We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nabila

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Nabila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Nabila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Derb el Boumba | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've spent 3 nice days in this hotel. It's not possible to call this period lovely because of poverty all around behind the hotel walls, but inside it's quite comfortable and cosy, considering quite an acceptable price for the appartment. The only serious disadvantage - no wifi in the room. But the hostess Imen is the most wonderful person in Medina who is always ready to help in anything :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay of three nights at Riad Dar Nabila. We loved the calm and quiet of the place, catching sun on the patio, had a beautiful bright and spacious room and were very warmly welcomed and instructed by Inem and her team. We had dinner once which was outstanding!

The Riad is located in the northern part of the Medina, 10-15 minutes walk to the Djeema el Fna, other sights in walking distance also. Great choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent 3 nights in Dar Nabila Riad in a twin room with a friend. They arranged a taxi pickup from the airport and Sherif (fantastic host!) welcomed us to the Riad. He provided maps and directions to the main parts of the medina and was available day and night if you needed help or just another beer!

The Riad is ~15 minute walk to the main square and it takes a few journeys to get comfortable with the route. The area at first glance may seem intimidating as it is not in the tourist area but I prefered being away from all the other tourists and at no point felt in any danger. Fantastic Riad and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed there for our few nights in Marrakech. First taxi from airport dropped us off at the opposite end of the madina (long walk to riad), go another one and told him to take us right to front door… he dropped us off and said you cant drive there so you will get guided there. Some turkey "guided" us to the door and demanded money…..note: get a taxi direct from airport or train and demand door to door service because it is possible if he knows the place. Riad is nice adn cozy, manager and staff were really nice, Breakfast was really nice.

Negatives:

1) Walk to center of Madina is long which is nice in the day but very confusing and intimidating at night. Plan on asking for directions and paying for them most likely. The entrance is off of a small secluded street down a very dark tunnel to the front door. A light would be nice.

2) Last day of our stay we were walking to center of madina and young boy was talking to us then he signal'd two older boys that were near. They fallowed behind us trying to be discrete while they sized us up; I stepped aside to let them pass. They veered off into an alley and tried to call me on, we lost them. On our way back one rapidly came our way and back into the dark entrance and luckily it was the right one and as soon as we knocked on the door he ran off.

Muggings do happen and these locals had bad news written all over them. Its to bad that this new generation of Marrakech petty thugs ruin it for the other 99% of incredible locals. My suggestion is they better mark the directions back to the Riad and be aware of the youth around that area. Like I say the place overall was great aside from those factors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Beautiful riad in the heart of the Medina! Perfect stay, beautiful Moroccan decor and feel. Manageress was so nice and helpfull. The best fruit salad ever, such tasty food! The location is a bit tricky but it s typical for Marrakesh - it's a part of a deal, if you didn't get lost in Marrakesh you probably didn't experience it fully ;) loved it to bits and would definitely go back any time, real Marrakesh experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2011 for 6 days and found it to be so lovely and calm. As you enter the Riad you would never expect it to open up into a big open space. The maid (Nadia) at the time was really helpful and so were the French couple and their baby daughter Lou who were very hospitable. The rooms upstairs are bigger and more open so would recommend staying there if you could. The toilets and showers are rich in Moroccan style and it makes you feel like you've gone back through time. It was all clean and the riad was generally quiet. The main square is about 25 mins walk too and the shops around are really good. Staying at the riad makes you feel like you're one of the locals and everyone around you treats you nicely too. Would defo stay here again in the future if I could go there again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms upstairs as they're much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dar Nabila is in a quiet street just off the hustle and bustle of a main Medina thoroughfare. It is near to a gate to the Medina, which means that the bus station is very convenient. It is a 20 minute walk from the main square and is quiet at night. It is very hard to find without help, and as we discovered, directions from strangers are not often helpful, except when you want to go to a cousin's restaurant. Get a good map, stick to one route, watch for (and photograph) landmarks. We didn't do this and got lost on the first evening.

On arrival, we had a transfer from the airport, and Imen met us and took us to the riad. Her welcome was extraordinary, tea, advice, good directions. Throughout, her input was the best thing, and all the staff there were first-rate. She is also a good cook, as we discovered when we took the easy option and ate at the Riad on the first evening. Mostly good points to add to this: comfort, calm, spacious heated room, nice en-suite, the room was good value for money. It lacked small details, like a hairdryer, and a reasonable number of coathangers. The extra pillow I asked.for (and got) then disappeared. Small, annoying things, so easily put right.

The food was excellent: best breakfasts we had, with fresh mandarins, lovely baguettes, cake and so on. Nice rooftop area for sunbathing. I would have given it 5 stars for all the positives, which far outweighed the little negatives.

I have to say that "extras" are over-priced, for example, meals, drinks, transfer. I wish that we had been informed that they charge a 4% supplement for using a credit card. None of this is the fault of the personnel on the ground, Back to the title, and our thanks to Imen (sorry if I've spelt that wrongly) and "l'équipe" for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Nabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nabila

Address: 71 Derb el Boumba | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nabila 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Nabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nabila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Nabila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.