We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #505 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks, yes I know quite a long time for Marrakech but with our busy normal lifestyles we wanted some time to get away and relax with no worries. This is the perfect place to do that! It is the perfect location, not to far but also not to close to the square, the noise can get rather over whelming but this is totally relaxing and peaceful and quiet. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful and the ladies who cleaned our rooms did a wonderful job. The room we had, had a massive shower and was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was lovely, and Hamza worked extremely hard to make sure everyone was happy. His english is very good. The swimming pool is fab and there is just the right amount of rooms for it not to be over crowded.

Overall I would definitely recommend this Riad and it is great for short or long stays. Thank you so much to all the team

My only tiny complaint would be the pillows! But that is just me being fussy.

Room Tip: if you are staying for a bit longer than the norm then ask for room number 2, it is just that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence P, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Alfarah, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Hannah,
I thank you for your kind comment. Everybody have been very sensitive to it. We make so that you felt at home.
If the sun shone on Marrakesh during the 2 weeks you spent with us, know that you were our sunbeam with your smile and your kindness.
Next time do not hesitate to tell us what is wrong with the pillows! This is not being fussy.
I thank you again and see you soon !
Kind regards.
Florence and all the team of Dar Alfarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    53
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
135
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in El Medina and has a nice decoration. Breakfast is delicious. Unfortunately the owner who stays in the reception only speak French... The staff is very helpful, especially Hamza. He will make you feel as comfortable as possible. My only complaints are about the cleaning ladies turning off the AC every day after cleaning the bedrooms and there are some cockroaches around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Riad is very well located and the hotel is beautiful. Unfortunately, most of the staff does not speak English, so brush up on your French! Especially the french older lady. She does not speak a WORD of English. However, one of the workers (Hamza) was very nice and could speak some English. With his help, we were able to organize several activities and get to the airport.

Despite the beautiful appearance, and great location there were some problems.
The Riad's internet only works near the pool, not in the bedrooms, despite what it may say online. The worst part, however, is the cockroaches. I have visited an African country before, so I expected some cockroaches, but not like this. We found a dead cockroach in our washroom, and although the room was "cleaned" daily, the cockroach was there for the remainder of our trip (about three days). The last night of our stay we found 6 cockroaches in our room running around. This was obviously very unpleasant!

If the bug problem was resolved I would recommend this to friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The riad is well-located, beautiful, and in a quiet neighborhood. We took advantage of the airport transfer, so our driver had no problem finding the riad, and for 20 euros it was definitely worth it. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and spacious (we had a triple) but the air conditioning wasn't quite equipped for the 50+ degree August temperatures. In a hot country, some cockroaches are inevitable, but during our last night our room was basically invaded. We killed six quite large cockroaches, and, while our bathroom was re-stocked with clean towels every day and our beds were made, I'm not sure how well the room was cleaned--one sizeable (dead) cockroach by the bathroom door was left throughout the entirety of our stay. Wifi only works by the pool/front door (not in the bedrooms), but this was only a minor inconvenience. The breakfasts were delicious and the food was abundant.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming--the owner of the riad is nice but she doesn't speak any English, so we had trouble communicating with her. However, Hamza, who is around in the mornings and after about 4 p.m., speaks fluent English and was always willing to book excursions and taxis, provide directions, and even offered us some Arabic lessons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were lucky with our room: we got a whole suite, just for the two of us.

The welcome tea went fine as well, The owner (from france) made some time for us to look at a map and gave us some guidelines for the trips we planned more to the south. Practical experience is always good to get.
The swimming pool was small, but refreshing, there is a roof terrace with some sunbeds (the suite has its own, large, terrace)
The whole riad was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very good indeed as one can read in other reviews, but not as someone wrote: "that you can skip lunch afterwards").
The location of the riad is fine too. Close to "les tombeaux des Saadiens", "Palais Bahia", "Dar si Said", and "El Badia". And a bit further away, but still on walking distance from Djeema El Fna. Very close to the Riad you also find a souk where you van buy fruits, just like the local people.

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space, ask for the suite (two bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my first trip to Marrakech. We stayed here because of the location it was a great and easy walking distance (10 mins) to Jemaa el Fna. Hamza you are the best ! Very helpful, fantastic and made us feel very welcomed.

The breakfast was great and great rotation of different items each day. There is very little noise from the side streets. The rooms were fantastic, large and had it's own sitting area outside.

I would certainly come back here because of the great location and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The riad is really nice and the personnel simply friendly and ready to help for any kind of needs. The breakfast is delicious and abundant (you can easily skip the lunch ;)). Only one suggestion if you are going and coming back late make sure the taxi driver relly knows where the riad is situated ;) If you wan't to get a 100% Marrakech experience is definetely the place to go ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the gold triangle of the historical sites of Marrakech in the place Jeema El Fna is one of the nicest houses for guests in the medina. T o shelter your dreams, two rooms and seven suites divided on three levels, link Moroccan mind and tradition. In the rooms of bath basins were decorated in the hand, blow-dryer, products of reception, safe, WiFi, phones. The swimming pool and the panoramic terrace were done up for the biggest comfort of the guests and their calmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alfarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.