We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Derbyshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights and cannot recommend highly enough. They arranged our transfer from the airport, we were met at the end of the street by Aziz who took our cases, then welcomed by Lauren with a drink and talk about Marrakech, including providing a map and detailed explanation of how to get to the medina and back. Aziz then showed us to the main square (medina) to allow us to explore.

We ordered a meal at the road on our first night. Good value at 25 euros for three courses and lots of lovely Morrocan rose wine! The courgette soup & sardine tagine were both lovely. Breakfast every day was also a feast of various different breads, fruit, yoghurt, marmalade (made from the oranges growing in the riad courtyard), fresh orange juice & good coffee.

The rooms are all lovely. We had the upstairs room with the four poster bed, it couldn't look more typically Morrocan!!! Very comfortable bed and great shower.

Also a great location. Less than 10 min walk to the main square but also very quiet once inside.

Laurent & the rest of his team were extremely helpful and friendly throughout the stay. I honestly cannot think of any negatives and will definitely go back if we ever go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
111
278
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had booked the whole Riad as a group of friends. The welcome that we had from Aziz, Laurent and the rest of the hosts was lovely and we felt at home straight away. We had arranged a transfer from the airport and this worked perfectly with the driver ready to collect us from our flight. We also had a meal at the Riad on the first evening and I can fully recommend the sardine tagine that was prepared for us....possibly the nicest tagine that I had in my time in Morocco.

Aziz was always there to answer our questions and provide us with refreshments and he always did his best to ensure that we had all that we needed. The courtyard was a great place to kick back and relax and the breakfasts were more than ample with fresh orange juice and delicious marmalade!

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad as a place to stay if you are coming to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is great. The hospitality of the owners is welcoming. Personally, I felt somewhat insecure sleeping on the ground floor of the common area. I realize this may be a cultural difference, but next time I will stay in a different 'style' lodging. The windows of the rooms are not capable of fully closing and this made me nervous. On a different note, take Laurent's suggestion to travel to the Atlas Mountains.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. The hospitality shown is first class, Aziz was the first host and nothing has been too much trouble. Both he and Laurent anticipate our every need..
The dinner Layla has cooked for us was superb, the rooms are generous and the Riad has a homely feel and makes for a welcome respite from the busy streets of Marrakesh.
Well situated, close to the square there is much within very easy walking distance and a number of very good food options, particularly Un dejeunere a Marrakesh that has received our custom most days of our stay.
You will be well received upon arrival and given a good orientation of the area, Aziz walked us to the square taking special care to point out best ways to return. Little extras like tea, coffee, juice and water are offered with compliments which is most courteous and welcome.
We are very happy to have chosen this Riad as our place to stay in Marrakesh.
Michelle and Geoff Achison. (Australia)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend, friend and I spent 1 nights at Riad Aguerzame after spending a week touring Morocco with a larger group. It was the perfect way to decompress and relax. We spent the day lounging in the courtyard, drinking mint tea and fanning ourselves in the heat. The rooms are great, the Riad is super quiet and the staff was very accommodating, especially to help my friend when she got sick. It was truly a quiet paradise, and I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough of this place. Nothing was too much trouble for Aziz or Laurent. Beautiful rooms and the worlds most comfortable bed. Perfect retreat from the madness of Marrakech. Had transfers and a welcome dinner as part of out package. Sardine tagine which was one of the best meals we ate whilst in Marrakech. Thank you all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great 2 nights at this lovely Riad. It is close to the main square and the souk and easy to get to the Palaces and the Saadian tombs. Laurent was very welcoming with added finesse like walking us into the centre of town so that we could be confident of the route. The food was quite superb - in fact we ate there both nights because the food was so good on the first night ( and the free wine was very drinkable!). Breakfast was also excellent with tasty variations on rolls/pancakes/croissants/cinnamon bread and yummy strawberries, freshly squeezed orange juice and yoghurt. The team here works hard to maintain its deserved position as a top small Riad in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.