We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis and warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Mur Akush to your Saves list
Riad Mur Akush
Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount as minimum
Ranked #63 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We felt instantly relaxed and welcomed the moment we stepped into the beautiful courtyard and were served Moroccan mint tea and pastries. Rachid, Youssef and Mohammed looked after us beautifully (although Maria wasn't there when we stayed, she had already made a great impression over email before our visit and has a fantastic team running the riad). The map and recommendations Rachid supplied were perfect - a good, succinct guide to the city... and then to our room. We stayed in the Hammam suite, which was lovely, as are all the rooms (see for yourself in the photos). We ate dinner on our first night in the riad, which was delicious and served with charm and in generous portions. Throughout our stay, we were so thankful to have this haven of calm and tranquility to retreat to when Marrakech became too hectic (the hustling and mopeds are so integral to the character of the city, but can become a bit much). Like many riads in Marrakech, there is a mosque nearby, so the first muezzin call of the morning could wake you up - but a pair of earplugs should sort this until you get used to it!) We were lucky to enjoy fantastic weather during our 5-day stay, so had breakfast and spent many late afternoons on the gorgeous roof terrace, watching the sun set over the city. We really couldn't have asked for more from the lovely people who run this place and would wholeheartedly recommend it if you are visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    55
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
261
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geneve
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Riad Mur Akush has some unique characteristics that makes it different from other hotels. Its utmost feature is the friendly and professional staff, composed by Mohammed, Yousseff, Racheed and the kitchen lady (who´s name I can´t recall). They make your stay comfortable and special. The place is very well located and the rooms are morrocan style furnitured (Claudia and Hassan)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The most amazing Riad, friendly staff that can't do enough, food and hospitality is perfect, made my mum's 60th one to remember. I would most definitely recommend Riad murakush.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Have just returned from Riad Mur Akush having spent a wonderful four nights stay. It was our first visit to Marrakech and a wonderful experience starting with a welcome of Mint tea and pastries prepared by Rachid and Zohra. Mohammed, Rachid, Zohra and Yusuf made us feel at home and were on hand for all our many questions about life in this amazing city. The whole riad is wonderfully decorated and appointed andeach room is themed. From the roof top balcony to the open courtyard for dining, it is an oasis within the bustling city of Marrakech. We decided to eat in on two evenings and the food was freshly prepared to our needs and served with enthusiasm; wine was available. We went on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains with Mohammed as our guide and were able to see life outside of the city. Our friends were also of a like mind about the whole experience.

Room Tip: The Grand Suite Amel is the one if your budget stretches that far. But all six rooms are individuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from 4 nights at Riad Mur Akush and cannot recommend it highly enough. We arrived mid-evening to find the courtyard beautifully lit with candles and the sound of the fountain running. Rachid, Yosef and Mohammed were incredibly helpful and answered all our questions knowledgeably.

We stayed in the Hamman room which is located on the first floor. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean.

I recommend having breakfast on the roof terrace if the weather is good, it has a wonderful view over the city and is very relaxing. Breakfast was served whenever we wanted it and consisted of pastries, breads, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee ( one day we also got an omelette), breakfast changes daily too.

The riad is located very close to the Bab Dokala Mosque and the first call to prayer is around 4am. This woke us up every morning. I would advise taking ear plugs to avoid being woken up.

We found the riad a wonderful refuge from the madness of the city. Despite being so central it is very peaceful and relaxing.

The main square is only 10 minutes walk, the souks are even nearer.

All in all a fantastic riad, wonderful staff and a relaxing haven.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a joy taking care of you and we are looking forward to having you in our again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Simon from Birmingham (uk).
I recently stayed here with my girlfriend for our first holiday in morocco. I can honestly say I've never been more well looked after anywhere else I've travelled to before. The Riad is so peaceful inside your torn to decide wether to get back early on an evening after a meal to just enjoy the beautiful gardens within the available communial areas. The breakfast was always of a good standard and we were never left wanting for any more. All of the staff are so welcoming and friendly you really do feel like your leaving home on your last day. We also had great advise on the best places to visit and amazing day expeditions to take. It's located perfectly to capture all of the different sides to Marrakech. Locally are great sites to see in the old town, lovely restaurants to eat at and your still close to the westernised new town if you like shopping etc. I really would recommend here to anyone, a place we enjoyed so much and a place we will definitely return to again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Guest Relations Manager at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was great having you in our riad and I hope that we will keep in touch. Send me the photos if you have a chance! Rachid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We simply loved the place although it was quite a stretch for our budget – it turned up in the tripadvisor selection of 1-50 US$ but it is far more expensive. Fortunately we got a discount that made it possible for us to stay there. All rooms are beautifully decorated and big. The staff is very, very friendly. The breakfast which you can take on the rooftop terrace is excellent and although within the Medina it is a very quiet place to stay. We highly recommend staying there! In the end we stayed for 5 nights!

Room Tip: We would go for rooms on the upper floor – the suite d´olive on the ground floor is very nice but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#55 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#58 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mur Akush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.