We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Save Saved
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights at Riad Mur Akush in January and it was such a lovely quiet and beautiful place to stay. We stayed in room Meli, which was a lovely room with an open fireplace. The room was immaculate, lovely clean towels and toiletries provided. We were greeted upon arrival with mint tea & pasties and a detailed map with recommendations of places to see and restaurants to dine. On our first night we enjoyed a private dinner cooked by their in house chef and it was wonderful. Moroccan soup, chicken and vegetable tagine and fresh oranges and cinnamon. We were even allowed to bring our own wine which we purchased from the supermarket (only a 20 min walk from the Riad). Definitely try the Moroccan red wine, it's really nice & we only paid about £3 a bottle.
I would definitely recommend a stay at Riad Mur Akush, the staff are so friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home and relaxed. The staff are a true asset to this place and I would definitely stay there again if I return to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Room Meli was on the 2nd floor and very quiet, a beautiful room with an open fireplace for those chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
223
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Riad Mur Akush in December for four days and three nights and from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and comfortable. After to being shown to our room on arrival the cook prepared a tasty chicken tagine followed by pastries and fruit. It was delicious. We are now fans of mint tea ! This being our first trip to Marrakesh it was so reassuring to have such helpful staff on hand to ask advice and directions. We were given a map and shown which places we should visit and good places to eat.. The Riad it self was beautiful. We loved having our breakfast on the terrace every morning. One evening they lit the fire for us in our room as it was a bit chilly. The room was clean and spacious with a lounge area and good sized en suite with a huge shower. Thank you for making our stay so special and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed at Riad Mur Akush for 3 nights in December with my boyfriend and it was one of my favorite places we stayed in Morocco. We got the airport pickup service which made everything so much easier, and wasn't very expensive. We were greeted with tea (the best mint tea I had in 2 weeks in Morocco) and delicious pastries - a great welcome after a long plane ride.

The riad was a little smaller than it looked on the website, and we stayed in Room Hammam which also was a little smaller than I expected (although the bathroom was big), but despite this I wasn't disappointed with the friendliness and beauty of the riad. From helping us set up dinner reservations, to greeting us in the morning (as early as 6:30 am on our departure day) with breakfast, the staff were all really helpful but also really laid back. In other riads it feels like they're all up in your business, but here they were really relaxed and it helped us relax.

(We felt so comfortable at this riad that we spent one whole night just hanging out in the lounge area, playing board games that they have stashed away, drinking mint tea and listening to the Moroccan CDs they put on for us.)

In terms of location, this riad is a 10 minute walk away from the action, but after the insanity of the souks, I was really glad we weren't right in the middle of it. I will also flag that there is a mosque next door, so expect to wake up at 5:45 am for the call to prayer - but I found this was pretty standard in Morocco.

All in all, we loved our experience at the riad and would definitely return and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Having not been to Marrakesh previously I didn't really know what to expect. The Riad organised pickup from the airport, included in the price, and were extremely welcoming right from the beginning. We were upgraded to the best suite for no extra cost and it was a really nice room with lounge area and spacious and clean bathroom. Both Youssef and Racid (hopefully the correct spelling) were extremely helpful for the duration of out stay (3 nights). Racid even offered to go and buy our tickets for the bus to Essaouira if we had trouble ourselves. They both provided very valuable advice and information on Marrakesh which greatly assisted our stay. The terrace was lovely with panoramic views of Marrakesh and the Atlas mountains in the distance. A little chilly in the morning but we still enjoyed our breakfast, which Youssef brought up for us, on the terrace each morning.
Thank you for a fantastic stay! Having stayed at a half dozen other places now in Morocco, I can say that yours is the best so far!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with a late booking, so had really good deal. Met by driver at airport (at a cost, but cheap, and easier than getting the bus). Tea and pastries when we arrived, then the staff produced a map and took time to mark places of interest, and give guidance on prices. In my booking email I had been promised "generous breakfast, lovely bed linen and the best shampoo and shower gel in Morocco". We weren't disappointed!

We also had the three course meal at the raid, and again the food was lovely. The night was chilly, so the staff set a log fire in the room, which was just perfect.

The staff smiled the whole time, cant remember all their names, but must mention Mohammed, Rashid and finally Zora who cooked for us. They and their colleagues made our stay one we'll remember for a longmtime.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We felt instantly relaxed and welcomed the moment we stepped into the beautiful courtyard and were served Moroccan mint tea and pastries. Rachid, Youssef and Mohammed looked after us beautifully (although Maria wasn't there when we stayed, she had already made a great impression over email before our visit and has a fantastic team running the riad). The map and recommendations Rachid supplied were perfect - a good, succinct guide to the city... and then to our room. We stayed in the Hammam suite, which was lovely, as are all the rooms (see for yourself in the photos). We ate dinner on our first night in the riad, which was delicious and served with charm and in generous portions. Throughout our stay, we were so thankful to have this haven of calm and tranquility to retreat to when Marrakech became too hectic (the hustling and mopeds are so integral to the character of the city, but can become a bit much). Like many riads in Marrakech, there is a mosque nearby, so the first muezzin call of the morning could wake you up - but a pair of earplugs should sort this until you get used to it!) We were lucky to enjoy fantastic weather during our 5-day stay, so had breakfast and spent many late afternoons on the gorgeous roof terrace, watching the sun set over the city. We really couldn't have asked for more from the lovely people who run this place and would wholeheartedly recommend it if you are visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Riad Mur Akush has some unique characteristics that makes it different from other hotels. Its utmost feature is the friendly and professional staff, composed by Mohammed, Yousseff, Racheed and the kitchen lady (who´s name I can´t recall). They make your stay comfortable and special. The place is very well located and the rooms are morrocan style furnitured (Claudia and Hassan)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.