We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #533 of 1,137 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Virginia, USA
1 review
“excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The riad is well-located, beautiful, and in a quiet neighborhood. We took advantage of the airport transfer, so our driver had no problem finding the riad, and for 20 euros it was definitely worth it. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and spacious (we had a triple) but the air conditioning wasn't quite equipped for the 50+ degree August temperatures. In a hot country, some cockroaches are inevitable, but during our last night our room was basically invaded. We killed six quite large cockroaches, and, while our bathroom was re-stocked with clean towels every day and our beds were made, I'm not sure how well the room was cleaned--one sizeable (dead) cockroach by the bathroom door was left throughout the entirety of our stay. Wifi only works by the pool/front door (not in the bedrooms), but this was only a minor inconvenience. The breakfasts were delicious and the food was abundant.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming--the owner of the riad is nice but she doesn't speak any English, so we had trouble communicating with her. However, Hamza, who is around in the mornings and after about 4 p.m., speaks fluent English and was always willing to book excursions and taxis, provide directions, and even offered us some Arabic lessons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    59
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
143
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were lucky with our room: we got a whole suite, just for the two of us.

The welcome tea went fine as well, The owner (from france) made some time for us to look at a map and gave us some guidelines for the trips we planned more to the south. Practical experience is always good to get.
The swimming pool was small, but refreshing, there is a roof terrace with some sunbeds (the suite has its own, large, terrace)
The whole riad was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very good indeed as one can read in other reviews, but not as someone wrote: "that you can skip lunch afterwards").
The location of the riad is fine too. Close to "les tombeaux des Saadiens", "Palais Bahia", "Dar si Said", and "El Badia". And a bit further away, but still on walking distance from Djeema El Fna. Very close to the Riad you also find a souk where you van buy fruits, just like the local people.

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space, ask for the suite (two bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my first trip to Marrakech. We stayed here because of the location it was a great and easy walking distance (10 mins) to Jemaa el Fna. Hamza you are the best ! Very helpful, fantastic and made us feel very welcomed.

The breakfast was great and great rotation of different items each day. There is very little noise from the side streets. The rooms were fantastic, large and had it's own sitting area outside.

I would certainly come back here because of the great location and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The riad is really nice and the personnel simply friendly and ready to help for any kind of needs. The breakfast is delicious and abundant (you can easily skip the lunch ;)). Only one suggestion if you are going and coming back late make sure the taxi driver relly knows where the riad is situated ;) If you wan't to get a 100% Marrakech experience is definetely the place to go ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by lovely hostess and other members of staff. the riad and our room were fantastic and located a perfect distance from main hustle and bustle. the breakfast was incredible. a young man who works in riad was unbelievably warm and informative. Was so happy to have had the riad to read in after hectic two days in the city!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights (pretty much all you need for Marrakech!) in family suit with a group of friends with a great price from
Booking.com. Great staff ready to help with maps and leaflets, good breakfast, excellent location on a quiet side street 10min walk from all main sights, markets and best restaurants. Pool was not in use due to spring rains but on a sunny day the roof terrace offered bathing area. To upstairs room (like the family suit) no noise came from the street but kitchen was located under the windows causing noises from 8-9am. Room was massive with seating area, bath and shower, own terrace and two bedrooms but offered limited privacy as bedrooms were separated with curtains only from hallway. One ot the only riads we stayed in that had wine with dinner :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This riad is situated in the Toureg area, if going via taxi make sure you tell him its the kasbah street as we were taken to the other side and couldnt find the riad, however there are always lots of young children willing to show you of course they want money, only give them 20 dhms they will ask for 50 !
The lady who answered the door was french and doesnt speak any English, so be prepared we got by on my pigeon french! The rest of the staff are Moroccan and speak English.
The riad is beautiful, tastefully furnished very traditional.. if you want an evening meal make sure you book early, we arrived for an overnight visit from Agadir and were too late. It.s only a 10 minute walk to the square and you can get the red tour bus quite close by.
A previous review said it was scary.. this is Marrakech dont be scared, I,ve visited Morocco numerous times including Marrakech and have never felt threatened or intimidated, the people are lovely of course the culture is very different but thats the attraction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#216 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#12 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#106 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Mandalay
Riad Mandalay
#149 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#40 of 1,137 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#191 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 1,137 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the historical sites of Marrakech formed by the El Badi Palace, Bahia, the Saadian Tombs and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, Riad Dar Alfarah is one of the more user-friendly guesthouses of the medina. To accommodate your dreams 10 rooms and (2 to 5 pers) combine Moroccan spirit and tradition. A large patio with a pool where upon arrival, Coralie, Stephan or Hamza will welcome you personally around a mint tea and traditional pastries. They will be available to answer your questions and help you discover Marrakech. The rooftop terrace has been converted to the comfort of our guests and their tranquility where you will be served a delicious cooking with colors Mediterranean and Moroccan. Breakfast riad is both continental and moroccan, through its various pancakes and fresh fruit juice, by its home made buns and breads, and seasonal fruit jams and by its surprises with milk or fresh fruits, made by Hafssa our cook. It is served on the patio around the pool, in our restaurant or on our rooftop terrace. The menu is an invitation to discover Moroccan cuisine but also international dishes revisited by Hafssa, plus "food allergies" special menus or "children" menu! For more choices, lunches and dinners are booking through our team as soon as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alfarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.