We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Bertrange
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very happy stay at the Riad Aguerzame. Laurent and his team make you feel very welcome. The food - breakfast and evening meals - were excellent as too the Riad itself (rooms, courtyard, location in the Medina). Laurent has a fantastic insider's knowledge of Marrakesh and will happily advise on restaurants, shops, prices-to-pay, etc that - as a short stay tourist - you would otherwise be simply unaware of. Virtually no request seems too much - he even escorted us to a "secret tailor store" on the way to the airport so my wife could get a last minute fitting for a leather jacket. Oh, and if you do have an evening meal in the Riad, don't forget to ask Laurent to chanter le blues!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
296
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great little Riad in the mayhem that is Marrakech. Only 4 rooms so really personal service with lots of information and help finding your way around. Breakfast to die for, and pretty courtyard and roof terrace to catch the sun and sip mint tea. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Riad for four nights and were very impressed with our room (we were upgraded at no extra cost) as well as the peaceful courtyard where we were able to sit and drink mint tea amongst the orange trees. Staff were great - Aziz in particular was very helpful, even walking us to a restaurant we'd booked one night as we were worried about getting lost! Good location too - just a five minute walk from the main square - and impressive food, one of the best tagines we had during our stay was here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey/Hants border
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Riad as it was well recommended on tripadvisor, we were very happy with our choice. Right from the moment we stepped off the plane and had a taxi waiting for us the trip was special. He took us to the Riad where the wonderful Aziz was waiting to greet us. We were provided with a lovely glass of mint tea while he showed us the map and recommended things to do. He then walked us to the main square which was great as we were then able to get about without getting lost. Unfortunately during my visit I was unwell with a heavy cold, so did not get to get out and explore as much as we would have liked... Luckily just relaxing on the roof terrace was possible and provided me with some much needed rest and recovery time. It also means I have a great excuse to come back! Sadly Laurent was in France on holiday so we did not meet: he carries my family name which is pretty unusual, hopefully I will cross paths with him next time we visit.
The team at the Riad could not of made us feel more welcome or less looked after. Breakfast was yummy as was the meal they cooked for us on the first night. Best tagine I had during my visit by far!
As they had no reservation for our room for a couple of days, they were kind enough to let us use the room while we waited for our evening flight on our last day. A little gesture of kindness that made all the difference especially as I was still feeling rather under the weather.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone. Yes the streets of Marrkech outside its doors are hectic, crazy and downright scary at times, but the Riad by contrast is the absolute opposite. Calm, relaxed and safe. The advice we were given by Aziz and the directions, allowed us to dip in and out of the madness outside and make the most of our three night trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Probably the best thing about the beautiful Riad Aguerzame is the exceptional service. Laurent sat as down and gave us a thorough lesson in Marrakesh, from what to pay for a taxi, how to haggle in the souk, to how to avaoid Marrekesh belly! This information was completely invaluable during our stay.

On our first night, we had a meal at the Riad. It was such a lovely home cooked dinner, Leyla is such an amazing cook. It was our best meal in Marrekesh by far and a good price, so I would highly recommend it.

Laurent arranged a walk in the Atlas mountains for us. It was a welcome break from hectic Marrekesh and it was really interesting to see the countryside and how the locals live.

We had a wonderful trip and and would recommend Riad Aguerzame to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during January. Laurent was on holiday in France, but we had........ Aziz...... 'THE' most helpful, attentive man ever....... He was running the show whilst Laurent was away. And boy, he kept that place running sweet!!!! We will definitely be coming back next year, and spending a bit more time too. The roof terrace was kitted out with sun loungers, a huge six seater table, as well as a 'chill out' zone (the Morrocans probably have a word for it, but my vocab' doesn't). The breakfast isn't full english!!!! However it's very filling, with various pastries, and toasted produce, as well as oranges, and natural yogurt.... it kept the misses pleased. Just five minutes from the main square, Aziz will lead you there on your first journey so you don't get lost. Just beware on future journeys, the con artists may tell you the main path is closed due to the Mosque!!!!!! Ignore them, the path is never closed, as this this is there attempt to guide you through a back street, in return for a tip!!! Pepe Nero is just around the corner too. A great place to eat, as well as Un Dejeuner a Marrakech, which is on the way to the main square next to the 'big palm tree'.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POITIERS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I don't want to say the same as everyone else - that's all true. Nothing is too much trouble for a great team.They go above and beyond what is required.
If you stay here you will not be disappointed - i'm very hard to please and the only thing i can say is 'towels'......i like mine fluffy and thick.....they were a bit cheap and thin.This is offered only as a way to turn excellence into perfection !
Other points to note should you be arriving as we did as 5 star chain hotel veterans.....this is a family home.Don't see the great reviews and high trip advisor rating and think this will be a top class boutque hotel.Service and some of the food served WAS top class but this is a house in the medina of Marrakech.It's quite noisy,not for the nervous first time traveller,certainly not for the infirm.The trip to the main Souks is sometimes like running the gauntlet-if the bikes/scooters don't get you the fumes will.
Are we converted to Riads? Probably not,i think i'll stick with my pool,hotel bar and taxi into the 'madness' but it's certainly something i'd recommend to MOST of my friends and family.
Second small annoyance....wanting to use the roof terrace and the loungers being used by the owners children.....if it was my riad i'd probably be making sure guests came first.Minor annoyance but yes if you stay in a family home i suppose you should expect it.
We had a great break - tried to buy 5 things and failed miserably - came away with tourist tat. Last time i was here they used to double the price and barter,they now multiply by 50 .
Food at the riad 1000 times better than anything else we ate in 4 days though we didn't travel out of the medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.