We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip To Remember...in a good way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Trip To Remember...in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It’s only when you start looking for accommodation in Marrakech that you realise just how much choice there is. It’s simply overwhelming. What doesn’t help is that, in whatever area and price bracket you search, comparisons throw up a lot of properties that look just fine. So how do you choose between them?

Well for us, the decision was made as soon as we made contact with Mur Akush owner Maria. Unlike some of the other riads on our shortlist, Maria responded very quickly to our initial enquiry, and to subsequent emails containing complex questions and really quite particular requests with good answers, good humour and due haste. A complimentary evening meal was the icing on the cake.

If you want to be close to the “action” in Marrakech, Mur Akush is superbly well positioned. You’ll find you’re a short walk from all the hotspots in the Medina, with taxis and the smaller and cheaper ‘petits taxis’ always easy to find for longer journeys (but always negotiate the price BEFORE setting off if you can, and it’s worth haggling!)

As you will see from other reviews here, Mur Akush is quite near to a mosque, but in the ten days our party spent here, it was never an intrusion. Most notable of all “noises off” was the trader who touted his wares along the street at around 11am each day. Listen out for repeated cries of what sounds like “Phillipe!, Phillipe!” (we never discovered what he really was shouting!). Noisy it is not – this riad is an oasis of calm in a crazy world.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the roof terrace is a perfect place to while away the hours, with great views over the rooftops of the medina and to the Atlas Mountains.

Mur Akush is a riad where you can truly feel at home. We came and went as we pleased (at all hours of the day and night – there is plenty to keep you occupied in the city 24 hours a day if you want!). The staff are friendly and attentive, and as in other reviews the person we single out for particular praise is Rashid. He is an absolute gem. Nothing was too much trouble – restaurant bookings, airport transfers, breakfast served with a smile any time you like, drinks, snacks, keeping the wi-fi working…you name it, he does it. He is brilliant, and great fun to talk to as well!

Highly recommended as a base in this amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
224
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Mur Akush to celebrate a recent 40th birthday. The welcome was warm and friendly from the start, which in our case was a pick up from the airport. The riad is beautifully decorated with many traditional Moroccan features. We ate in the riad on our first night and the meal was outstanding, one of the best we had on our trip. Maria, Rachid, Mohammed and all of their staff are very friendly, extremely knowledgable and made excellent recommendations including places to visit and eat. Maria also recommended the nearby Heritage Spa for a great hammam experience. On our next visit to Marrakech this is definitely where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent overall experience. Staff were brilliant. Accommodated all our request no matter how late it was. Picked us up from airport, even though we gave less than 24 hrs notice. Check out was at 12 but we were allowed to check out later as our flight was in the evening at no extra cost. A little walk away from the jama al fnaa. A very peaceful riad. A little more expensive than other riads we had seen but was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This pictures do not do this riad justice, they cannot capture the full scope of the carefully crafted spaces, the cool peace and calm of the riad in the heart of the city, and the warm welcome of the staff who tended to us. The rooms are beautifully finished, with thoughtful additions to make the stay pleasurable. All the spaces are uniquely decorated with rich Moroccan furnishings and colours, smells and shadows that make the riad and the city so memorable. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to eat breakfast, or to while away a hotter hour before venturing out into the souks and the main squares.
Many places were easily walkable, the main square, getting lost in the souks, and stylish hammams and restaurants where all close at hand.
I would love to stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have just left this riad which we spent a week in. We booked travel from the airport which we were glad after spending a hot hour at passport control!! We were shattered an arrived at the riad at about 9:30pm we were greeted cheerfully by rashid and walked through to paradise it was so peaceful after the stress of the airport. We booked a meal and although it was late they didn't mind the cook laila always had a smile the whole week and cooked us a wonderful 3 course meal. We had the olive suite but was shown another room incase we wanted to switch but the olive suite is like an Aladins cave and we stuck with it. Breakfasts were filling pancakes and cakes, yoghurt, oj, tea, coffee, bread, cheese all in one breakfast. The location is good for the souks and the square or a walk to the majjorelle gardens all around 10 minutes walk. Rashid and Muhammad were perfect hosts both speaking good English and gave good tips on places to see and eat. Also they would give u bottles of water, fresh orange juice or mint tea whenever u wanted which was very helpful in the evenings. I would recommend this place to anyone. Muhammad, rashid and laila were a delight and the room was a spectacle in itself. We wouldn't hesitate at choosing this riad of we come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We decided on this Riad after extensive research (there are hundreds of Riad's to chose from!), we were definitely not disappointed!.

Firstly if you do book this Riad I would recommend you arrange for them to pick you up from the airport (this cost us 15 euros). We were collected by Mohammed who spoke perfect English and was very friendly. On arrival (after about a 15 min drive from the airport) who were welcomed by Rashid with fresh mint tea and a selection of Moroccan sweets. He provided a map and recommended a number of sights to visit and let us know how to get there (most things are walking distance in the old town).

We chose to stay in the Grand Suite Amel, and it was a great decision! The room is huge with separate living room and bedroom. The bedroom has a huge four poster bed and the living room has a corner sofa and working fire place. The room felt very homely and is decorated very traditionally. The bathroom is also huge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Riad Mur Akush. We chose it from pictures and reviews on Trip Advisor and were very pleased with our choice. Muhammed and Rachid were our hosts and Zorah our maid and cook. They truly worked hard to accommodate all our needs from picking us up from a late flight, serving a delicious meal in the atrium by the waterfall, setting up a tour, serving and cooking breakfasts, and providing directions and advice. We loved our Moroccan style room and tiled bathroom with locally made bath soaps and shampoos. We really enjoyed eating breakfast on the roof of the Riad while relaxing in the morning sunlight amid the many flowers and listening to the sounds of the city. The breakfasts were very generous with a selection of breads, jams, orange juice, tea , coffee, yogurt and sometimes eggs. I took a cooking class from Zorah, accompanying her to the market to choose meat, vegetables and spices and helping to prepare the lamb tangine (a flovorful Moraccan stew). Mohammed and Rachid speak English so we were able to converse easily with them. The Riad is only a few blocks from the Sikh area (the bazaars). We walked all over town, day and evening, and felt perfectly safe; just watch out for the cars and motorbikes! If we are ever fortunate enough to go back to Marrakesh, we will definitely stay at Riad Mur Akush again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.