We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms, nice owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms, nice owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent a couple of nights there during the second week of January.
The riad is nicely located, about 5 minutes walk from Jameea al fina
but in a relatively quiet side street so that it is rather quiet at night.
The room (in the upper level) was very nice, spacious, comfortable bed, nicely decorated. Everything said in the other reviews about the staff (in our case, Laurent was there during our visit) is true - he put us in contact with a good travel agency (noble tour), showed us around the city, gave us tips on the city and driving in Morocco, etc.

We arranged for transport to the Riad with them - if this is your first time to Marrakesh, do it, it is well worth the 20 Euros. The way back was with a petit taxi that Laurent also arranged, much cheaper but less reliable (as Laurent predicted...).

Room Tip: Upper level seems nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
291
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Can't recommend this highly enough. We stayed here for a long week to celebrate my partner's birthday and we were very well looked after. The Riad is lovely - an authentic Moroccan experience which is exactly what we were after, not a colourless corporate hotel. Laurent and Aziz looked after us really well, from meeting us at the airport, taking the time to help us get our bearings and advising on the best places to see. Nothing was too much trouble. Plus the endless cups of tea, wonderful food and the surprise birthday cake they prepared.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The level of service and care provided by Laurent, Aziz, and the rest of the staff if out of the ordinary. Completely off the charts. Certainly I have never seen anything like it. Genuine, always with a smile, and with a healthy dose of humor.

It all starts when you arrive. You are given an “orientation course” to Marrakech, then you are accompanied out to Medina. Aziz points out orientation landmarks so that you can easily find your way back. Whenever you come back, Aziz or Laurent (or both) are always there, offer you a nice cup of mint tea, inquire about your day, give you advice and suggestions…

Frankly, the phrase “Consider this to be your home” is overused in hotel industry and often means nothing, but here, here it really means what it says. You feel like in your own home.

The Riad is relatively small (only 4 rooms). It is clean and has a beautiful patio. The rooms are spacious, and there is enough space for the luggage and clothes. The bathroom has everything you need, and it is comfortable. There is an electric heater in the room, and a gas one in the patio, but they are rarely needed (I visited in January). There is WiFi in the patio, with internet connection fast enough for Skype.

It is very quite and peaceful at the Riad. Only the loudest of motorcycles can occasionally be heard in the distance, or only if someone is shouting loud right outside the front door. One nice touch which I haven’t seen mentioned before: They have a very good quality music system in the patio, playing a selection of local, French and international music. It adds nicely to the atmosphere.

I was travelling alone, and was fortunate enough to meet a very nice British couple at the Riad. We had the dinner together there on the first night, and ended up doing some activities together in the following days.

I can recommend dining at the Riad at least once. We had a very good chicken Tajine with excellent Moroccan wine. Huge portions – couldn’t finish it all. A person from our group had his birthday coming up – they learned about this and baked a special birthday cake for him.

I asked for a recommendation of an activity outside Marrakech (let’s face it: The city is quite intense and after 2 days you need a break), and Aziz suggested a walking tour of Berber villages near Amizmiz. I was afraid it would be too touristy and staged, but it was just the opposite! We were invited to the house of a Berber family for tea, saw how they make olive oil using traditional methods, visited a market, a bakery, and so much more! The tour included a lunch in the open air. Tajine with meatballs – excellent.

In short, I had a very good time in Marrakech, and it’s largely thanks to the Riad. I can totally recommend it.

Room Tip: I have a slight preference for the rooms upstairs. Especially the one nearest the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

From the first moment of contact with Laurent and Aziz to the moment we left Riad Aguerzame, we felt welcome. Every little detail was tended to. as Laurent explained to us when we arrived, this is not a hotel. It's a guesthouse. and the two were the perfect hosts. We were given recommendations for restaurants, excursions and sites that all paid off. We were given a short "history" lesson that allowed us to walk around the city with a context, and not just wander around. all was done with a smile, a wink and good intentions. Plus, the location is perfect! We would highly recommend anyone coming to Marrakech to book the Riad.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but they all face the courtyard and the beautiful Orange trees gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It is the best Riad we've been, it is very clean, quiet, good decorated.
The rooms are enough big and very comfortable.
The best of the Riad is the service, Aziz explained us everything we had to know about the city, also how to deal with the prices! He gave us a map and other information about the places to visit.
The food was also excellent, we thought it was quite expensive but we took it for the first night because we were arriving late, but it then we thought it is worth it! It was delicious! And we decided to have dinner there another day as well.
Breakfast was also very good, quantitative and qualitative.
We will recommend it to all our friends if they visit Marrakesh for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Aziz and his staff took excellent care of us from the moment we arrived (Laurent, the owner was on holidays). Aziz gave us a great introduction to Marrakech - What to see, in dialogue with us, and how to get there. This personal attention to us and the other guests was typical for our stay.
Another example is how he suggested restaurants and made reservations for us.
We really felt like valued guests.
This is a very nice place to stay that is very close to Jemaa el Fna. We recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was unable to travel to Marrakesh due to health issues. The owners were very understanding and did not charge me the remainder due since I couldn't make it. I will book here again when I am able to travel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.