We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staying in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

381 people have already explained why this riad is such a gem so I am not going to repeat what has already been said other than to confirm that Laurent and Aziz treat each guest as though they are special, and do indeed take very good care of you.

However there is a danger for them that guests have unreal expectations. So let me offer a couple of reality checks.

To state the obvious: it is a riad and it is in the Medina (the old town built around narrow alley ways. Cars and taxis are sensibly banned. Sadly donkey carts, bicycles, mopeds, motorised scooters, and motor bikes are not. The last three of these are a menace: they all drive far too fast, weave in and out of the slower moving traffic, and generally treat this narrow conduits as though they are a race track. On a proper race track there are often heaps of tyres to create a sort landing in case of an accident. Here YOU are the soft landing. Are there accidents? Oh yes. Just make sure that you keep your wits about you as you walk, keep to the side, and do not step out without checking that the way is clear.

We were lucky enough to be staying in a very generously sized suite upstairs. A warning: take the stairs carefully - there are a couple slightly steeper steps on the first bend.

Room Tip: It is popular so book early and stay for several nights to get the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
305
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in Marrakech. Found this Riad on trip advisor, weren't disappointed! Lovely people, lovely place to stay and brilliant location. We were there for a long time so made a lot of use if the roof terrace and communal areas. Would fully recommend staying here. A big thanks to Laurent and Aziz for making it special :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I would like to thank Laurent and Aziz for their wonderful reception, help and generous hospitality during our stay in Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautiful and felt like a wonderful haven of tranquillity from the hustle and bustle of the City outside. On arrival, we were offered a welcome drink in the beautiful courtyard and Laurent gave us a very helpful explanation and guide to the City with lots of useful advice on what to do and where to go. Aziz then accompanied us on our first walk into the main square and even negotiated a good rate for us on a horse drawn caleche to the Majorelle Gardens (gorgeous and a "must see" destination on any trip to Marrakech). I had asked Laurent to book a restaurant for our first night as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Laurent not only did this, but also arranged a beautiful bouquet of 25 red roses for our room and rose petals shaped in a heart on the bed. All beautifully done and much appreciated. Laurent also accompanied us to our chosen restaurant on our second night in the City, so we could not have felt better looked after anywhere in Marrakech! Thank you Laurent and Aziz for a truly memorable stay at Riad Aguerzame.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is such a good Riad for first times like us to enter into the mad world of Marraketch - fantastic welcoming, orientation and ongoing support is offered by Laurent the owner and all the staff - thank you Aziz. Although in the old city, it's neither too noisy or too far to get around. . . The Riad itself is lovely example of the courtyard space and the rooms are cosy. Laurent does make you feel at home and creates a safe and very friendly atmosphere. Thank You x

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend in Marrakech. We took our three year old and so having an oasis in the general noise of this amazing city was really appreciated. What made it great? Firstly having someone waiting at the airport just for you and taking you directly to the Riad was fantastic. Then both Laurent and Aziz always ready to help and smile and be friendly - it is the friendliness of all the staff at this Riad that makes the difference. Hints and tips that ensure you make the most of Marrakech and a great meal waiting for you on arrival. If you ask our son he'd say it was Aziz and the straws, hot chocolate, the little birds flying around at breakfast in the courtyard and Laurent's impeccable taste in Tintin books. For us, the atmosphere in the Riad, a great breakfast included, bottled water in the room all the time, the location and being made to feel welcome. Thank you all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this Riad in Marrakech. From Laurent's helpful recommendations of local attractions, an amazing traditional hammam and restaurants; to Aziz for always being there anytime of the day to lend a helpful hand. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the sunbed in the Riad's courtyard and having a bottle of rosé and a shisha at the end of a busy touristy day. We had a nicely decorated, clean room on the bottom floor which included breakfast, bottled water, clean sheets and towels everyday. We will be recommending this Riad to all of our friends and family when they go to Morocco.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying on the upper level, even though we did enjoy the courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time Marocco, last minute flight. So I contacted and arranged the 7 nights with Laurent(found him and Aguerzame here on tripadvisor):pick up in the night from the airport, 1. night in another Riad, than 5 nights at Aguerzame, last night in another Riad and the taxi back to the airport.Will never forget this wonderful time and will spend there more holidays.Good Breakfast together with the other guests, warm welcome and stay there.Great relaxing place from the Marrakesh-action.Nothing to complain

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.