We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, beautiful rooms, but not quite perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, beautiful rooms, but not quite perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay - from the welcome on arrival, to the wonderful vegetarian friendly dinner on the roof, to the helpful but not pushy staff. The rooms were stunning and very well furnished.

There are only two, small, quibbles. The first is that the wifi doesn't reach all the rooms (even though the website says it does). The second is a common problem in riads and similar refurbished old houses, the plumbing is a bit smelly ... if we didn't keep all the plugs in the basins and shower the whole bathroom started to smell of sewage.

Room Tip: If you want wifi check that the room you're booking has wifi, then check it again when you arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
224
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Charming rashid and the gang will make you welcome in this beautiful hidden riad in the medina. Great room and location but you will be woken up early if you're on the ground floor as guests have breakfast in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the second time that I have visited Morocco and I was really keen on staying in a Riad as previously I had stayed in a hotel further away from the main square, and wanted to gain more of an authentic experience of Marrakech.

Myself and a friend stayed in the twin room Meli for 3 nights, the beds were comfortable, the decor stunning. I was also pleased that the bathroom had a door (researching on the internet I came across many rooms in other riads that didn't!). The room was clean, there was air conditioning. The roof terrace was a wonderful place to chill out with amazing views.
Breakfast was filling.
The riad is ideally located, it is not far from jemaa el fanaa-approximately a 10 minute walk away. My friend and I are two young women and we felt safe walking back to the riad at night. There are many places to eat nearby which are much cheaper than in the square. We were glad to have the mosque opposite the riad as this meant that we could pray with the locals often.
I was very pleased that the riad was easy to find. I remember finding the alley ways of Marrakech slightly intimidating on my last trip, however this was not the case for the Riad Mur Akush.

The staff were fantastic, and returning to the riad every day felt as though I were walking in to my own home. It was a very relaxing environment to be in.
Many thanks to Rachid, Mohammed and Zohra who were very welcoming and exceptionally hospitable. A special thank you to Rachid, who was very helpful in advising us and made fantastic Moroccan tea which is just what I needed to help me to recover from a cold before I headed off to climb Mount Toubkal.
I would definitely stay here again when I return to Morocco and recommend the riad highly. Many thanks also to Maria for all her advice regarding excursions etc and being very prompt with email replies.

Overall I had a fantastic trip and felt that this time round I got a real taste of authentic Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent only one night here at the beginning of our trip but wished could stay longer. We had the Suite D'Olive which was absolutely stunning in decor, and the bed one of the most comfortable I've had on my travels. Only down side its on the ground floor. The staff are very friendly and the food is great - we had a meal after a fairly late arrival at around 8pm which was delicious. Food is always better in riads than restaurants. They picked us up from the airport, everthing ran smoothly. Location is great for exploring the souks and the central medina. Would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have less privacy, but Suite D'Olive is well worth that small point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here end of Sept/beg October (last week) in the Grand Suite Amel. The room is beatiful and very spacious, it's on the top floor and looks out to the courtyard and first terrace. The four poster bed is amazing with lovely wood carving. Everyone is very welcoming and helpful and greet you with a smile every time they open the door. We had breakfast every morning in the courtyard but you can choose to have it on the roof terrace if you prefer. Breakfast was good. Pastrys, bread, a boiled egg one morning, yogurt, banana,honey, freshly squeezed orange juice, loads of coffee. The roof terrace is a delight. We always spend a few hours up there towards the end of the day, enjoying the sun and catching up with reading. It was very pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: treat yourself and go for the Grand Suite Amel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned home this week after staying at Riad Mur Akush. It's a great oasis in the middle of hectic Marrakech. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable . It was excellent having breakfast brought up to the roof top in the morning . Lovely rooms and all in all a great place to stay in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I really enjoyed this experience, a little different from what I am used to, but all in all it was really authentic. The decor of the place is really pleasing, in keeping with Moroccan tradition and the staff at the Riad, Rachid, Zohra and Mohammed were exemplary as hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them....... Thanks guys x x x
Marrakech itself is a mad chaotic place which I loved to be honest but it was good to get back to the peace and tranquillity at the end of a hot day and have Berber whisky.
The call to prayer did'nt bother me at all, I found it quite soothing and now have it as my ringtone.
For my holiday I wanted authentic and I got it with no disappointment :-)))

Room Tip: All rooms are authentic with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.