We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! Incredible service, beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! Incredible service, beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Maria was SO VERY HELPFUL prior to our arrival. We planned our trip quickly and she gave us a lot of information and even set up a transfer from Casablanca when she was full for our first few nights there. Everyone that worked there was very helpful and spoke good English.

The courtyard and the room were lovely. King size bed with great linens was very comfortable. Best bathroom of the 5 places we stayed in Morocco. Only one without light sewer smell and so beautiful. Also best breakfast which you can take in courtyard, terrace or in your room, was best we had in Morocco Different pancakes and traditional Moroccan flat breads with wonderful jams.

The morning prayer call did wake us each morning before 5am (there are no wooden shutters like some riads-just glass). It's a short walk to Jemaa el Fna, 10 minutes but it's not on a nice street. We felt safe but not a nice walk. Even closer to souks.

Misc Moroccan travel tips: dirhams are hard to get via ATM. Max 2000/day but you can go to multiple ATMS each day. Lines are long and ATMS are often out of cash. The second morning there I went out at 8 am to hit 4 ATMS and it was worth it. When hotels and tours quoted prices in euros I didn't understand why (assumed they thought I was European). I'd suggest taking enough euros to cover big expenses like hotels and tours. Credit cards are rarely accepted and subject to service charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It was lovely reading your review, and thank you for giving out all this detailed information to future guests, I am sure they will find it all very helpful. It was a pleasure helping you organise the details of your trip and we loved having you at our riad. I am so happy that you had a great experience with us and a good stay, and I hope that we will hear from you again in the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
234
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this riad, a real haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech! It was peaceful and relaxing and I loved the lanterns everywhere. The room we stayed in was beautiful and traditional, also the bed was very comfortable. I even loved the toiletries they used in the bathroom, which they also used in the hammam we visited.

Maria organised the hammam visit prior to our trip, which was excellent and great value for money, we really appreciated that. It was also fantastic to have pick up and drop off at the airport organised without having to haggle with a local taxi driver.

The location was very good, we explored from there on foot (a little more than we anticipated, getting inevitably lost in the souks). The staff are friendly and even walked to the shop to get us some water one evening as they'd run out.

The breakfast was also very good - ask to have it on the rooftop terrace.

Great riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. I am glad that you had a great time in Riad Mur Akush. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second visit to the riad this year, this time we booked the whole riad for a birthday celebration weekend and it was perfect. I cannot find fault with anything, the staff are genuinely lovely and considerate, nothing is too much trouble. We could come and go as we pleased, even pop to the fridge for a drink, it felt like home from home. We will always stay here when we visit Marrakech, it is a good base for everything and a calm retreat at the end of any excursion in to the Medina. We would recommend it to anyone, thanks again Rashid and staff.
Steve & Belinda Allen

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hello! It was wonderful having you back at our place and celebrating such a special birthday. We really enjoyed taking care of you and your wonderful friends and I hope that you will return for a restful stay with us. Thank you so much for your review, it really means a lot. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We loved this hotel. My fiancé and I stayed here in November of 2013. The staff was helpful from before we even arrived. Rashid, the main guy there, was very helpful.

The hotel is clean, pretty, has a lovely roof, and is in a great location, right next a lovely hamman spa (which is well reviewed by trip advisor). We'd highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review, it is much appreciated.
I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the riad and its people. We would love to hear from you again on another visit to Marrakech.
Take care,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Everything was amazing, the staff are welcoming, kind and helpful, the room was clean, breakfast was great. The raid made our stay in Marrakech even better! I highly recommend this Raid for any type of traveller

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated! I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and if you decide to return to Marrakech, you know where to find us!
Take care,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Gives one a true Moroccan local experience. Riad could do with abit of tlc and attention to detail. Attentive staff and very helpful. Location is fantastic,much to see with in walking distance. Overall a nice experience with a rustic charm.

Room Tip: top room noisy from roof top activity. Bathroom lacks freshness as it lacks open ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

...Maria was on hand from start to finish and really went out of her way to assist in every way possible. Upon arrival Rashid & Mohammed were a wonderful extension of her quality of service throughout. When they provided a cake and decorations for my boyfriends birthday I was genuinely touched. The location was perfect for us & the calm as soon as you walk through the door is palpable. We spent the first two nights in Grande Suite Amel which was amazing & a great way to start the holiday and then returned for our final night in Suite D'Olive which was so unique.
Lovely roof terrace & overall just a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. It was wonderful having you over at such a special time for you and were very honoured to be part of your partner's birthday celebrations.
Take care and I hope to hear from you again on another visit to Marrakech!
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.