We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #540 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We have just returned from a 5 day break in Marrakech which was made all the more memorable for staying at Dar Alfarah, an exquisite riad tucked away in the Kasbah area of the city. It's about a ten minute walk from the main square, Jeema El Fna, and provides tranquility when you want to rest your weary feet and get away from the hurly burly. It's handily situated beside 'the broken wall' - part of the old city wall that is, well, broken! This helps you locate the riad as streets can look the same after a while. We never got lost in any event as the Medina, Souks and square are a straightforward walk away. There is also a handy little shop a couple of minutes away selling water and other essentials.

Roger and Joyce are the lovely French couple who own and run the riad. Their friendliness, hospitality and knowledge of the city makes you feel immediately relaxed. They can book restaurants, recommend shops to visit for quality goods and even arrange a candle-lit dinner around the sumptuous dip pool. We had the most amazing tagine one evening which was freshly prepared on the day.

We stayed in one of the suites, one of four rooms which lead directly onto the pool area. The room was spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and had a large bathroom with walk in shower. We never felt rushed out of the room for servicing purposes - the staff work around the guests and are all really lovely.

Breakfast was served between 8-10 am in little private eating areas on the roof terrace. We loved the fact that it differed slightly each day but all had freshly made pancakes, fresh jams, fruit and bread.

We had one rainy day and didn't fancy being out so we settled down to a DVD in a cosy little room off the pool and had high tea served! It's nice to know that you can have some home comforts like this when you want it.

We can't recommend Dar Alfarah highly enough and will definitely return if we go back to the City.

We honestly felt like we were leaving family or close friends on our departure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

very romantic and peacefull riad. Very nice decorated, very cosy and very good service.
The french owners are so nice and have plenty of good plans to spend a very nice stay.
We appreciate so much the breakfast on the terasse or near the swimmingpool: only fresh things to eat !!!
we tried a dinner 'en amoureux" and it was so romantic with the candles... very good food made at home by the cookers with very fresh and natural products !
We will return there with our baby coming very soon !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigresse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ldn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

My sister and I stayed at Dar Alfarah for 3 nights in February and despite 2 days of fairly heavy rain we had a fantastic time and will certainly visit again!
This was in no small part thanks to the Riad owners who welcomed us like daughters and gave us good tips to visit the city (including best addresses for souvenir shopping and a luxury hammam).
I definitely recomment staying in a Riad in the Medina, rather than in one of the Western-type hotels in the new town: you're in the middle of the old quarters but the Riad itself is an oasis of tranquility. The rooms was comfortable and had an amazing bathroom. The staff can also cook you a feast for dinner, which you'll struggle to finish! When the sun finally came out we enjoyed the roof terrace and that sealed the deal for another visit.

  • Liked — The design
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fabs_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

The riad is really nicely decorated, you'll get the feel of a real oriental palace. Of course it is clean, quiet and beds are very comfortable. The owners, Roger and Joyce are extremely friendly and always ready to help you book a restaurant, give advice on what to visit in Marrakech. They even helped us to book a session of quad in the "palmeraie". It was really a wonderful experience of Marrakech !

  • Liked — Decoration, friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies on holiday
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

After making up our minds that we were going to Morroco we started looking at places to stay. Of course there are cheaper places everywhere but after checking some of the really cheap places out on Tripadvisor we were getting a bit worried. That was until we found Dar Alfarah.
Everything looked great on the website until we got there and realised that it was SO MUCH BETTER.
From the start we were made to feel completly welcome by our hosts Roger and Joyce. There English was goos and the hotel felt completly safe. The staff were attentive and although their English wasn't as good they would bend over backwards to help you out or get whatever you wanted.
More importantly the hotel was clean and we could get a good nights sleep. Being a Riad it is off the main street and once you're through the door the manic hustle and bustle that is Marrakesh can hardly be heard and the hotel became our sanctuary.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough it completley made our trip in Marrakesh the experience we were hoping for and we would like to thank Roger and Joyce for their help, patience and hospitality.

  • Liked — Clean, safe and secure feeling
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smellypaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

My wife and I decided on Marrakech for a long weekend break. We'd always planned to go, and had heard about the tranquil, and beautiful Riads, or Moroccan mansions based around a central courtyard, which are a mainstay of the accommodation in the city.

Having booked our flight, we checked out the website Maroc Emotions to book our accommodation. Riad Dar Alfarah looked perfect so we booked. We were not disappointed. Beyond the crazy, invigorating hustle and bustle of Marrakech, the Riad was a genuine oasis of calm and quiet. Owned by a very personable and welcoming French couple, who also live there, it is beautifully and authentically decorated, with the original fixtures of the Riad augmented by all mod cons. Our room, one of the cheaper ones on offer, was one of the most pleasant rooms I've stayed in, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was particularly nice, with a power shower, the 'cubicle' fashioned out of a kind of sandstone.

In the central courtyard, a small pool is the centre of attention, while the calm sound of a fountain trickles away in the background. There is also a roof terrace, with sunbeds, and good views of the nearby minarets and the storks who nest on the walls of the Badi Palace ruins.

On the last night, we requested a meal, which we ate in the dining room there. It was excellent, and a true, authentic feast. Marrakech is a great, invigorating city, and the Riad Dar Alfarah is the perfect place to escape to when it all becomes too much!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Benjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Joyce and Roger welcome you in this beautifully decorated Ryad which transpires calm and refined beauty. Very near from the centre of Marrakech, one can stroll around the various souks and places of interest. The owners' welcome is personalised whilst not invading and provides warmth to the visitors looking for pampering in a friendly but non intrusive way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QueenBerengere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#25 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the historical sites of Marrakech formed by the El Badi Palace, Bahia, the Saadian Tombs and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, Riad Dar Alfarah is one of the more user-friendly guesthouses of the medina. To accommodate your dreams 10 rooms and (2 to 5 pers) combine Moroccan spirit and tradition. A large patio with a pool where upon arrival, Coralie, Stephan or Hamza will welcome you personally around a mint tea and traditional pastries. They will be available to answer your questions and help you discover Marrakech. The rooftop terrace has been converted to the comfort of our guests and their tranquility where you will be served a delicious cooking with colors Mediterranean and Moroccan. Breakfast riad is both continental and moroccan, through its various pancakes and fresh fruit juice, by its home made buns and breads, and seasonal fruit jams and by its surprises with milk or fresh fruits, made by Hafssa our cook. It is served on the patio around the pool, in our restaurant or on our rooftop terrace. The menu is an invitation to discover Moroccan cuisine but also international dishes revisited by Hafssa, plus "food allergies" special menus or "children" menu! For more choices, lunches and dinners are booking through our team as soon as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing