We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Zurich
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“What a jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My family rented the entire Riad for 3 days. Hence, not only could we benefit from the much applauded services of the hosts, Laurent, Aziz, Aziza and Leila (best Moroccan cook ever), but also enjoyed the tranquility of the place. There are many good Riads in Marrakech, but this one goes the extra mile to serve customers every day. Also, it is located more centrally than others... and very clean and tidy. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
296
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thanks to the numerous positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a 6 night stay in Riad Aguerzame. It was a family reunion for us, as we met in Marrakech for the Rallye du Maroc Historique's Finish Line on 5/18/13. We had a total of 10 family members at one point and we pretty much "owned" the Riad for 4 nights. The rooms were cozy, clean and comfortable. Service was impeccable. We were warmly greeted by Serge, Stephane and Aziz, a trio that made our stay memorable and very enjoyable.

Aziz was truly an amazing "Concierge" - very knowledgeable, pleasant and handsome young man whose main concern is the comfort and the well being of the Riad's guests. He went out of his way to provide the best service ever, from preparing and serving our first glass of mint tea, reconfirming our tour reservations, mailing our postcards, lighting up our shisha and even packing our precious Moroccan plates & bowls in bubble wrap! He was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. And even shared with me the step by step process of making that delicious Mint Tea! He is truly an asset for Riad Aguerzame!

On the recommendation of the other TA reviewers, we booked a Dinner at the Riad. The Sardine Tagine was outstanding! We had a salad of tomatoes, potatoes and green peppers and a delicious cassata cake for dessert. We chose a good Morrocan White Wine to compliment our Dinner Entree. Leila truly is a great chef and Aziza completes the staff - a quiet, gentle wonderful woman who was there to make everything spotless each day.

The Riad arranged for our airport transfers as well as our car service to a dinner function in the Bab Atlas Area - very efficient and reliable. Aziz made it all happen!

Just as written in all the reviews, we were given a brief introduction to the area and was accompanied to our first walk to the square. It was very helpful and landmarks were given to make sure we get back "home." There were 2 restaurants that we frequented very close to the Riad - Un Dejeuner a Marrakech & La Porte du Monde. These were across from each other.

Although I give real high marks for this Riad Experience, there are a few set backs, such as really slow drain in the shower area in all bathrooms. A pool of water collects as you shower and takes a while before it subsides. Beds are comfortable but on the firm side, and a few more pillows would be ideal. Breakfast was good with fresh fruits, assorted cakes and pastries, but after 6 days of pretty much the same thing, I was ready for my scrambled eggs/omelets, sausage, hash browns and cereal.

On a positive note - I asked if there were safety deposit boxes in the rooms or the office and I was surprised when the answer was "NO" Both Serge and Stephane assured me that the Riad was very safe and that doors did not need any locks....very different from hotels in the US, Europe and Asia - but indeed it was SAFE! Yes this is MY HOME in Marrakech and I would not hesitate to invite others to make it their home as well.

Thank you Riad Aguerzame for making our stay an Experience to Remember. My only regret is not having the chance to meet Laurent - maybe next time?

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at Riad Aguerzame in Marrakech for a total of 6 nights and 7 days this May 2013. We were happy we decided to stay in a Riad rather than a hotel because it gave us a better feel of the Moroccan way of life. The rooms were all Moroccan in design and very clean and smelled very good. The staff were the best -- Aziz, Aziza and Leila --- all made us feel at home. They were very attentive to our needs and very helpful. Aziz would patiently give us directions around the medina and always managed to accommodate most of our requests. Their managers, Stephane and Serge, were likewise very courteous and fun to be with. Leilia, the cook, also came up with a sardine tagine to die for. It was a dish we all enjoyed.

The Riad was generally okay except for the following: 1) bathrooms were quite small, 2) drainage wasn't so good in the showers, 3) towels were old and too thin, 4) thrash cans in the bathrooms were too small and there were none in the rooms, 5) bedroom doors did not have locks but we felt very secure even without them and we did not lose anything during our stay, and 6) lack electrical outlets in the rooms.

The good things about the Riad are: 1) breakfast was plentiful and good especially the yogurt, 2) staff were very courteous, helpful and super nice and friendly, 3) all day shish, 4) nice rooftop terrace, 4) good location - walking distance from the souks, square, and major sites, 5) riad had an authentic Moroccan design, 6) hot water was very strong and plentiful in the bathrooms, and 7) its surrounding areas are quiet and safe.

I would recommend my friends and relatives to stay at Riad Aguerzame because of its excellent service and its authentic Moroccan feel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Look no further if you want a truly amazing traditional place to stay! My three friends and I stayed here in early May for 4 nights to celebrate our special birthdays. This riad is really an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. A wonderful relaxing atmosphere overcomes you once you step inside the courtyard with orange trees. Aziz and the staff treated us like royalty! Nothing was too much trouble, they tended to our every need with a smile and we felt truly at home. We enjoyed a lovely meal cooked by Leila on our first night as we were too tired to venture out then spent the evening sipping wine on the rooftop terrace. The next day Aziz walked us through the narrow streets to the main square, pointing out the landmarks so we didn't get lost, he also gave us lots of help and advice throughout our stay. We booked airport transfers and a trip to the Atlas mountains through the riad and they were excellent. Our recommendation: book a room at this riad - don't bother looking elsewhere, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs you get a view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our one night in this beautiful Riad.The roof garden was an excellent place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the medina.The breakfast was a lavish banquet.Aziz was always on hand with useful information and advice.I recommend that you let them arrange your transfer from the airport or station.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I stayed here at the end of April. We chose the Riad Aguerzame after reading other Tripadvisor reviews. We wanted somewhere that was a friendly, relaxed place to go where you would receive help and support in finding your way round Marrakech. This was really important never having been to Marrakech before. This Riad lived up to our expectations and more. Aziz could not have been more helpful. All his recommendations and advice were perfect. We came and went from the Riad as we wanted - with our own front door key. There was always a friendly face there to make you mint tea or find a cold beer (for my son, of course!) or just over the day. The breakfasts were always extremely generous with freshly baked breads and pancakes, fresh fruit and delicious yoghurt. Nothing was ever too much trouble but also you were left to relax on the terrace as though it was your own. It felt like a true home. A big thank you to everyone at the Riad for their kindness and hospitality... and providing an oasis of calm in the hectic city that is Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this friendly Riad near the Medina. The location is perfect, the host and staff do everything to make you feel welcome and at home.

Our room was small but clean and tastefully furnished. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good.
The owner is very knowledgable and will give you lots and lots of tips, advice and useful information.

We enjoyed having a drink on the roof garden with a view over Marrakech, listening to the Muezzin calling for prayer and watching the beautiful sunset.

After having had an excellent 3 -course dinner cooked by Leila on our first evening in the Riad, we decided to eat there every evening for the rest of our stay. For € 25 per person we had a delicious and freshly cooked meal and unlimited wine/beer/water/mint tea. Highly recommendable, especially if you are tired and don't feel like venturing out again searching for a restaurant.

Breakfast is typically Moroccan with freshly pressed orange juice, coffee and lots of sweet things like crēpes, pain au chocolat and cakes. You share the table with other guests.

No TV and the WiFi in the room is weak and unreliable.

We can really recommend the Riad Aguerzame and would stay there again immediately!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.