We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality the best of many highlights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last minute October!
Ranked #65 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hospitality the best of many highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Of the many excellent riads we stayed in Morocco, this one was the best. Had to move rooms after two nights but that just meant we were able to experience two of their beautiful rooms. Great location between the heart of the souks, the square and Gueliz. Best part was the incredible hospitality of Rasheed and Mohammed who were constantly welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    48
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
228
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mur Akash is a fantastic riad, with great service in a beautiful building. service delicious breakfasts and dinners in the foyer, or on the roof terrace (with a view over Marrakech), the roof terrace also has basket swings, sun-loungers, and umbrellas. A short walk from the main square Jamaa-al Fna, it's far enough to be quiet in the evenings, but close enough to stroll down to. The staff are excellent, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. I'd fully recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

An oasis of calm and tranquillity amidst the madness of the medina beyond its walls. Our host, Rasheed did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace and sitting in the lovely courtyard (birdsong included!). We hope to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Thank you to Rasheed, Mohammed and the other staff at Riad Mur Akush! Your friendliness and kind, humble nature, alongside the beauty of this stunning riad (and ideal location), made our stay in Marrakech fantastic...!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay - from the welcome on arrival, to the wonderful vegetarian friendly dinner on the roof, to the helpful but not pushy staff. The rooms were stunning and very well furnished.

There are only two, small, quibbles. The first is that the wifi doesn't reach all the rooms (even though the website says it does). The second is a common problem in riads and similar refurbished old houses, the plumbing is a bit smelly ... if we didn't keep all the plugs in the basins and shower the whole bathroom started to smell of sewage.

Room Tip: If you want wifi check that the room you're booking has wifi, then check it again when you arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Charming rashid and the gang will make you welcome in this beautiful hidden riad in the medina. Great room and location but you will be woken up early if you're on the ground floor as guests have breakfast in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the second time that I have visited Morocco and I was really keen on staying in a Riad as previously I had stayed in a hotel further away from the main square, and wanted to gain more of an authentic experience of Marrakech.

Myself and a friend stayed in the twin room Meli for 3 nights, the beds were comfortable, the decor stunning. I was also pleased that the bathroom had a door (researching on the internet I came across many rooms in other riads that didn't!). The room was clean, there was air conditioning. The roof terrace was a wonderful place to chill out with amazing views.
Breakfast was filling.
The riad is ideally located, it is not far from jemaa el fanaa-approximately a 10 minute walk away. My friend and I are two young women and we felt safe walking back to the riad at night. There are many places to eat nearby which are much cheaper than in the square. We were glad to have the mosque opposite the riad as this meant that we could pray with the locals often.
I was very pleased that the riad was easy to find. I remember finding the alley ways of Marrakech slightly intimidating on my last trip, however this was not the case for the Riad Mur Akush.

The staff were fantastic, and returning to the riad every day felt as though I were walking in to my own home. It was a very relaxing environment to be in.
Many thanks to Rachid, Mohammed and Zohra who were very welcoming and exceptionally hospitable. A special thank you to Rachid, who was very helpful in advising us and made fantastic Moroccan tea which is just what I needed to help me to recover from a cold before I headed off to climb Mount Toubkal.
I would definitely stay here again when I return to Morocco and recommend the riad highly. Many thanks also to Maria for all her advice regarding excursions etc and being very prompt with email replies.

Overall I had a fantastic trip and felt that this time round I got a real taste of authentic Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.