We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tarabel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tarabel
8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #574 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Riad Tarabel is one special spot in the medina!! The service is amazing and it is exactly as you see it in the pictures.

The manager "Elsa" is wonderful, and recommended us amazing places to dine and visit.

I am definitely going back to Marrakech and for sure staying at Riad Tarabel again.

Room Tip: The suite is incredible!! you will love the this room, it also has an amazing double shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a lovely place - the decor was elegant the place was serene exactly what you would want after a crazy day in the medina. The staff were lovely and always available to help us with any requests or advice on where to go. I hope i get to visit again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I would definitely book the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I spent many hours looking for a Riad for our four day trip and as soon as I saw the photos, I knew this was 'The One'. Perfectly situated in the Medina, ten minutes walk from the main square and five from the Souks, Riad Tarabel has three bedrooms, three lounges and a stunning roof terrace. The central garden has orange trees, a bubbling fountain and a family of tortoises (they bring good luck) that wander around and like to sleep in the Argana room. The decor is extremely tasteful in muted blues, greys, beige and white and all the furniture is really comfortable. We arrived late so we pre-booked a dinner at the Riad which was delicious. Breakfast was yoghurt, fresh fruit and pancakes, taken on the roof terrace to the murmur of summertime music. We'd also come up here mid afternoon to relax and sunbathe. The staff were lovely. They kept our room immaculate, gave us lots of advice on shopping and restaurants and provided endless cups of mint tea and coffee day or night. Without doubt, the most beautiful, inspiring place I have ever stayed - I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

As always, where possible, I planned most of my stay in Marrakech using the Wallpaper City Guide. Riad Tarabel was one of the hotels featured and in combination with the five star reviews here on Tripadvisor I made my reservation.

From the first interaction I was made to feel assured that this was a real find. We had booked the two rooms (and not the suite) but were upon arrival offered a complimentary upgrade since it turned out we had the Riad to our selves. This was a real treat since we were celebrating my fathers 60th birthday and he and my mother were therefore accommodated in the suite. We were showed around the beautiful facilities by a most helpful gentleman. Once settled in we were further greeted with lovely mint tea and Moroccan cookies served in the summer lounge. This was very refreshing after a hectic morning discovering the Kasbah. Note that check in is from 12 am which makes it possible to enjoy all the facilities without feeling stressed if you as we did turn up pretty much on the dot. Following the mint tea, btw during which by co-incidence some of my favorite music was played, we received some tips on what to see and do during our stay and a map with the hotel details printed on it together with some other telephone numbers. Very useful!

In the evening we had ordered the three course dinner to be served in the winter lounge. Before dinner we enjoyed some lovely Moroccan wine upon recommendation in the lounge opposite. The fire in the winter lounge had been lit and a beautiful table set for us. Food was good and plentiful but what really made the evening so memorable was the very friendly service. The setting, food and wine made the entire family stay up very late talking in front of the fire and could really not have been better.

After a most refreshing nights sleep we enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace. Also this very plentiful and very very tasty. Sad to think we needed to hurry to leave this paradise we were advised that we could stay as long as we wanted since the days guest were not expected until later. The flexibility and personal touch showed by the staff at Riad Tarabel really makes you feel like you are in a proper boutique hotel. I can not recommend this highly enough and wish that I will find the same atmosphere once I return for another stay post the expansion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This Riad really is an oasis of tranquility to retreat to when the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh takes its toll.
The rooms are beautiful-we stayed in the Palmerie suite , which has the most amazing spacious bathroom with a double shower.The choice of places to relax ,aprt from your room,depending on temperature etc was great -roof terrace ,courtyard, 3 beautiful 'salons' ,the summer one is stunning with its open fronted design onto the courtyard .
Elsa was lovely,so helpful ,and the staff are the best we have ever experienced at a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble ,anything that needed sorting out or arranging (carriage trips ,restuarant reservations etc) was all taken care of and the best thing was that they were always there when you needed them,but discrete at the same time. They y could not be faulted and we felt thoroughly spolit to have such attentive service, it really made our holiday feel special.
The location is brilliant, literally 2 mins walk from the souks and foundouks which is really good when you want to go back and kick your shoes off ,have a break and a mint tea.
We had an evening meal when we arrived and the three course meal of soup,tagine and chocolate fondants was actually the best food we had in Marrakesh.

All in all can I highly recommend it ...you bet!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Riad Tarabel is one of the most delightful places I have ever stayed. It was exactly as described by Mr and Mrs Smith and all previous reviewers on Trip Advisor. Peaceful; wonderfully restored; individual; special; some lovely spaces to unwind - several lounge areas and a lovely roof terrace. Take your pick for breakfast! But what really sets this hotel apart from everywhere else has to be the staff - Fattah and Hameed couldn't do enough for us. They helped us choose where to eat and where to visit - arranging tables; transport and any service we requested.
Just one word of warning and this is entirely our fault...we asked for a hammam; treatment and massage (all on-site and fabulous!) and never asked the price. We were quite taken aback when we got our bill and had been charged €100 each. This is considerably more expensive than some of the 'supposedly' best spas in Marrakech! But this was the only disappointment during our stay and we would definately stay here again if we ever go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Exquisite, little gem of a hotel. Three fabulous rooms only but hotel will double in size next year. Perfectly private. Delightful staff and well organised by manageress Elsa.
We felt like plutocrats, if only for the weekend...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tarabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tarabel

Also Known As:
Riad Tarabel Hotel
Riad Tarabel Hotel Marrakech
Address: 8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Tarabel has been renovated and opened as a stunning private guesthouse. Extremelly well situated. Tarabel mixes a delightful and exquisite blend of elegance and tranquility, respecting the simplicity of old colonial Riads with its traditional arab-andalousian architecture build around a central courtyard in which orange trees and a small gurgling fountain add to the overall romantic atmosphere. The attentive and soft voiced staff of Riad Tarabel will cater to the visitors’ wishes, making your stay as comfortable and unique as possible. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tarabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Tarabel to your Saves list