We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous Riad in the heart of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Aguerzame to your Saves list
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous Riad in the heart of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Riad Aguerzame in March for five nights and could not fault our stay - we have not stopped talking about it to family and friends since we got back. Laurent's warm and friendly welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left was second to none. On arrival and after having tea and cakes, Laurent briefed us on local knowledge of the area and places to visit and see - he then introduced us to Aziz, who is most charming and helpful, and we took a walk through the alleyways of the medina (about 7 minutes) to Jemaa El Fna, this being the hub of Marrakesh - we were so grateful for this service as I am sure we would have never found our way amongst the hustle and bustle of mopeds and everyday life but after a couple of times it's not a problem.

We had our first evening meal at Aguerzame and the quality of food, wine and service was amazing. We also experienced the local restaurants!!!! Perhaps we should have paid more attention to Laurent's recommendations - but it is a worthwhile experience eating out in the main square for the atmosphere.

Our patio suite was traditional, comfortable and very clean - we really felt at home. Riad Aguerzame is tranquil, relaxing and a great get away from it all - we found ourselves soaking up the sun on the roof terrace at the end of the day.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Marrakesh but truly believe that it was due to the excellent standard of accommodation and hospitality from Laurent, Aziz and his housekeeping staff.

Laurent also offers a transfer service to and from the airport - this is well worth it as it takes out the stress of finding your own way there.

Thank you Laurent and Aziz for a truly wonderful stay - hope to see you soon.

Jane & David xx

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
119
305
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at Riad Aguerzame for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Aziz was an excellent host in welcoming us and making us feel at home at the Riad, directing us to the main square on the first day, sorting out our daily itinerary, day tours (Essaouira & Ait Ben Haddou), making taxi bookings and offering restaurant recommendations.

The Riad itself is quite daunting to locate at first, but once you have managed to work out the main routes to and from including a map supplied by the hosts then its fine. The walk to Jamaa el Fna place is only 8-10 minutes walk ago. Ignore the over-friendly local men (at the first main inter-junction) en-route who advise that Jamaa el Fna place is closed for whatever reason, as they only intention is to pocket a few Dirhams for showing you an alternative route.

Breakfast was filling comprising Moroccan and Continental breakfast. The room (ground floor) was clean and large enough for our needs. We didn't actually have lunch/dinner at the Riad but do recommend Pepe Nero (voted 2 best in Marrakech) round the corner.

In short, we would recommend this Riad and it's of no surprise that its so highly rated on TA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Merci bien Laurent!

Your team looked after us so well on our week long stay before Easter. Nothing was too much trouble (organising advance coach tickets for our trip to the coast, for example) and we loved the breakfasts!! You were there to give good practical advice about Marrakech as and when we needed it. We particularly liked the two day walking trip up into the foothills of the Atlas mountains, with overnight accommodation, all transfers worked smoothly, and the company of Ali - such an informative guide to the mountains. That visit and our trip to the Majorelle gardens was the highlight of an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Booked this Riad based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor.

Stayed with my partner for 10 days and from the day we arrived to the day we left I had no complaints. As many have said Laurent and Aziz are excellent hosts. In fact they make the stay extra special, special thumbs up to Aziz who was always smiling and helpful.

I have 3 Reccomendations

1 : The Atlas mountain trek. Make sure you wear some comfortable walking shoes,
2 : Stay on the upper floor
3 : We eat at the Riad a few times and myself and my partner both agreed its the best food we ate. We went to the local restaurants and the more up market ones but the food cooked by Wafaa was 2nd to none.

I will book again thank you Riad Auguerzame on making mine and Mina's stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked Riad Aguerzame on the basis of the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, and it definitely lived up to its reputation as an excellent traditional riad in the Medina! The highlight is the hospitality of hosts Laurent and Aziz. From the moment that we arrived at Riad Aguerzame, Laurent and his team went out of their way to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one.

Laurent was extremely helpful in organising day trips to the Atlas Mountains and bus tickets to Essaouira for us, which meant that we managed to fit a lot into our 4 day stay in Marrakech. We highly recommend the tour to Amizmiz as an opportunity to get out of the city and experience life in the traditional Berber villages.

Can't add much more to the already exceptional reviews on TripAdvisor except to say that Laurent and his team take the concept of warm hospitality and personalised service to a whole new level - thank you for an amazing holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs will be quieter than the one which on the ground floor which opens out directly into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

What a great place to end our 2 week trip to Morocco! I wish we would have started our trip with Laurent and Aziz! Laurent's crash course on Marrakech was wonderful, and for the first time in Morocco, our host was giving us valuable info instead of us waiting and wondering about how things worked. He gave us tips on what to see, how much things should cost and made arrangements for us for a hammam and massage at a nearby spa. We stayed in two different rooms at Aguerzame, one room for 2 nights on the first floor and then a room upstairs when we came back from a few days away in the Atlas Mountains. Both were very comfortable, with plenty of space, great beds and plenty of hot water. To top it all off, Aziz insisted on serving us breakfast at 5:30 am before we left to catch the train on our last day. My husband and I said to Laurent the night before, that we really didn't need to have breakfast before we left, but he insisted saying "you are like family when you stay here, and I wouldn't see my family off without breakfast!"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This riad is a brilliant place. Laurent and Aziz have managed to attain a perfect balance of hospitality, atmosphere and comfort. Aziz is a pearl within the pearl!! The joie de vivre from within the walls of this beautiful riad is truly infectious. It's a great place to chill. My friend and I loved it. I think we'll be back....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguerzame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.