We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Haven in a Wonderful Crazy City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Official Site
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Safe Haven in a Wonderful Crazy City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is such a good Riad for first times like us to enter into the mad world of Marraketch - fantastic welcoming, orientation and ongoing support is offered by Laurent the owner and all the staff - thank you Aziz. Although in the old city, it's neither too noisy or too far to get around. . . The Riad itself is lovely example of the courtyard space and the rooms are cosy. Laurent does make you feel at home and creates a safe and very friendly atmosphere. Thank You x

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
261
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend in Marrakech. We took our three year old and so having an oasis in the general noise of this amazing city was really appreciated. What made it great? Firstly having someone waiting at the airport just for you and taking you directly to the Riad was fantastic. Then both Laurent and Aziz always ready to help and smile and be friendly - it is the friendliness of all the staff at this Riad that makes the difference. Hints and tips that ensure you make the most of Marrakech and a great meal waiting for you on arrival. If you ask our son he'd say it was Aziz and the straws, hot chocolate, the little birds flying around at breakfast in the courtyard and Laurent's impeccable taste in Tintin books. For us, the atmosphere in the Riad, a great breakfast included, bottled water in the room all the time, the location and being made to feel welcome. Thank you all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this Riad in Marrakech. From Laurent's helpful recommendations of local attractions, an amazing traditional hammam and restaurants; to Aziz for always being there anytime of the day to lend a helpful hand. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the sunbed in the Riad's courtyard and having a bottle of rosé and a shisha at the end of a busy touristy day. We had a nicely decorated, clean room on the bottom floor which included breakfast, bottled water, clean sheets and towels everyday. We will be recommending this Riad to all of our friends and family when they go to Morocco.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying on the upper level, even though we did enjoy the courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time Marocco, last minute flight. So I contacted and arranged the 7 nights with Laurent(found him and Aguerzame here on tripadvisor):pick up in the night from the airport, 1. night in another Riad, than 5 nights at Aguerzame, last night in another Riad and the taxi back to the airport.Will never forget this wonderful time and will spend there more holidays.Good Breakfast together with the other guests, warm welcome and stay there.Great relaxing place from the Marrakesh-action.Nothing to complain

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I chose this Riad (out of the 800+ Riads in Medina Marrakech) because it was highly recommended on tripadvisor. In retrospect, I wished we had chosen somewhere else. There are plenty of other Riads in the same vicinity for the same price that I believe would have had better customer service. Day 1: We had to stay in the nearby Dar De La Masa (wonderful) for the first night because Aguerzame was booked for the night. Lauren, the owner of Aguerzam, greeted me kindly and told me that my bags would be waiting for me at Aguerzam when we returned from our quad/desert adventure the next day. We left early and returned around 1300/1400. Our bags were still not transferred and when asked, the response was "do you need your bags now?". When we finally got to our room, we were eager to shower and get the desert sand off of us and go downtown. I was forced to take a cold shower because there was no hot water. My wife chose to wait and it was hours before it was fixed. Day 2: We returned to the Riad to find that Layla had kindly taken our dirty clothes from the floor and washed them. The only issue was that we had planned on wearing some of these clothes again and would need them for our upcoming desert trip. It took about a full day for the clothes to dry on the roof of the Riad. It was very kind, but if we had needed the clothes, there would have been an issue. We asked that they not take our dirty clothes the following day because we would re-wear some of them during our 3-day desert trip. They must have forgotten because they, once again, took the clothes and we were forced to leave them behind during our 3-day desert trip as they had not completely dried. Day 3: We left the Riad to go on our 3-day Sahara trek and told them that we would return around 1800 or 1830 on the third day. They said that our new room would be ready when we arrived and our bags would be waiting for us in the room. When we returned at 1800 on the third day, we were informed that our new room wasn't ready, but it would be ready in a couple of hours. At this point, we had just spent 24 hours in the Sahara followed by 10+ hours in a vehicle driving. We were ready for a shower and were forced to shower in an unprepared room. The shower still had remnants of the last guest in it to include his soap, etc. To top it off, the shower did not drain. The bottom of it filled up several inches and was gross. Also, in this particular room, you had to flush the toilet a minimum of 5 times to dispose of waste. That alone took about 5 minutes per bathroom visit. All in all, it wasn't a horrible experience, but I expected much more. Even with modest expectations, we would have been disappointed. There are much better options out there in the same area and for the same price. I recommend asking your tour company about a reputable Riad if you are booking a tour. Lastly, be aware that this particular Riad (as are some others) is covered. Meaning, the "open courtyard" at the center of the Riad is actually permanently covered, so you kind of miss out on the ambiance. All of this being said, Lauren and his staff were always kind and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have read the above and still decide to stay here, get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful staff. A beautiful riad - perfectly placed close to everything but also very quiet surrounds. Excellent evening meals. The rooftop garden is such a great place to sit and listen the the many sounds of nighttime Marakech. The Tajines prepared by the kitchen staff are beautifully spiced and flavoured. Highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We would like to thank Laurent and Aziz for their fantastic help, warmth, generosity and hospitality during our stay. Laurent had the best stories, anecdotes recommendations of local attractions and restaurants, and Aziz was always on hand to ask about our day, or provide us with free water or delicious mint tea. The Riad itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and felt like a wonderful little haven from the busy heat of the city. Large, comfortable, meticulously decorated rooms and a fantastic roof terrace where we spent our evenings. Really made our holiday perfect, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Marrakech. Too good to keep a secret.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Hotel
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.