We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for four nights and were very impressed with our room (we were upgraded at no extra cost) as well as the peaceful courtyard where we were able to sit and drink mint tea amongst the orange trees. Staff were great - Aziz in particular was very helpful, even walking us to a restaurant we'd booked one night as we were worried about getting lost! Good location too - just a five minute walk from the main square - and impressive food, one of the best tagines we had during our stay was here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraanthony99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Surrey/Hants border
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Riad as it was well recommended on tripadvisor, we were very happy with our choice. Right from the moment we stepped off the plane and had a taxi waiting for us the trip was special. He took us to the Riad where the wonderful Aziz was waiting to greet us. We were provided with a lovely glass of mint tea while he showed us the map and recommended things to do. He then walked us to the main square which was great as we were then able to get about without getting lost. Unfortunately during my visit I was unwell with a heavy cold, so did not get to get out and explore as much as we would have liked... Luckily just relaxing on the roof terrace was possible and provided me with some much needed rest and recovery time. It also means I have a great excuse to come back! Sadly Laurent was in France on holiday so we did not meet: he carries my family name which is pretty unusual, hopefully I will cross paths with him next time we visit.
The team at the Riad could not of made us feel more welcome or less looked after. Breakfast was yummy as was the meal they cooked for us on the first night. Best tagine I had during my visit by far!
As they had no reservation for our room for a couple of days, they were kind enough to let us use the room while we waited for our evening flight on our last day. A little gesture of kindness that made all the difference especially as I was still feeling rather under the weather.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone. Yes the streets of Marrkech outside its doors are hectic, crazy and downright scary at times, but the Riad by contrast is the absolute opposite. Calm, relaxed and safe. The advice we were given by Aziz and the directions, allowed us to dip in and out of the madness outside and make the most of our three night trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Probably the best thing about the beautiful Riad Aguerzame is the exceptional service. Laurent sat as down and gave us a thorough lesson in Marrakesh, from what to pay for a taxi, how to haggle in the souk, to how to avaoid Marrekesh belly! This information was completely invaluable during our stay.

On our first night, we had a meal at the Riad. It was such a lovely home cooked dinner, Leyla is such an amazing cook. It was our best meal in Marrekesh by far and a good price, so I would highly recommend it.

Laurent arranged a walk in the Atlas mountains for us. It was a welcome break from hectic Marrekesh and it was really interesting to see the countryside and how the locals live.

We had a wonderful trip and and would recommend Riad Aguerzame to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ninawelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during January. Laurent was on holiday in France, but we had........ Aziz...... 'THE' most helpful, attentive man ever....... He was running the show whilst Laurent was away. And boy, he kept that place running sweet!!!! We will definitely be coming back next year, and spending a bit more time too. The roof terrace was kitted out with sun loungers, a huge six seater table, as well as a 'chill out' zone (the Morrocans probably have a word for it, but my vocab' doesn't). The breakfast isn't full english!!!! However it's very filling, with various pastries, and toasted produce, as well as oranges, and natural yogurt.... it kept the misses pleased. Just five minutes from the main square, Aziz will lead you there on your first journey so you don't get lost. Just beware on future journeys, the con artists may tell you the main path is closed due to the Mosque!!!!!! Ignore them, the path is never closed, as this this is there attempt to guide you through a back street, in return for a tip!!! Pepe Nero is just around the corner too. A great place to eat, as well as Un Dejeuner a Marrakech, which is on the way to the main square next to the 'big palm tree'.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POITIERS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I don't want to say the same as everyone else - that's all true. Nothing is too much trouble for a great team.They go above and beyond what is required.
If you stay here you will not be disappointed - i'm very hard to please and the only thing i can say is 'towels'......i like mine fluffy and thick.....they were a bit cheap and thin.This is offered only as a way to turn excellence into perfection !
Other points to note should you be arriving as we did as 5 star chain hotel veterans.....this is a family home.Don't see the great reviews and high trip advisor rating and think this will be a top class boutque hotel.Service and some of the food served WAS top class but this is a house in the medina of Marrakech.It's quite noisy,not for the nervous first time traveller,certainly not for the infirm.The trip to the main Souks is sometimes like running the gauntlet-if the bikes/scooters don't get you the fumes will.
Are we converted to Riads? Probably not,i think i'll stick with my pool,hotel bar and taxi into the 'madness' but it's certainly something i'd recommend to MOST of my friends and family.
Second small annoyance....wanting to use the roof terrace and the loungers being used by the owners children.....if it was my riad i'd probably be making sure guests came first.Minor annoyance but yes if you stay in a family home i suppose you should expect it.
We had a great break - tried to buy 5 things and failed miserably - came away with tourist tat. Last time i was here they used to double the price and barter,they now multiply by 50 .
Food at the riad 1000 times better than anything else we ate in 4 days though we didn't travel out of the medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SONOFDRAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family of six at Riad Ageurzame for a week at the end of December 2012 - over Christmas. It is a very beautiful traditional Riad - very good value, beautiful atmosphere and experience for the tariff we paid. There are ofcourse many Riads in Marrakech in the medina - several that are perhaps even more beautiful. But the warmth, attention and responsiveness of the staff Aziz, Lalya and Aziza, the services and facilities offered and above all the personalized care and attention that Laurent offers in his Riad makes this place a home, during your stay. The atmosphere is intimate during the day and even more during the evenings and at night.

The location of the Riad is excellent - as it not too close and yet not too far from the souks and Jemma-el-fna. The four rooms that we occupied are excellent and warm in the December cold - large, clean, good showers with warm water, plenty of sunlight during the day and heaters at night. Laurent and his staff are very flexible and open - giving you the space to make yourself very comfortable at the Riad - you can use the kitchen to make your coffee/tea if you are an early riser. They also have a washing machine. There is also plenty of space to hang-out at the Riad including the courtyard, the terrace and a salon.

Riad Aguerzame is a very good option for a large family. You can have your meals at the Riad as they have a very good cook - we had one or two very good dinners - but the options to eat out are so many that it is not necessary to eat at the Riad. Breakfast is good with a traditional Moroccan breakfast - fresh bread and home-made jams, pancakes, eggs etc - although for some of us, it was too much of a sweet breakfast to have everyday of the week. It will be useful to request the staff for options as they are very responsive.

The Riad is able to offer many excellent services on request and by sharing information with guests - massages, day-trips, directions, maps, books, taxi services for short and long distances, excellent tips for shopping etc.

Room Tip: all the three rooms on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard are very good. Air conditioning is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weboflifeDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stay here. Authentic Riad experience, 5 minute walk to main bazaar but down a quiet street, very helpful staff and clean rooms. Can't go wrong and the price is reasonable. Wish it had been warmer so we could have enjoyed the roof top terrace. Get a massage from Wafa while you're there - great price and she does an excellent job. MAKE SURE YOU COORDINATE TAXI TRANSFER prior to arrival. We arrived expecting our cell phones to be able to roam on the local network (just as all over Europe) but they didn't and so we had to find a taxi ourselves. Agreed upon price was 100 dh (10 euros) but taxi driver tried to charge 300 dh upon arrival. Rather heated discussion between Aziz from the Riad and our driver. This is classic Morocco so be prepared but don't let it bother you, Marrakech is so interesting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing