We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace and efficiency” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Albi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace and efficiency”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Suite Amel before leaving on a 4 day tour then returned for a further 2 nights. The organisation happily accommodated this broken visit, indeed it seems to be a common practice.
From first contact it was clear that this is a well-run Riad. Everyone is welcoming and efficient. Our room was clean, the bed large and comfortable and the heating quiet and effective. The generous evening meals were as good as any we found and breakfasts were excellent. The roof terrace is well-furnished and affords a splendid view of the Atlas mountains.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
223
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.-Martin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was the lucky one to get a surprise weekend in Marrakech beginning of February 2013 and we stayed 2 nights at the charming Riad Mur Akush. Ahh... what a wonderful place, one feels at home straight away. A very friendly welcome, well organized check-in and absolutely helpful in every way.

We had our room at the top floor, a big bedroom with a lovely 4 poster bed (and very important…a very comfortable mattress!) and a lounge area with a fire place. The bathroom is enormous (when compared to other hotels) with a fabulous big shower. Everything tastefully decorated with local traditional furniture and interesting big mirrors. Every room is different: some smaller some bigger. Very creative indeed. At night it is quiet and you sleep like a baby, though if you are a light sleeper be aware that the Riad is very close to a mosque and the dawn call to prayer may disturb you.

We had dinner on the evening of our arrival at the Riad which was perfectly fine but just a bit too much for 2!! If you want some wine with dinner or for an aperitif, you better request it in advance since the Riad, like many in the Medina, is not licenced (very kindly they organized it for us within short without any problems). Since it was sunny and already quite warm, we had our breakfast on the roof terrace - you can also have it in the patio or in the room if you wish - with a splendid view over the city and the mountains.

The Riad is well placed in the old town, short walking distance to the souks and the main square.
Really I would have liked to keep this place secret but I need to thank everyone at the Riad again for our super perfect stay. Please don’t change - we will come again!!

PS: we recommend a visit to the ‘Jardin Majorelle’ – absolutely beautiful garden with the most amazing colours. The restaurant there is also good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Morocco is bustling, noisy and full of salesmen, donkey-carts, horsedrawn carriages and mopeds. Without such a tranquil base to return to, we would soon have become exhausted. We enjoyed a picnic lunch on the roof-top terrace in warm sunshine (in February), with food we had purchased and brought back, having been provided with plates and cutlery when we asked.
Tucked away in a secluded side-street, Mur Akush is in a perfect spot, because, as well as being within the historic Medina, where there are many sites of interest to visit, it is also near to the new part of the city - a short walk takes you to the wall of the Medina and into the modern city-streets, where it is not much further to the famous Majorelle Garden, which is full of strange cactuses and trees - well worth a visit. With the city map, presented to us on our arrival at Mur Askush, we were able to navigate to and from the Riad without assistance from the many willing local guides who offered us their services.
The only glitch we experienced was with the plumbing. In our bathroom, the basin had hot and cold taps marked 'C' for chaud (hot) and 'F' for froid (cold) - fine, because we expected French labels. But the shower/bath taps were labelled 'Cold' and 'Hot' - which would have been fine, except that the one which started with a 'C' was chaud (hot) and a certain amount of water was sadly wasted trying to get hot water out of the tap marked 'Hot'! Not a problem once you know how it is.
We would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed in Riad Mur Akush for 3 nights this past January. We loved it! We stayed in the Grand Suite Amel on the top floor and used the airport pick up service. We were picked up right on time and everything went smoothly. We were greeted with mint tea and pastries and from then on, the trip only got better. Everyone at the riad was gracious and accommodating. They booked a lovely tour guide for us and we enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at the riad. Our suite was spacious and beautiful. The beds were comfortable and I loved the shower! There were small issues with the wifi, being on the top floor, but they worked diligently to fix it. We loved the rooftop terrace as well - we relaxed in the hanging chairs (very comfy!) and ate breakfast there until the bees took over, lol. All in all, I greatly enjoyed my time at the riad and I would definitely stay there again when visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Grand Suite Amel is HUGE and the bathroom is huge as well. The sofa can be made into a twin bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

12 of us shared this riad to celebrate my 50th Birthday, It could not have been better! Maria was so helpfull answering all queries quickly and efficiently, The Building was just as pictured, full of character, we loved exploring each others rooms on arrival as they were all different but gorgeous! The roof terrace great for sundowner cocktails,looking out over the rooftops of Marrakech, we had hot sunny weather in January so made good use of the sunloungers and hanging chairs! The breakfasts and lunch we ate there was efficiently set up for us on a long table,which was very sociable, and the staff were discreet but attentive when needed. including letting us in at 2 am on sunday morning after clubbing with no complaint! (I might be middle aged now, but still know how to enjoy myself!) The location was also perfect, as we were able to walk everywhere or get a reasonably priced Taxi.
The icing on the cake was that although we were not leaving until 5.30 on the Sunday we were able to leave our things in our rooms up until then, such a bonus, we were very greatfull not to be Homeless until we left for the airport!
I thought it was extremely good Value for money, and would definitely reccomend, and probably stay there again! Dolly

Room Tip: All rooms equally lovely, Amel suite has largest lounge if you want to invite friends in for cocktai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and seeing the pictures on the website I was very excited about our stay at the Mur Akush. I want to say that it was amazing, I want to say that I loved it; but I can't. There wasn't one big thing wrong with it, but I found it rather underwhelming and there were lots of little 'niggly' things that let it down.

Our room (Salaam) was lovely, but needs a bit of TLC. The blanket had huge catches in it, the safe wasn't actually attached to anything, making it unusable and it felt really basic and a little 'grubby' The bed was very comfy though and the air con was impressive.

The noise travels terribly from the courtyard, which seemed to be where most people chose to eat breakfast, meaning that we could hear every conversation from our room on the first floor.

Breakfast itself was a great mix of meat, cheese, fresh bread, pastries, yoghurt and coffee and we alternated between having it in our room and up on the roof terrace. But the crockery was no longer at it's best, there were chips and cracks on most pieces and it needs replacing.

The roof terrace was lovely, but again the cushions were all stained and grubby.

I think two years ago, the Riad Mur Akush would have been very impressive indeed, but I don't think it has had much love recently and it is starting to show. Some TLC and attention to detail would make a huge improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There are 100s of riads to choose from...but look no further! The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, but they'll also leave you in peace if you wish. The food is delicious and you can eat your breakfast wherever you like. The rooms are spacious, tidy, and well decorated. The rooftop is peaceful and comfortable.

The riad is located about 10 minutes walk from the main square in Marrakech. Although is very close by to the souks, it is not inside of them. This is a huge advantage as the last thing you really want after a long day is getting lost down a dark alley trying to find your way back!

If you're fortunate enough to visit on New Year's Eve, you'll be pleased with the party they put on as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review for us. I am very glad that you had a good time in our house, you like the location, enjoyed our food and had a great time at the New Years party! We really enjoyed looking after you and thank you once again for your kind words. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.