We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil and Restful Oasis in a Medina of Madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Tranquil and Restful Oasis in a Medina of Madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Aguerzame for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed its comfort, peace and excellent service from Laurent and his small team.

The Riad is a traditional home for extended families. Riad Aguerzame has 4 letting rooms, one on the ground floor opening onto the courtyard and the remaining 3 on the first floor.

A climb up the stairs to the third floor takes you to the lovely roof top terrace. Enjoy sunbathing, relaxing and enjoying the rooftop views accross Marakech.

Our spacious room boasted a 4-poster bed, good sized bathroom with shower, sofa, table and air conditioning.

A delightful Moroccan breakfast is served in the courtyard each morning, anytime from 8.30am onwards.

Laurent was a excellent host and asked us to treat the Riad as our home. He supplied us with many handy tips and escorted us on the first morning to the main square and the Souks (about a 10 minute walk).

Marrakech can blow you away, so much happening, so many people wanting you (and your money!), music, chatter, calls to prayer, mopeds screeching everywhere, it is a totally unique experience.

Laurent organised a driver and vehicle to take us on a day trip to the Atlas Mountans. The day was wonderful and we managed to see the Berber people and a traditional Berber home and many other places of interest.

We would highly recommend the Riad Aguerzame for a stay in Marrakech and are sure that Laurent will help you maximise your time in this mad city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
305
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I with another couple spent 4 wonderful nights at Riad Aguerzame in Marrakech.

This stay came at the end of a month's holiday in Morocco and we could not have finished our wonderful holiday at a more perfect place.

Antoine, the host, provides exceptional and personal service. He stored our bags for a week before we arrived while we were hiking in the Atlas Mountains and on our arrival took the time to walk with us to the square to make sure that we knew the way. As Antoine says, it's not a job, it's his life.

The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was very nice and the courtyard an oasis of calm.

I can't recommend this Riad too highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Antione is helpful from the start. Marrakech is not an easy city to navigate. With the arranged driver we arrived with ease into the oasis called Augerzame. Antione was up early to help us on our way with a petite dejuner. The rooms are well done, a bit used and the a/c works. You will get a good nights sleep. If you travel to the Atlas mountain's check out Chez Momo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

From the minute we booked our Riad from Ireland, Antoine made it his business to ensure we had a wonderful stay. A key part in this was sending a taxi to collect us on arrival in Marrakech, through the difficult to navigate streets where finding the right address can seemingly boggle even the more experienced driver. From the minute we bent down thru the hatch of the ancient medieval style front door we were enthralled by the decor inside and the relaxed atmosphere of the riad. The room was medium sized but very comfortable and nicely laid out. Bathroom was clean and spacious and nicely kitted. When we were about to leave for the medina, Antoine gave us a map, marked out several places of interest on it and then kindly offered to walk us up to the edge of the square ensuring we would not get lost on the way back...which is crucial as you will learn when you visit marrakech! All in all we spent two days in Antoines riad, where we were well pampered with evening drinks, cuban cigars, and very interesting tales from his own extensive travel log. Antoine also organised a pottery class for us both out in the country which was thoroughly enjoyable. After a good breakfast we were on our way again having had a flawless stay with our host.
Review by: Padhraic & Caroline, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The riad is wonderful, and Antoine could not have been a better host. He served the best meal we had in Morocco and also set us up with an unforgettable walking tour in the Atlas Mountains. Great all around experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Cant praise it enough the food was lovely the riad itself an oasis of calm and cool, even when the temperature in Marrakech was in the 40's. Antoine could not have been more charming and helpful and the sweet demure lady who was there in the mornings was enchanting. Even his foot nibbling tortoise was a lovely touch. Antoine's own paintings decorate the walls and the rooms are a modern take on the arabian nights with their own Air-con and lovely modern en suites. Nothing was too much trouble and breakfast was laid out from about 8 til when you wantted. As each person appreared freah bread and yoghurt appeared. With teenagers along this was such a boon. the shopping was fabulous and the folk in the souk were enthusiastic but never offensive. Overall one of the few places in the world I intend to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Was extremely comfortable, clean, efficient and welcoming. The host, Antoine, treated us as personal guests, nothing was too much trouble. It's in the heart of the chaotic and lively Medina, but when you close the door you're in a beautiful and tranquil environment away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.