We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding oasis in the marvellous Marrakech madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tarabel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tarabel
8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #625 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newhaven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding oasis in the marvellous Marrakech madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Riad Tarabel is one of the most delightful places I have ever stayed. It was exactly as described by Mr and Mrs Smith and all previous reviewers on Trip Advisor. Peaceful; wonderfully restored; individual; special; some lovely spaces to unwind - several lounge areas and a lovely roof terrace. Take your pick for breakfast! But what really sets this hotel apart from everywhere else has to be the staff - Fattah and Hameed couldn't do enough for us. They helped us choose where to eat and where to visit - arranging tables; transport and any service we requested.
Just one word of warning and this is entirely our fault...we asked for a hammam; treatment and massage (all on-site and fabulous!) and never asked the price. We were quite taken aback when we got our bill and had been charged €100 each. This is considerably more expensive than some of the 'supposedly' best spas in Marrakech! But this was the only disappointment during our stay and we would definately stay here again if we ever go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Exquisite, little gem of a hotel. Three fabulous rooms only but hotel will double in size next year. Perfectly private. Delightful staff and well organised by manageress Elsa.
We felt like plutocrats, if only for the weekend...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I can't recommend this riad enough. From the start the service was personable, calm and nothing was too much. The riad is in a great location near the Palace Dar El Bacha, which is central, just before the souks and 2 moinnute round teh corner is a taxi area. Important to add that during the day it is sureally quiet considering what happens a few narrow streets away, also after sundown really relaxed and quiet.
The staff Elsa the manager is lovely and her recommendations for sights and restaurants were spot on for our stay. She seemed to know exactly what we'd want. It also wasn't a problem to re-arrange timings/plans with her /staff. A special mention needs to go out to Fattah and Hamid who were great. They were friendly and caring in all they did, helping us out tremendously when we bought furniture that needed weighing pre flight. They also had a local boy who was available to escort us to/from restaurants in the souk, that we wouldn't normaly be able to find our way back, which made the process all the more relaxing.
The attention to detail in the riad is understated chic. The owners are French are have collected some antiques as well as local ornamnets/pictures that give a trully homely atmosphere, it is a stunning place to stay and the food we had in house was some of the best we had in our 5 days. Also to boot we had an upgrade to the Palmeraie suite which was the icing on the cake. Have a look at their site adn you'll see the understated opulence. The riad currently has 3 rooms and all are unique, roomy and gorgeous, they have a plan to extend it by 4 more suites and to include a pool. All I can say it that we plan to return once that is done with friends/family so that loved ones can also experience the memorable time we had.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Do yourself a favour and stay here at this Riad. It's in a perfect location, just within the Medina walls and you get first class treatment from the staff. The free breakfast on the rooftop terrace is good enough reason to visit alone. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camberley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We are a family of four who landed at the Riad Tarabel as a result of the recent flight delays. A very positive recommendation given to us in the chaos at the airport and it certainly did not disappoint. Beautifully laid out and decorated to a very high and classy standard. Elsa and her staff treated us very conscientiously and nothing was considered a problem. Great tips and advice are also given which ensured that our unplanned sojourn was enjoyed to the full. The intimacy of the Riad perfectly complements the diversity and the mayhem beyond the front door. A magical space to retreat to within the Medina and a real pleasure spending an additional week here. Great memories for our family and great friendships formed with other guests. We will certainly be planning a return visit once the extension to the Riad has been completed. Tarabel is a real jewel in an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENMARK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We've just spent 4 lovely days in Riad Tarabel together with our 4 grown up children.
We were welcomed by our host Elsa who could not have done more to make it a perfect stay. Nothing is too much for her and her extremely kind and helpful staff.
The Riad is very calm, clean and beautifully decorated. The rooms are individual and of exceptional standard.
We had serveral meals there besides a wonderful breakfast such as both lunch and dinner and the food is so fantastic that we thought it was the best place to have a meal in Marrakech.
We could not have wished for a better Riad and will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarabel, Director at Riad Tarabel, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Mrs Juul,

We thank you so much for your e mail, and your note in Trip advisor. We are very sensitive to your words, and appreciations.
It was a real pleasure to have you and your beautifull familly, with us at the riad, and are so pleased to realise that we managed to make a difference in your trip to Marrakech.
To welcome you again , would be an honor.
Kindest regards to all of you.
Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Nothing is too much trouble at this tiny but beautifully run Riad. Elsa the hostess is charming as are her staff and make you feel as if you are staying in their home. Perfectly situated for the souks this hotel deserves its rating as one of Tatlers Top 100 places to stay. We certainly hope to be lucky enough to return. The Riad is currently building 3 more suites and putting a pool in which I am sure will be as tasteful as the rest of the property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tarabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tarabel

Address: 8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #625 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Tarabel has been renovated and opened as a stunning private guesthouse. Extremelly well situated. Tarabel mixes a delightful and exquisite blend of elegance and tranquility, respecting the simplicity of old colonial Riads with its traditional arab-andalousian architecture build around a central courtyard in which orange trees and a small gurgling fountain add to the overall romantic atmosphere. The attentive and soft voiced staff of Riad Tarabel will cater to the visitors’ wishes, making your stay as comfortable and unique as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Tarabel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tarabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Tarabel to your Saves list