We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Special 50th birthday at Riad Mur Akush what a treat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“My Special 50th birthday at Riad Mur Akush what a treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife booked Riad Mur Akush for my surprise 50th birthday after my daughter’s recommendation as she had been last year. From the initial airport transfer right through to the return transfer, the service from Rachid and the small friendly team; Layla the cook and Zohra the cleaner, was absolutely faultless and nothing was ever too much trouble. My wife also assures me that secretly organising the whole holiday with Maria the owner who lives in the UK, including the beautifully cooked, traditional tagine birthday dinner for 14 of us including the vegetarians, was a breeze.
With 3 generations of the family and several friends, the accommodation provided enough to keep everyone happy. Sun loungers and a roof terrace for the youngsters, beautiful traditionally finished rooms and bathrooms for us oldies as well as a comfortable lounge area for chilling in the afternoon. There is also plenty of local sight-seeing not too far away, including Jemaa el-Fnaa, the historic square which is home to the world famous Souks; an experience worth waiting for, but don’t get carried away with your haggling, start low!! For the uninitiated, Marrakech is certainly an experience. The people are really friendly and very welcoming and there is good variety of restaurants to suit all budgets and styles. There is an interesting variety of architecture and sights to see, but watch out for the donkeys and the mopeds, its madness.
Note; there are no shops in the Medina (old town) to buy alcohol, so if you are desperate for a beer you have to go to the new town. Try the Acima Supermarket, near Jardin Marjorelle (Yves St Laurent Gardens; also worth a visit), but be warned, alcohol’s not typically cheap like most Moroccan shopping though! If you want a drink in the Medina the bar at Hotel La Maison Arabe, which is down the next lane from the Riad, welcomes non residential guests for a beer or two and their Rachid the barman makes great birthday cocktails.
All in all definitely a 10 out of 10 holiday, so well done and thank you to everyone at Riad Mur Akush and the wife for organising a great holiday.

Room Tip: Book the whole Riad for the week and take you friends and family, definitely VFM. Failing that, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
234
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After three years away, it was a delight to return to Riad Mur Akush. The excellent staff was the same, welcoming me warmly, like I was part of their family. The rooms were spacious, cool, and delightfully decorated, while the riad itself offered many spaces to enjoy mint tea or read a book. While I found the stay great, the part that was most memorable was the food. I had been travelling throughout the country, but I had the very best tangines in Morocco at Riad Mur Akush. It is worth going there just for the food. Overall, an outstanding experience. I couldn't recommend this riad more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This riad is a great place to relax and spend the evening after a long day wondering around town. Great location, close to Jamal Al Fna, great room, clean, great breakfast and unlimited mint tea!
But the staff really make it a special place. Big thanks to Mohamed , Rachid and all the lovely ladies who prepared breakfast and dinner. My partner and I spent 5 nights at this Riad that felt like home. Evenings at the terrace were amazing. Great sunset! We also enjoyed catching up with Rachid and immersing ourselves more in the culture. Def recommend it and also a tip, make sure you have dinner at the riad. The food is beautiful and much better than at 5 star hotels we had while in Marrakesh. Great job guys!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our trip to Marrakech. Believe all the good reviews you read including this one....Mur Akush is ideally located within easy reach of all the main sites and souks and good value for money. We stayed in the Yassine suite which is comfortable and clean. The staff are also very helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The only complaint is that we did not book for a longer stay and also the pesky bees/wasps that kept buzzing around our breakfast table...although we were given a fan to keep them away.

Room Tip: Yassine suite is large, clean and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am just returning from a 4 night stay at the fantastic Riad Mur Akush. As anyone that wants to visit a Riad in Marrakech may know, there are many many many to choose from. After doing extensive research on what seems like 100s of properties, my partner and I decided upon this one for the detail and ambiance that its rooms appeared to offer.

Upon arriving at 2 AM, we were met at the airport by a member of the wonderful staff who brought us to the riad. When we arrived at the riad, it was quite late so we rent to our room. Originally, we resevred the Suite d'Olive but we were brought to the Suite Yassine instead. I was a bit confused by this, as we were not advised before hand, but apparently it was an "upgrade" and due to the late hour, we stayed in the room as we were told we would take care of it in the morning.

The next morning, my partner went to discuss the situation with a member of the staff before breakfast and we were told that we were upgraded to this room (on the first floor) because there was another party in the Suite d'Olive, but where we were now was better because there is less noise (the Suite d'Olive is on the patio level, where many people tend to eat breakfast). However, we were told if we were not happy, we could take a look at the Grand Suite Amel, and if we like it, we could stay there at no extra cost. I decided to take a look because although the Suite Yassmine is certainly lovely, we did rent the Suit d'Olive because of its very different amenitites (the bed area appeared to be straight from 1001 Arabian nights). However, words cannot express that absolute beauty that it the Grand Suite Amel, a real gem, with a separate sitting room with fire place, a huge luxurious canopy bed hand carved from wood, impeccably decorated. So, we changed rooms. There was no question.

Our time in the Grand Suite Amel and Riad Mur Akush was extraordinary. Every moment felt truly magical, it could have been a honeymoon. Every detail in the room is extremely well though out. The bathroom is extremely large, with two sinks which is great when you have two people that need to be ready at the same time. The room has three large floor to ceiling door windows with a fantastic view, and it also offers the easiest access to the marvelous rooftop terrace that the riad has. The bed was over-the-top fantastic, with some of the softest sheets I have tried to date. The sitting room was also a nice treat. After long mornings discovering all the souks and the surrounding have to offer under the hot sun, it was nice to be able to come back to a sitting area that has a really powerful air-conditioner (we visited near the end of the June and the heat was already over 40ºC).

In the morning, you can choose to have breakfast anywhere in the riad, although we chose to enjoy breakfast in the cool shadow of the patio. Breakfast was extensive and caringly served on wonderful festive plates. Breakfast (for us at least) included each morning, coffee and fresh squeezed juice, with homemade crepes, cakes, bread, cheeses marmelades, a nice way to start the day with energy.

When leaving, you have the option to leave the key at the door (which we did) and at any hour of the night or day, a light knock will advice someone to open the main door to the riad (usually Rachid met us with a smile). Lastly, we decided on our last night to have dinner in the riad, in which we ordered a started with a couscous and we finished it off with some lemon. Everything was lovingly prepared for us that day, and served under the soft moonlight on the patio (though you can specify where you would want to eat).

We also had quite a late flight out (after midnight), so we asked to remain in the room for the day, and they allowed us to at a discounted price, which was a great decision. After touring all morning, it was nice to be able to shower/relax/not rush when packing and organizing to leave. So, thank you for that also.

All in all: Next time we visit Marrakech, there is NO DOUBT that we will DEFINITELY stay here!

Pros, absolutely beautiful, impeccably decorated, a fantastic rooftop terrace with a lovely view of the city, great location in the riad (10 mins. walk from the "touristic" center), wonderful food and really caring and friendly staff. Truly truly truly, I could not have imagined our small get-away anywhere else. I feel like we had a true "moroccan" experience, and it was definitely due not only to the riad itself (which I cannot say enough niceties about) but in no small part to its staff (which is truly the lifeblood of this institution, demonstrating the true heart of Moroccan hospitality and generosity).

Cons: there seems to be an echo in the patio, in which you tend to hear everything. I am a heavy sleeper, so this was not a problem for me in that respect, but I tend to be a loud talker, so I suppose everyone can hear even the smallest of conversations.

Again, thank you, to the entire staff that truly took care of us. You really made us have a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Grand Suite Amel, it may be a bit more but it is worth every cent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We only stayed here one night, as we were staying all inclusive for the rest of our stay. We wanted to try a riad, to compare both all inclusive luxury to the tranquil of a riad.

We found the riad fairly easily from google maps, and with the help of a few friendly locals.

Our welcome to the riad was perfect, the hosts couldn't have been more hospitable. We were made to feel right at home with mint tea and almond pastries, delicious.

We stayed in a suite which was absolutely beautiful. Really rustic and traditional, just what we were after. The room was a good size and a real tranquil haven, apart from the prayer call which is extremely loud in the middle of the night. We knew this would be the case though, so it was expected.

The roof terrace is amazing. Great views of Marrakech and a great sun trap, with beautiful sun loungers and tables. There is no plunge pool though, which is the only downside I can make. In 45 degree heat, it would be nice. But you can always cool off in your shower if you got too hot.

A short, but perfect stay. The hosts were very welcoming, really knowledgeable and friendly. We would certainly return again, without a doubt! Thanks for making us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It’s only when you start looking for accommodation in Marrakech that you realise just how much choice there is. It’s simply overwhelming. What doesn’t help is that, in whatever area and price bracket you search, comparisons throw up a lot of properties that look just fine. So how do you choose between them?

Well for us, the decision was made as soon as we made contact with Mur Akush owner Maria. Unlike some of the other riads on our shortlist, Maria responded very quickly to our initial enquiry, and to subsequent emails containing complex questions and really quite particular requests with good answers, good humour and due haste. A complimentary evening meal was the icing on the cake.

If you want to be close to the “action” in Marrakech, Mur Akush is superbly well positioned. You’ll find you’re a short walk from all the hotspots in the Medina, with taxis and the smaller and cheaper ‘petits taxis’ always easy to find for longer journeys (but always negotiate the price BEFORE setting off if you can, and it’s worth haggling!)

As you will see from other reviews here, Mur Akush is quite near to a mosque, but in the ten days our party spent here, it was never an intrusion. Most notable of all “noises off” was the trader who touted his wares along the street at around 11am each day. Listen out for repeated cries of what sounds like “Phillipe!, Phillipe!” (we never discovered what he really was shouting!). Noisy it is not – this riad is an oasis of calm in a crazy world.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the roof terrace is a perfect place to while away the hours, with great views over the rooftops of the medina and to the Atlas Mountains.

Mur Akush is a riad where you can truly feel at home. We came and went as we pleased (at all hours of the day and night – there is plenty to keep you occupied in the city 24 hours a day if you want!). The staff are friendly and attentive, and as in other reviews the person we single out for particular praise is Rashid. He is an absolute gem. Nothing was too much trouble – restaurant bookings, airport transfers, breakfast served with a smile any time you like, drinks, snacks, keeping the wi-fi working…you name it, he does it. He is brilliant, and great fun to talk to as well!

Highly recommended as a base in this amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.