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, excellent location and services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Vacation begins already with the reservation and communicating with the friendly and helpful owner Maria. Her manager at the hotel ensures a perfect execution of the promised services. He speaks excellent English (and French, of course), picks us up right on time as agreed at the airport and also does his utmost to provide us a bottle of wine at the table when all the shops are already all closed. Dinner on the roof terrace with the best tagine we had in Morocco for 3 weeks. I can really recommend this Riad to anyone.

Room Tip: Grand Suite Amel that we had, offered great stay and sleep facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Manager at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and ended your 3 week holiday in Marrakech in Riad Mur Akush! I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
I send you my best wishes,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    45
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
225
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This Riad is a little sanctuary in Marrakech that surpassed my expectations. Myself and two friends stayed in the Amel suite on the top floor. Very comfortable, great taste in decoration and a spacious bathroom. The Riad itself is beautiful and a great deal of thought and care has gone in to every mirror, painting and rug! The staff looked after us wonderfully (Rashid even brought breakfast up to the balcony for us!). Impossible to fault. Fantastic job to the Riad Mur Akush team!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking that time to leave your review for us, it much appreciated.
We really enjoyed taking care of you and your friends and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Riad Mur Akush and all the little things that make us what we are.
Take care and all the best for the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing stay at this fabulous Riad. It is a credit to the owners Maria and Evan. They offered some fantastic tips on the local area about places to visit, places to eat and what to expect from this amazing place. They employ a fantastic team who they should be very proud of, including Rachid who went out of his way to ensure everything went to plan and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend having a meal by the amazing cook who serves up a stunning Moroccan feast. We cannot wait to return to Marrakech and will definitely stay here again. It is spotlessly clean, ideally located with amazing staff and excellent communication via email from Maria right from the start. A perfect place to chill out after a hectic day in the chaos of the media and haggling in the endless souks. Thanks to you all for an amazing holiday and look forward to seeing you again. Anyone who chooses to stay here is in for an absolute treat - don't hesitate, you don't need to look anywhere else.
Thanks again to all the team.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your wonderful review, it was such a pleasure to meet you and I am so pleased that you had a good stay with us! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our cook's delicious meals (she is a great cook!) and the riad so much. We have a great team that love taking care of our guests, thank you for your kind words. We hope that you will return to see us again and I wish you all the best for the future! Maria (And Evan)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a 3-night stay at Riad Mur Akush and were delighted with our choice of accommodation. The Riad is incredibly well-located and is a beautiful haven from the heat and the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Only a short walk to the main square but once you've stepped through the front door of the Riad its like a different world. We loved the traditional Moroccan decor and furnishings, the warm welcome from our hosts, the clean and comfortable surroundings, the well air-conditioned room, the lovely food and mint tea, being able to chill on the terrace and chatting to the very helpful Rachid, whose recommendations for places to visit helped us enormously. We had a wonderful trip and a huge factor in this was an excellent choice of Riad. Thanks also to Maria for the excellent communication from the point of booking onwards - very helpful and reassuring.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
What a lovely review you have left us, thank you so very much! It is great to hear that you had a good stay in Riad Mur Akush and I am so pleased that your choice to stay with us made a difference to your trip! We all send you our best wishes and when you would like to return to us again, send me a note and I will sort everything out for you. All the best, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is tucked away down a back street, which is lovely once you know how to find it. We were glad we took the option of having someone from the hotel pick us up from the airport. It is a short walk from the centre of the Old Town and not too far from the New Town. The rooms were clean and well-furnished. The hotel's breakfast, served on one of the two lush rooftop terraces, were particularly good. We also recommend staying in one evening to try the home-cooked dinner, which is very reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. As one would expect when staying in the Old Town, there are regular calls to prayer from nearby mosques during night but this would certainly not stop us recommending this riad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5* review for us, it is much appreciated! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Riad Mur Akush and you likes the rooms, the terraces and the food! I am very happy to hear that you find it great value, we try to offer the best ingredients with homemade food and a great environment and our cook is indeed wonderful!
Thank you once again and I wish you all the best for the future.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Riad Mur Akush with my mum & sister for 4 nights. Although our flight arrived late, our driver waited to take us to the Riad where a most delicious meal awaited us - I would highly recommend booking one of the lunches/dinners. If I'd had more time I would have done the cookery course. So how about the service? I could not praise the staff highly enough - nothing was too much trouble - excellent advice/tips & service before during & even after our stay when I queried something. Air conditioning was a godsend since the temperatures reached 38 degrees during our stay but on the brightside, it meant we could enjoy the delicious breakfasts on the terrace - fruits, tea/coffee, pastries etc. Big thanks to all the team at the Riad Mur Akush.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
How lovely it was to read your review and I am so happy that you all had a good time in Riad Mur Akush. The weather can be a bit hot in Marrakech, but you will always have the coolness of the riad to return to and I am glad that you made the most of the terrace for breakfasts and mint tea!
Thank you for taking the time to write your review to us and I hope to hear from you again in the future! Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband, teenage son and I stayed four nights at the wonderful Mur Akush in April. Our room was the perfect combination of traditional Moroccan style and modern functionality, very comfortable and considered and absolutely spotless, as was the rest of the riad; a haven of tranquility amid the fantastic chaos of Marrakech. Breakfast on the roof-terrace, with fantastic views across the city towards the Atlas Mountains, was a particular delight. Our pre-trip planning, usually such a nightmare, was made considerably easier by Maria, who's prompt and practical replies to our sometimes daft requests ensured peace of mind. The team at Mur Akush were brilliant and made our stay there an especially heartwarming experience. It was our first time in Morocco and thanks to Mohamed, Rachid, Zohra and Zakhia we are already planning a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for much for your lovely review and your kind comments. I am really pleased to hear that you found your heaven in our riad and it gave you a refuge from the Marrakech madness!! We really enjoyed taking care of you and your family and wish you all the best in the future, maybe another visit next year!
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;