We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, luxury and friendly service - what more could you want!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tranquility, luxury and friendly service - what more could you want!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What an incredible in place, Marrakech is a fantastic city but it is also rather intense. Not that you’d know it from inside the walls of Riad Mur Akush, it was an oasis of calm with a luxiourious feel.

I didn’t actually book this hotel, it was a birthday present from my boyfriend who booked directly with them. His experience throughout though was incredibly positive. He proposed when we got there and everyone in the hotel was more than happy to help him with the organisation.

From beginning to end of our trip we were made to feel completely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. All the staff cultivate a relaxed and friendly vibe and you get a real sense of Arabic hospitality.

As for the food, what can I say, it was incredible! The meal we had on our first night was stunningly delicious – as good as the posh one we had at La Sultana (another must if you’re in Marrakech and fancy a splurge). They catered brilliantly for my vegetarian needs and my boyfriend loved his meaty option too. The breakfasts every morning were fabulous and certainly filling, we generally only needed a snack for lunch. We’ve been trying to find pistachio yoghurt (alas in vain) since we returned home.

The only downside to Riad Mur Akush is the lack of a pool or plunge pool, we did however find a great solution to this problem. The Palais Donab on the Dar El Bacha is a five minute walk away and there is a lovely pool and restaurant. For 150dh you will get access to the pool, towels and a drink or if you are having lunch there then the price is only 120dh. It’s open from 10am to 6pm – perfect if the heat is soaring like it was on our second afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed taking care of you two at such a special time for you as a couple! We were all so excited about your news!! I am so glad that you had such a great stay with us and yes, I agree it would be great to have a pool at the riad, maybe in the future! Take care for now, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
224
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved it, friendly staff went out of the way to help. Food excellent, have a wheat allergy gave extra options. Peaceful but easy to walk anywhere. Would come back time and time again. Rooms are great and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! I am glad that you had a good stay with us and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I along with other friends stayed at this Riad in August and I must said that we simply loved it. The place is very nice, clean and peaceful. However the best of the Riad is the staff, who is always trying to attend your needs with a smile. Altough our flight arrived late at night and was delayed, Mohamed was there waiting for us. Breakfast is very good and generous, but dinner there was superb!!! If you stay there make sure you have dinner at the riad at least once because food is delicious!!!!!! In terms of location, as many places in the Medina, it is not on the main street with a big sign, but it is near to a main street which makes it easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased that you had a good stay with us, we really enjoyed taking care of you all and we would love to see you again in the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful riad, with fantastic views from the roof. A great location, close enough to walk to the main square, but far enough away that you feel distant from the chaos. Very helpful staff. We ate in one night and the food was traditional and pleasant. The room, and hotel in general was spotlessly clean.

When we go back we will stay here and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'D'olive Suite' which was on the ground floor and opens up on to the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay with is in Riad Mur Akush. The views are indeed lovely and I am glad that you have enjoyed them. They change all the time, and the sights of the snow cupped Atlas mountains at winter is also worth seeing. Thank you once again, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thoroughly impressed with Riad Mur Akush. We chose this hotel after having spent a week in the mountains. We were made to feel very welcome and greeted with tea and cakes while Rachid went through a map of the city, giving us advice and pointing out the places we'd already decided to visit.
The suite was superb, incredibly spacious, comfortable and to a very high standard. The roof terrace was delightful and provided fantastic views of the city.
We cannot recommend the hotel and great service highly enough and will be returning there next time we visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the Riad, our family of 5 were warmly welcomed by the lovely members of staff who were helpful and kind throughout our stay and accommodated our every request.

A quick guide to the main sites Marrakech has to offer not long after arrival helped in planning our stay and eased worries about arranging excursions to popular sites located some distance from the Medina as they are offered by the Riad at a fair rate. The Riad itself has a perfect central location in the middle of the Old and New City and is within walking distance of the souks, Jamaa al Fna and other tourist sites.

We shared two rooms between us and both were clean, spacious and delicately decorated with great attention to detail. We cannot exaggerate the tranquility felt in the Riad, whether on the Rooftop Terrace, in the bedrooms or the seating area on the ground floor.

Our decision to choose the Riad was partly swayed by the excellent and prompt communication we had from the owner, Maria, who responded within hours to initial enquiries about services offered such as airport transfer on arrival, which was arranged by the Riad itself free of charge.

Our stay was completely enjoyable and made even more so by the hospitality shown by all the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Mur Akush and would definitely choose it as the place to stay should we visit the lovely city of Marrakech again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Riad Mur Akush for 5 nights in August. We throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly (Rachid, Leyla and Mohammed) and helped us every way they could, they made us feel comfortable, just like being at home. We travelled to marrakech with 3 other friends who stayed in a 5 star resort in palmarie, when they visiting our riad they were blown away. The location is perfect, virtually in the middle of the old town and new. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.