We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - wonderful welcome and continual help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices from these 1 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place - wonderful welcome and continual help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely riad, really helpful staff and owners. Wonderful reception and advice. Great mint tea.....you can leave your guide book at home as Aziz/ Laurent will tell you everything you need to know! Azia even went and got our bus tickets. Genuine.

Room Tip: Upper floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
300
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. We stayed in Aguerzame in June for two nights at the start and one night at the end of our trip to Morocco. I did a lot of research before heading over and had been in Marrakesh and further afield once before. This Riad is fantastic.

Aziz and Laurent are supreme hosts, full of useful information about places to eat (and not to eat), haggling, busses, things to see - everything. Aziz also arranged for our Supratour tickets to be delivered to the Riad for our onward journey which was fantastic (saved us a long trip the day before to book and collect them - it cant be booked online).

Aziz walked us to Jam El Fna the first time we headed out (we got a taxi to collect us from the airport which was very simple and hassle free) and gave us very easy and clear instructions to find our way home (anybody familiar with Marrakesh will appreciate how useful this was!). Riad is only 5 mins from the square, when you know the way, and it is very simple when you do.

The Riad itself is amazing. Breakfast in the internal courtyard with clear blue skies above, under the shade of an orange tree. Delicious breakfast I might add. Getting hungry now thinking about it! Especially the home made yogurt.
We were in two different rooms on our stays (I cant remember the names) and they were both lovely with great bathrooms and delicious air con. Never a peep of noise inside the Riad which is amazing given we were there some evenings when the Ramadan feast would begin.

We ate in the Riad the first evening (you need to book it ahead) and the food was superb, chicken tagine. Amazing stuff. Only one restaurant we ate in either time we were in Morocco could match it. Try it!

In summary, beautiful Riad, amazing food, impeccable service, great value, right in the middle of everything, an oasis of peace.

Special thanks to Aziz again for taking care of us. We really appreciate you making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. It was like meeting a long lost friend who was excited to share his knowledge, friendship and his home with us! I hope we make it back to see you again.

Room Tip: We were in two rooms, both excellent. I suspect they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from a fantastic 4 night stay in Riad Aguerzame. From the moment we arrived we were treated like visiting friends and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Laurent, Aziz and their wonderful team. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels over the years but never have we had such friendly and personalised service (Aziz even walked us to the square in the first night to ensure we didn't get lost).

The Riad itself is centrally located less than 10 minutes walk from the main square. It's a beautiful, quiet, relaxing oasis of calm in the middle of the riot of sounds, colours and smells that makes up the Medina in Marrakech. To have somewhere so welcoming and relaxing to retire to after a long day of getting lost in the Medina and haggling in the souks was just perfect. The decor is very tastefully done in an authentic Morrocan rustic style and our room and the entire Riad were spotless.

We ate in the Riad on our first night and both the food and the Moroccan wine were top notch (possibly the best tagine I ever had). During our very detailed overview of the city, Aziz filled us in on what was good to do and see (and what to avoid) as well as where the best cafes and restaurants were. Following this advice, and some additional recommendations from Laurent, we thoroughly enjoyed each and every meal thereafter (we most likely would never have found these places on our own). Breakfast, which was served to our table each morning with a smile, was simple, tasty and plentiful (comprising of various breads, cakes, yoghurt, juice, tea/coffee and fruit) and was a great way to get ourselves setup for a long day of exploring the city.

To sum it up. If you want to truly experience Marrakech as it should be, then dump the big impersonal luxury hotels and head for a Riad. If you are lucky this one will be available!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked the Riad Aguerzame based on its great reviews on trip advisor. I planned the trip as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and had quite a lot of correspondence with Laurent and Aziz from the Riad before arriving. From the outset I was very impressed with the quick response to my emails and everything I asked for did not seem to be a problem, in fact it all appeared too easy and a bit too good to be true. I can now say it definitely wasn't - when we arrived we were met with a warm welcome from Aziz and Aziza and immediately offered something to drink and some breakfast. The breakfast just kept arriving, more food than you could eat and all freshly made - fabulous breakfast every morning (thanks Aziza, Said and Layla). Aziz immediately made us feel like part of the family and gave us a very comprehensive insight into life in Marrakech and handy tips to plan our time during our stay. We then met Laurent who proceeded to call me into the kitchen of the Riad and had bought my husband 50 roses which he had bought for me to give to my husband as a birthday gift. My husband was completely blown away by this (though does now know that Laurent bought them and not me!!!)

We were then shown to our room which was Superior Room 1. The room was spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated including the bed being decorated with a heart of rose petals and a happy birthday message in the middle also in rose petals. I could not have wished for a better welcome especially as I had organised the trip as a surprise. During our stay we were completely overwhelmed by the kindness, consideration and help given by all the staff at the Riad.

The Riad is only about 10 mins from the main square, though to be honest you could be miles away as it is so quiet and tranquil. We stayed 5 nights and each day we consulted Laurent or Aziz on the best things to do and see in order to make the most of our time. They organised a trip into the Atlas Mountains for us which included a personal guide and lunch with a Berber family, it was definitely the highlight of the trip and a must do!!!

We ate the first night in the Riad which again was first class and included a home made birthday cake for my husband and a bottle of champagne all courtesy of Laurent/Aziz. I would advise eating in the Riad the first night until you are confident of where to go and it also gives you the opportunity to ask more questions and plan your stay. We also ate out at Peppenero and Comptoir Darna, both recommended by Laurent and Aziz. We loved both restaurants but think Comptoir Darna had the edge as there is entertainment and my husband was completely mesmerised by the belly dancers!!! Tip for non smokers - sit inside at Peppeneros and sit at tables situated in the middle in Comptoir Darna or your meal could be ruined by someone who is trying to break the chain smoking record!.

We had a Hamman massage at a sister Riad on the last day (thank you Bernard) to relax before our trip back, I would say this was an experience and another must do though be prepared to be scrubbed within an inch of your life, though the massage makes up for it afterwards!!.

This is a fabulous find and we would certainly highly recommend this Riad to anyone. The main thing that this Riad has over anywhere else we have ever stayed in the World is the personal touch which is way beyond anything you would expect. Thank you Laurent, Aziz, Said, Aziza and Layla for a fantastic time and letting us share your lovely home. We hope to return to Marrakech one day and will most definitely return to the Riad Aguerzame.

Just a little note to Laurent - John will miss his daily "Happy Birthday John" xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I would ask for a room upstairs if there is one available. Superior Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this Riad for 2 nights whilst in Marrakech and absolutely loved it. We had been in Marrakech a few days earlier and stayed in a different Riad for 2 days and the Aguerzame really stood out as the best.

The staff at the Riad really went above and beyond to give us advice about our stay in Marrakech, recommending restaurants, shops, giving advice about how to deal with pushy salesman, how much to pay for things, and lots of useful information about getting around. They even walked us to the main square to make sure we knew the best route. We really wished our last Riad had done this as it was further away and we got really lost and had to pay some 'guides' to show us the way who were very pushy!

The Aguerzame was lovely and very clean and well decorated and the location was really convenient and easy to find. The rooms were a good size and everything worked perfectly. Above all though it really was the service that stood out. The staff were all so friendly.
Plus breakfast was always delicious!

Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

Tip: In both Riads we stayed in there has been no way of locking the room. Although this wasn't a problem for us and the staff are always around - if this is an issue for you maybe take a padlock for your suitcase if you want a bit of extra security.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival at the Riad late in the evening we were met by our host Christian (Laurent and Aziz were away on their own holiday!). Christian showed us around the beautiful Riad and we sat and chatted over a few cups of mint tea.

The Riad is in an excellent location, 5mins walk from Jemaa El Fna square. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and decorated in tradiational morrocan fashion. There is also a lovely roof terrace to chill out and soak up the sun away from the hectic streets and alleys.

Said, Leyla and the other staff were always on hand with a big smile and were extremely accommodating. They arranged and collected bus tickets for our trip to Agadir and on our third night served up a lovely tradiational meal for us to enjoy in the courtyard.

All in all this was a great experience, made all the more unforgettable by the staff and surroundings. If we ever return to Marrakech we will certainly be staying here!!

P.s - Be sure to have a meal at pepeneros just around the corner.

Andy (Sept '14)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Riad Aguerzame whilst exploring Marrakech and it was a great choice. The reviews on TripAdvisor don't lie; we came to this Riad based on TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed.
The Riad is in a great location - 10 minutes walk from the main square in Marrakech. It's in a safe area and very easy to get to. The Riad itself is very tastefully decorated with a nice area to relax with a homely feel. The room was great - we had the downstairs room next to the courtyard which was a little on the small side but this was no issue whatsoever. The food at the Riad is great; breakfast is a feast and the dinner if you choose to have it is very good as well. Another bonus is the complimentary tea, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and water in the Riad at all times during the day.
But by far and beyond the best thing this Riad offers is service. Aziz is the most amazing host you could ask for. He's extremely welcoming, and helpful. From making us feel welcome when we arrived, to taking us to the square the first evening at 11pm after dinner to ensure we didn't get lost, to explaining how to work the streets of the Medina without getting hassled, to great tips on dinner outside the Riad, to buying our bus tickets for our travel to Agadir after our time in Marrakech was over... The service is top-quality - much higher than anything we experienced anywhere else in Morocco. Nothing is too much trouble for Aziz and that is what sets this place apart from the rest.
Lastly we'd also highly recommend the excursion to the Berber village (€50 pp) that Aziz will offer to organise. You can tailor this trip exactly how you want (we went for a hike up in the Atlas Mountains) and you get a real sense of the true Berber lifestyle - well-worth the money!
Very highly recommended!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.