We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #511 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Virginia, USA
1 review
“excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The riad is well-located, beautiful, and in a quiet neighborhood. We took advantage of the airport transfer, so our driver had no problem finding the riad, and for 20 euros it was definitely worth it. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and spacious (we had a triple) but the air conditioning wasn't quite equipped for the 50+ degree August temperatures. In a hot country, some cockroaches are inevitable, but during our last night our room was basically invaded. We killed six quite large cockroaches, and, while our bathroom was re-stocked with clean towels every day and our beds were made, I'm not sure how well the room was cleaned--one sizeable (dead) cockroach by the bathroom door was left throughout the entirety of our stay. Wifi only works by the pool/front door (not in the bedrooms), but this was only a minor inconvenience. The breakfasts were delicious and the food was abundant.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming--the owner of the riad is nice but she doesn't speak any English, so we had trouble communicating with her. However, Hamza, who is around in the mornings and after about 4 p.m., speaks fluent English and was always willing to book excursions and taxis, provide directions, and even offered us some Arabic lessons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    53
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
135
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were lucky with our room: we got a whole suite, just for the two of us.

The welcome tea went fine as well, The owner (from france) made some time for us to look at a map and gave us some guidelines for the trips we planned more to the south. Practical experience is always good to get.
The swimming pool was small, but refreshing, there is a roof terrace with some sunbeds (the suite has its own, large, terrace)
The whole riad was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very good indeed as one can read in other reviews, but not as someone wrote: "that you can skip lunch afterwards").
The location of the riad is fine too. Close to "les tombeaux des Saadiens", "Palais Bahia", "Dar si Said", and "El Badia". And a bit further away, but still on walking distance from Djeema El Fna. Very close to the Riad you also find a souk where you van buy fruits, just like the local people.

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space, ask for the suite (two bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my first trip to Marrakech. We stayed here because of the location it was a great and easy walking distance (10 mins) to Jemaa el Fna. Hamza you are the best ! Very helpful, fantastic and made us feel very welcomed.

The breakfast was great and great rotation of different items each day. There is very little noise from the side streets. The rooms were fantastic, large and had it's own sitting area outside.

I would certainly come back here because of the great location and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The riad is really nice and the personnel simply friendly and ready to help for any kind of needs. The breakfast is delicious and abundant (you can easily skip the lunch ;)). Only one suggestion if you are going and coming back late make sure the taxi driver relly knows where the riad is situated ;) If you wan't to get a 100% Marrakech experience is definetely the place to go ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by lovely hostess and other members of staff. the riad and our room were fantastic and located a perfect distance from main hustle and bustle. the breakfast was incredible. a young man who works in riad was unbelievably warm and informative. Was so happy to have had the riad to read in after hectic two days in the city!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights (pretty much all you need for Marrakech!) in family suit with a group of friends with a great price from
Booking.com. Great staff ready to help with maps and leaflets, good breakfast, excellent location on a quiet side street 10min walk from all main sights, markets and best restaurants. Pool was not in use due to spring rains but on a sunny day the roof terrace offered bathing area. To upstairs room (like the family suit) no noise came from the street but kitchen was located under the windows causing noises from 8-9am. Room was massive with seating area, bath and shower, own terrace and two bedrooms but offered limited privacy as bedrooms were separated with curtains only from hallway. One ot the only riads we stayed in that had wine with dinner :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This riad is situated in the Toureg area, if going via taxi make sure you tell him its the kasbah street as we were taken to the other side and couldnt find the riad, however there are always lots of young children willing to show you of course they want money, only give them 20 dhms they will ask for 50 !
The lady who answered the door was french and doesnt speak any English, so be prepared we got by on my pigeon french! The rest of the staff are Moroccan and speak English.
The riad is beautiful, tastefully furnished very traditional.. if you want an evening meal make sure you book early, we arrived for an overnight visit from Agadir and were too late. It.s only a 10 minute walk to the square and you can get the red tour bus quite close by.
A previous review said it was scary.. this is Marrakech dont be scared, I,ve visited Morocco numerous times including Marrakech and have never felt threatened or intimidated, the people are lovely of course the culture is very different but thats the attraction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the gold triangle of the historical sites of Marrakech in the place Jeema El Fna is one of the nicest houses for guests in the medina. T o shelter your dreams, two rooms and seven suites divided on three levels, link Moroccan mind and tradition. In the rooms of bath basins were decorated in the hand, blow-dryer, products of reception, safe, WiFi, phones. The swimming pool and the panoramic terrace were done up for the biggest comfort of the guests and their calmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alfarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.