We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found this Riad convenient for all the main sights, friendly, and the staff helpful. I have ceoliac disease and they coped well with my dietary needs. The riad was very quiet and the area safe. It was December when we went and the riad could have been chilly in the evening and morning if the open spaces had all been in the shade. We had breakfast in the sun on the terrace, went sight seeing by foot in the morning, sun bathing on the roof in the afternoon, then wandering around the souk and back to the open fire in our cozy bedroom to read before bedtime. A nice big bed in a very pretty room off the terrace with a sweet little bathroom - and this was the cheapest room in the riad. The toiletries are as good and they say and truly are half price (we checked in the souk). They were good presents to take home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
223
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We were collected from the airport by Mohammed and then welcomed with mint tea and sweets by Rashid, who also gave us lots of information about what to see and how to get there, as well as the option to book excursions. I have to say, Mohammed and Rashid are two of the nicest people I have come across, and our amazing Marrakech experience was largely due to their constant willingness to help and advise whatever time of day. (Rashid - when do you sleep?!)

The riad is in a good location, an easy, hassle-free 10min walk to Jemaa El-Fna square. It is located in an alleyway behind a busy road but is completely safe to walk to and from at any time of day or night.

We stayed in the Grand Suite Amel - a gorgeous authentic room with a huge bathroom, four poster bed, a beautiful mirror and a living area with fireplace. Breakfast can be had in the courtyard or on the roof terrace - portions are huge! (Sorry we could never finish...)

Rashid I know you read these so just want to say a big thank you again (you said you would reply! Haha). You and the others were wonderful! And thank you for chasing the car after I forgot my jumper! If we ever find ourselves in Marrakech again we will be sure to stop by...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having stayed at another Riad in marrakech which was hidden in a maze- now realise that being able to easliy find your way back in the dark after an evening in the square or a restaurant is of great importance! This Riad is just off a direct road from the square- the road is well used at all times, and no hassling from locals. Some areas like this one they ignore you, others they seem to home in on you to ask if you need to go to this and that, but i think here it was because when you were walking to or from the Riad you looked like you knew what and where you were doing. The Riad is excellent, the staff as mentioned in other reviews are absolutely lovely. Rashid also collected our tickets for bus trip to Essaouira, Mohammed collected us from Airport. The roof terrace breakfasts were great- different local breads each day- good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We ate one night in la Maison Arabe which is in next side street- expensive but great for a treat. Rashid told us of all good local restaurants and couldnt have been more helpful and also very relaxed and natural. Lovely place- lovely people in a super location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We did a lot of researching for our Marrakesh accommodation, and are very glad we chose to stay in a riad in the old town. Mur Akush has an amazing location, down a side street (partly unlit, but we never at any time felt intimidated), just ten minutes from the main square, but an oasis of calm. Rashid on the front desk speaks perfect English and nothing is too much trouble for him - he bought our coach tickets for Essouria for us, booked a hamman and a day trip for us and was always on hand. Breakfast exceptional every morning. Our room, the most expensive in the riad, were gorgeous. We did get woken up on our first morning by the call to prayer at 5am (the riad is opposite a mosque) but after that first time we got used to it. Mohammed, the manager will pick you up from the airport on arrival for free. On the way back however, you can either book a taxi or Mohammed will do it for about a tenner. Maria the owner does not live on the premises, but was very helpful and prompt in all email correspondence we had with her prior to arrival. Very much recommended. Thank you Rachid, Mohammed and Maria for a great holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We checked many different reviews on tripadvisor and decided to go for this Riad. We booked the taxi in advance which was a very good choice as the streets in Marrakech are narrow and some places not easy to find. We were greeted with mint tea and sweets and showed to our room. We had breakfast every morning on the roof top overlooking the Medina. Staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended good places. Overall a great hotel I would always get back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a truly outstanding riad in a fantastic part of Marrakech. Location is ideal. A casual 7-8 minute walk to the main square, easy access to the new town and conveniently situated beside Bab Doukkala mosque. The riad is spacious, bright and boasts the most beautiful courtyard and roof terraces. The rooms were immaculately clean and offered both comfort and authentic Moroccan style. The ideal location and excellent accommodation would have easily been enough to rate this place as excellent, but the reason I've described the Riad Mur Akush as outstanding lies solely with Rashid. From the moment we arrived, Rashid made us feel like it was our home. His warmth and hospitality set the mood for our stay in Morocco. Thanks once again Rashid and sorry for ordering mint tea on the roof terrace every night!! (Best mint tea in town!!!!) Great riad in a great city!!!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked the Suite Olive room, however, given heavy rain the room was a bit water damaged, but we were upgraded to their best room without any extra cost. The room was amazing, great comfy bed, very clean room, nice sofa area and brilliant bathroom with amazing shower. Would highly recommend this place for a stay in Marrakech.

It is about 8-10 minutes walk to the main square (we also to Palace Bahia in 15 minutes), so really easy to get anywhere in the Medina. If you stay here, go and try eating at Maison Arabe (about one minute walk from the Riad) and try the hammam at the end of the alley the riad is on (I think it was called Les Bains des Azahara) which was really really good!!

The roof terrace is also an amazing place to sit and relax in the sun, with great views over the mountains and the medina.

Would completely recommend this place without hesitation.

p.s. the breakfast is enormous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#36 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#37 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#52 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#38 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#51 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#64 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.