We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #534 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“an oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

beautiful riad in good central location. Very nicely decorated and very clean. Short walk from the main square Jemaa Al Fna. Met on arrival by Hamza who was charming and very helpful a real asset to the riad. I have to agree about evening meal - it was ok but not great but we all enjoyed the breakfast - freshly made cake, yoghurt and pancakes from the ladies in the kitchen,
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    53
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
69
136
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Riad is amazing, it is very well decorated and in a good location, a short walk from both the jemaa al fna and the Kasbah. We had a suite for 5 people, it was huge and had great facilities. The breakfast (included) was very good, we had the evening meal on arrival but felt this was very average and not worth the price. The evening receptionist Hamza was brilliant, spoke good english and was very helpful in all things, even taking us personaly to a restaurant/bar the first night because it was dark and hard to find. He sorted us out a great day in the atlas mountains too. The french lady owners are not very friendly though, and at times not at all interested in what you were asking, maybe a party of five women was not what they wanted there?, which came apparent when we were refused a drink on the terrace one afternoon!

Room Tip: keep windows closed to avoid noise from the street and calls for prayer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This Riad is very pretty, and the area is very good- close enough (10 minutes walk) to El Fna, and still in a quiet area. Hamza, the boy working there, made all the difference, speaking english and being VERY polite, helping us every day to the maximum.

But... there were some bad points to this Riad- first of all, noise in the morning from the street and from the pool. Second, breakfast was not included and frankly not so impressing- we could not even order eggs or cheese, if you don't eat jam or honey, there are not so many alternatives. Last but not least, we were used to a much more friendly approach in the other Riads we stayed in. The ladies infront were not impolite, just... indifferent. Average impression overall

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, too much noise
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent over 5 nights in this outstandig Riad. It is located in the Marrakechs' Kasbah close to the common square Jemaa Al Fna.
Hamza - member of the staff - is a very kind and friendly guy with the costumers - he knows how to do his job! He gave us lots of tips to see the city in an autentical point of view! Also the typical marrocan food from the restaurant of the Riad is really good! You've to try!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is one of the best holiday accommodations I have ever stayed in, me and my girlfriend stayed here in the height of the moroccan summer and was perfect for us. The riad is located about a five minute walk from the main square which is bursting with amazing culture 24/7.

The room we had was air conditioned (at no extra cost) and was very beautifully furnished and decorated. The riads roof terrace has several sun loungers so that you can relax away from the busyness of marrakech itself and as we went during mid 30 - 45 degree heat, the pool was a perfect way to cool down. With only around ten rooms the riad is very peaceful and I feel is perfect for couples or small families.

The staff are amazing, run by two french ladies who are unbelievably friendly and welcoming. Offering an amazing breakfast at 4 euros per person served by the night staff who work hard till 11am to keep the place clean and tidy during the night. Hamza and Aziz were two people who we really got to know during our two weeks there, they were very friendly and extremely helpful with informing us on the culture of morocco and great places to go in marrakech and the Atlas mountains.

The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and shower supplies provided, the women that cleaned our room were lovely and never intruded until you were out of your room.

Overall i would recommend anyone who is considering a visit to marrakech to stay here, value for money is understated as I feel it is a steal, go and enjoy morocco and marrakech, it is amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence P, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Alfarah, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Ben,

Thank you very much for posting a comment so detailed that I'm sure will be of great use to readers of the site.

Your kind words about our employees affect us deeply. Encouragement in this way are the key vectors of our hospitality. Your satisfaction is the best reward you can give to the whole team.

I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back with your girlfriend.

Again thank you.

Kind regards.

Florence and all the team of Dar Alfarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks, yes I know quite a long time for Marrakech but with our busy normal lifestyles we wanted some time to get away and relax with no worries. This is the perfect place to do that! It is the perfect location, not to far but also not to close to the square, the noise can get rather over whelming but this is totally relaxing and peaceful and quiet. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful and the ladies who cleaned our rooms did a wonderful job. The room we had, had a massive shower and was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was lovely, and Hamza worked extremely hard to make sure everyone was happy. His english is very good. The swimming pool is fab and there is just the right amount of rooms for it not to be over crowded.

Overall I would definitely recommend this Riad and it is great for short or long stays. Thank you so much to all the team

My only tiny complaint would be the pillows! But that is just me being fussy.

Room Tip: if you are staying for a bit longer than the norm then ask for room number 2, it is just that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence P, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Alfarah, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Hannah,
I thank you for your kind comment. Everybody have been very sensitive to it. We make so that you felt at home.
If the sun shone on Marrakesh during the 2 weeks you spent with us, know that you were our sunbeam with your smile and your kindness.
Next time do not hesitate to tell us what is wrong with the pillows! This is not being fussy.
I thank you again and see you soon !
Kind regards.
Florence and all the team of Dar Alfarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in El Medina and has a nice decoration. Breakfast is delicious. Unfortunately the owner who stays in the reception only speak French... The staff is very helpful, especially Hamza. He will make you feel as comfortable as possible. My only complaints are about the cleaning ladies turning off the AC every day after cleaning the bedrooms and there are some cockroaches around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the gold triangle of the historical sites of Marrakech in the place Jeema El Fna is one of the nicest houses for guests in the medina. T o shelter your dreams, two rooms and seven suites divided on three levels, link Moroccan mind and tradition. In the rooms of bath basins were decorated in the hand, blow-dryer, products of reception, safe, WiFi, phones. The swimming pool and the panoramic terrace were done up for the biggest comfort of the guests and their calmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alfarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.