We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a family vacation in Marrakech and stayed at this hotel. They provided our transportation from the airport to the hotel and received us with an outstanding traditional dinner. All staff members are very kind and helpful. The place is beautiful and comfortable. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It was lovely having you and your family stay with us and I am so glad that you had a good stay with us. I really appreciate your good comments, thank you. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
222
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

From start to finish, had a great experience with our booking. Maria was very helpful and accommodating (we needed 3 rooms for stays at the beginning and end of our trip). The staff was delightful and quickly settled us with tea, lovely rooms and directions and bearings for both navigating the Medina and also the new City. We had an excellent tagine the first night which was a great way to unwind after traveling. The courtyard, rooms and bathrooms were a delight and all different. Especially nice was the rooftop terrace which had lovely views of both the city and mountains as well as being a wonderful place to snack or dine. Easy to find and well-situated.

Room Tip: Grand Suite Amel the largest and can easily accommodate an additional two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello!
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to post one for us! We are grateful.
It was great having you over and I am glad that you and your friends had a good stay with us. We all send you our best wishes and we hope that we will see you again in the future.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Riad Mur Akush
A pleasant riad with friendly staff. We pre-booked an evening meal as arrival time was late and the tagine they cooked was excellent. We had pre-booked a taxi with them which picked us up from the airport. Pre-booking a taxi is always worth doing in Marrakesh, as it saves lots of hassle at the airport and most of the best riads are difficult to find. There are also lots of touts, who will direct you, with all sincerity to another establishment. The Raid Mur Akush is about a 20 minute walk to the main square in Marrakesh and good for the souks.
The breakfast is good and even on January 6th we were having the breakfast on the roof terrace. There is only one drawback the nearby mosque has some brilliant amplification and the four calls to prayer boom out across the area. The 4 am had me paying for it to stop. To be fair this is only a small problem. The calls must have been magical before electronic amplification but there now seems to be a battle as to which mosque has the best annoy system. The hotel do provide ear plugs. This is a pleasant place to stay the rooms are clean and good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for us. I am so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us! I am also happy that you found our airport transfer service useful and you enjoyed dinner, our cook was very happy to hear this and send lots of regards!
We are close to the Bab Doukkala mosque and you are right, the morning call can wake one up. I am very sorry that this has ruined your sleep and we offer earplugs to help combat this.
The great majority of our guests tell us that after the 1st night, they usually do not even notice it or they take it as part of the experience of being in Marrakech.
I must mention at this point, that there is a Mosque in every neighbourhood in the old town, and one is never far from the "call", this is one of the particularities of staying within the old town. We love the Marrakech medina, with its noises and smells but it is maybe not for everyone...
Finally, for the benefit of our future guests, I would like to point out that the square is a 10 minute walk from Riad Mur Akush with a steady walking pace. Other reviewers will also confirm this. It can take longer (it often take me over a hour, I cannot resisit the souks!) through the markets/bazars/souks or with a leisurable pace.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Maria was SO VERY HELPFUL prior to our arrival. We planned our trip quickly and she gave us a lot of information and even set up a transfer from Casablanca when she was full for our first few nights there. Everyone that worked there was very helpful and spoke good English.

The courtyard and the room were lovely. King size bed with great linens was very comfortable. Best bathroom of the 5 places we stayed in Morocco. Only one without light sewer smell and so beautiful. Also best breakfast which you can take in courtyard, terrace or in your room, was best we had in Morocco Different pancakes and traditional Moroccan flat breads with wonderful jams.

The morning prayer call did wake us each morning before 5am (there are no wooden shutters like some riads-just glass). It's a short walk to Jemaa el Fna, 10 minutes but it's not on a nice street. We felt safe but not a nice walk. Even closer to souks.

Misc Moroccan travel tips: dirhams are hard to get via ATM. Max 2000/day but you can go to multiple ATMS each day. Lines are long and ATMS are often out of cash. The second morning there I went out at 8 am to hit 4 ATMS and it was worth it. When hotels and tours quoted prices in euros I didn't understand why (assumed they thought I was European). I'd suggest taking enough euros to cover big expenses like hotels and tours. Credit cards are rarely accepted and subject to service charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It was lovely reading your review, and thank you for giving out all this detailed information to future guests, I am sure they will find it all very helpful. It was a pleasure helping you organise the details of your trip and we loved having you at our riad. I am so happy that you had a great experience with us and a good stay, and I hope that we will hear from you again in the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this riad, a real haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech! It was peaceful and relaxing and I loved the lanterns everywhere. The room we stayed in was beautiful and traditional, also the bed was very comfortable. I even loved the toiletries they used in the bathroom, which they also used in the hammam we visited.

Maria organised the hammam visit prior to our trip, which was excellent and great value for money, we really appreciated that. It was also fantastic to have pick up and drop off at the airport organised without having to haggle with a local taxi driver.

The location was very good, we explored from there on foot (a little more than we anticipated, getting inevitably lost in the souks). The staff are friendly and even walked to the shop to get us some water one evening as they'd run out.

The breakfast was also very good - ask to have it on the rooftop terrace.

Great riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. I am glad that you had a great time in Riad Mur Akush. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second visit to the riad this year, this time we booked the whole riad for a birthday celebration weekend and it was perfect. I cannot find fault with anything, the staff are genuinely lovely and considerate, nothing is too much trouble. We could come and go as we pleased, even pop to the fridge for a drink, it felt like home from home. We will always stay here when we visit Marrakech, it is a good base for everything and a calm retreat at the end of any excursion in to the Medina. We would recommend it to anyone, thanks again Rashid and staff.
Steve & Belinda Allen

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello! It was wonderful having you back at our place and celebrating such a special birthday. We really enjoyed taking care of you and your wonderful friends and I hope that you will return for a restful stay with us. Thank you so much for your review, it really means a lot. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We loved this hotel. My fiancé and I stayed here in November of 2013. The staff was helpful from before we even arrived. Rashid, the main guy there, was very helpful.

The hotel is clean, pretty, has a lovely roof, and is in a great location, right next a lovely hamman spa (which is well reviewed by trip advisor). We'd highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review, it is much appreciated.
I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the riad and its people. We would love to hear from you again on another visit to Marrakech.
Take care,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.