We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location--wonderful host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location--wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A first rate staff set this Riad apart from others. The location can't be beat and Laurent took great care to make this a memorable anniversary vacation. We felt more like we were guests at a friend's home than at a hotel or traditional bed and breakfast. Great dinner, so we would highly recommend setting up at least one meal in the Riad itself.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are further away from the shared courtyard and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    37
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
129
350
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found the riad online, after reading reviews of lots of places, and are so glad we did! The staff were absolutely wonderful and the riad itself a charming, peaceful oasis of calm in the midst of a bustling city. From our (delayed and therefore very late) arrival to the time we left 5 days later, the staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

We had reserved dinner in the riad for the first night and it was excellent, as was the other dinner we had there - thanks to Layla for wonderful food. The next morning, after a relaxing and tasty breakfast (the freshly-squeezed orange juice was a particular favourite), Aziz took quite a lot of time to talk us thorough the main sights. He gave us a map and recommended places to eat and visit and then walked us up to the main square. This made things so much easier and meant we set out with confidence on our first morning. After that, we found our way around town with the map every day and didn't get lost once!

Every time we returned to the riad after a busy day sightseeing or having dinner, we were greeted warmly and offered drinks. Freshly-squeezed orange juice, cold bottled water and mint tea were on offer (without cost) throughout the day and even while we waited for our taxi on the last day (as we didn't leave until 6.30pm, this hospitality was above and beyond what most places would offer).

Overall, we enjoyed our visit to Marrakech but what really made the visit was the staff at Riad Aguerzame, and our overriding memories will be of smiling, helpful staff, great food and drinking far too much wine late at night with the very convivial owner, Laurent.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadaguerzame, Propriétaire at Riad Aguerzame, responded to this review, yesterday
How happy we are to read you ! And very proud all the staff provide you such good souvenirs. We hope to see you again soon... to share other glasses late in the night.

Warmest


Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights here over Easter and were reluctant to leave - we were met at the airport by the transfer arranged by the Riad and Aziz, the manager, then met us to personally take us to the Riad. On stepping through the tiny wooden door you enter your own private haven away from the hustle and bustle of the marketplace that is Marrakech. Our room was on the 1st floor; quiet, very comfortable with a great shower and all amenities provided. The first night we ate in the Riad - a delicious three course meal with a chilled rosé - the tagine was chicken, green olive and preserved lemon and a very generous portion. The next morning we sat down to an equally delicious breakfast as others have mentioned with fresh orange juice, homemade crepes with homemade jams, toast and cake - and fresh fruits, tea and coffee. Aziz then made time to give us a detailed briefing on Marrakech, dos and donts of bartering, recommendations for restaurants and then personally took up us down to the main square. Before we left, we had booked a day trip to the Atlas Mountains which was a highlight - taking us away from the melee of Marrakesh where we spent an enjoyable day walking, talking with our private guide and enjoying a personal visit with his family, lunch in a Berber village home and visiting a craftsman who made tagines - the time flew and the drive each way was very interesting. We dined at several cafes and "'PepeNero" - a very nice Italian restaurant with a take on Moroccan cuisine as well that were recommended by Aziz. Laurent, the owner, was charming and we spent a pleasant hour or so with him - just chatting. Said, Leyla and the other staff were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming - even offering to buy my spices for me when I Felt overwhelmed with bartering - . The Riad is in a great location and as others have said, we didn't have any concern with our safety at all. Ohh. I almost forgot to mention that Aziz booked us a Hamman at their sister riad - spur of the moment decision - and we were taken there and back and enjoyed this, our first experience, immensely.

So, to cut a long story short - do go and stay - can thoroughly recommend and we hope to return later in the year with other friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadaguerzame, Gérant at Riad Aguerzame, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for your kind review about our traditional riad and me and my staff. Happy you'll decide to come back !

Kindly

Aziz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We'd a great three night stay in Riad Aguerzame,as women travelling on our own we were a bit concerned about navigating our way around Marrakesh but with so much advice and tips from Aziz we had no problems and felt safe at all times, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip!
The Riad is ideally located for sightseeing, the main square and restaurants - we walked everywhere we needed to go.
The accommodation itself is very traditional and comfortable, all staff that we came across were very pleasant. We'd have no hesitation in recommending Riad Aguerzame to anyone and are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadaguerzame, Gérant at Riad Aguerzame, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for the time we've shared together and happy you plan to come back soon.

All the best


Aziz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having only 36 hours in Marrakech, I was drawn by the reviews that described how helpful and hospitable the staff were, and helping you to quickly find your feet in their wonderfully crazy city.
From the moment of booking, when I was offered help with transfers, The experience was exceptional.

It's a long story, but I ended up at the wrong bus station (because, MOROCCO) and both the staff and the driver worked tirelessly to determine where I was, and ensured I was found and brought safely to the Riad.

When I arrived, I stepped out of the wonderful madness of Marrakech into a calm oasis that immediately made me feel at home. The room (ground floor) was small but wonderfully authentic, immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Laurent (the owner), is both charming and generous, and spent time explaining what I should try and see whilst I was there, and tips on how to navigate the local culture, even walking me to the square to ensure I knew my way back.

The breakfast is HUGE and delicious (served whenever you finally surface), and I even left with a jar of marmalade made from the orange trees in the courtyard.
There's a reason why this place is so high up in the list of places to stay - and it doesn't disappoint on any level.
Go. You'll love it.



Sent from my iPhone

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadaguerzame, Propriétaire at Riad Aguerzame, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Natali,

Trully happy you've appreciated your stay in Aguerzame. It was a great time for us too !!! Hope to see you soon for having more time to enjoy the magical charms of Marrakech !

Warmly

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I can't give enough praise to the staff and in particular Aziz. From the moment we arrived, we we're treated like royalty. Aziz give us some brilliant tips on what to do and more importantly, what to avoid. We wanted to purchase a tea pot similar to the one that they served mint tea in (delicious by the way), so Aziz offered to buy it in the Souks for us and saved us about €40!!

On our last day our flight was disrupted due to the air traffic controller strike in France, but Lauren and Aziz saved the day by organising an airport transfer at the last minute.

The riad itself is great, the orange juice is squeezed from oranges freshly plucked from the trees in the courtyard. There are lots of areas to chill out and have mint tea or orange juice, including a lovely roof terrace overlooking the chaos of Marrackech. As with all Riads in Marrackech, the location can be difficult to get to and is down a few lanes, but Aziz gives great tips and maps to get you home.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though the title of this review might sound corny, Aziz, the manager, and the rest of the staff really did make us feel at home and we were completely relaxed. Aziz, in fact, is one of the most genuinely thoughtful and helpful people I have ever come across and he gave us lots of helpful advice about where to go and about how much we should be paying in the souks.
The meal we had on the first evening,cooked by Laila, was absolutley delicious and the breakfasts she served us were copious and tasty too.
If we reutrn to Marrakesh we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.