We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the medina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nabila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Nabila to your Saves list
Riad Dar Nabila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Derb el Boumba | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven in the medina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights- the Riad was exactly what we needed: a quiet, charming and cosy place to come back to after the marvellous madness of Marakshi souks. The place is beautiful and very good value, and is within walking distance of the souks and sights (15min). Iman and Cherif are very helpful, welcoming hosts and I was also very grateful for Naima's help and care at the local hammam. Our pretty room was on the first floor, which is probably even quieter than the ground floor rooms which are directly onto the central patio. We had our breakfasts on the sunny roof terrace, which was just the cherry on top!

Room Tip: First floor rooms probably!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Last December we stayed at this Riad for a night. The riad wasn't anything particularly fancy but it was very cozy. The rooms were traditional Moroccan decor and very spacious. There was an upstairs deck with patio chairs, it was great for laying out in the sun and relaxing. The house keeper was super nice but did not speak any english, but we communicated with gestures and it help us get by. She was so helpful and always cleaning. We decided to do laundry in our rooms and she helped us hang the clothes up in on the deck so it could dry properly. The location was a bit harder to find, you would definitely have to take a cab there or get a local to show you the way since the signs are not in English. Our reservation was for two nights but we were moved to a neighbouring riad for our second night. We didn't complain because everyone was just so nice. The second riad was just around the corner and had a lovely little pool in the common area. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, a great place to stay, and a fantastic way to experience Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you don't mind walking a bit in the medina, then this riad is perfect. Quite easy to reach by taxi.
The room was nice. The courtyard in the middle of the riad is also used as a breakfast room. Good breakfast and a very nice host.
Would defenitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Value for Money, ideal for some one who has likeing for long walk coz its a little off the main city centre.

Staff were cordial and very helpful. Best for short stay !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

my friend booked this riad so I had no idea what to expect. We arrived at night and it was like stepping into a little haven in the middle of the madness going on outside. The rooms are simple and perfect, the service was great and in the morning we went to the rooftop to see a view of the atlas mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Where to start with this hotel... if you want to really visit Marrakech you have to stay here. The hotel is situated in the middle of the old town and you are surrounded by the local moroccan community. The hotel is a little gem in an ocean of dirt, muck, and culture. It is peaceful and tranquil, however, beware, it is not a 5* luxury hotel, it really is a moroccan guesthouse. The courtyard is beautiful and the rooms are very nice, however opt for one of the ones upstairs. We did not pay extra and got the biggest room, however, the aircon was leaking over the toilet. The breakfast is not your usual continental breakfast, it is bread, pastries, and jams, the tea and coffee is microwaved warm (obviously already premade earlier that morning) and it leaves you feeling very tired and groggy. We needed protein and found a lovely local (at the square - 17min approx walk) restaurant serving lovely food for very cheap! the rooms are clean-ish, the floors werent great but it was all very moroccan, the upstairs rooms have aircon and the downstairs one have fans, there was somethings that were broken etc as in on the terrace some of the furniture was broke, however, we were told, that, some of the other guests that had stayed there just before we got there had broken it, by other guests. The hotel is amazing if you want the proper Moroccan experience. However I would advise that you stay here for 3-4 days tops and go to a resort for the rest of your trip (we stayed for 7days and regretted not doing it) The hotel does not have a pool, just some sunloungers on the terrace. We had dinner there once, be aware.. it is very expensive. We were paying 70Dirhams at the restaurant for two to eat, whereas, in the hotel it was about 240dirhams for a meal (and the food, although nice, was not as nice as the local restaurant (toubkal).
All in all, the hotel is very nice, authentic, and beautiful, it is set around a courtyard and all the rooms lead off of it, its a beautiful charming place and the manageress is lovely however, the guy that works there is rude. The downsides are, you are surrounded by culture, some may see this as the thing they want, if it is then do stay here, if you want a proper holiday then dont stay in a riad for more than 3-4 days. I would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the upstairs rooms, the one furthest away from the staircase is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Riad Dar Nabila for 4 nights from 12th february. I booked this as a surprise 50th Birthday present for my Partner, so wanted it to be perfect. He had mentioned that he would like to go to Marrakech and stay in a traditional Riad. We were collected at the airport and Cecilia met us from the taxi and led us down to the Riad. once inside we were given mint tea and pastries and made very welcome.
our room was not the one we had booked so were given another room which was fairly small but very comfortable. we were on the lower floor so the room led out onto the central courtyard, so you didn't really have a great amount of privacy but this seems to be the case in most small Riads. It does say tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there were none, so Cecilia let us use the kitchen for this whenever we wanted to, we also kept some things in the fridge.
Cecilia was lovely, she was very helpful and cooked us a wonderful tajine, although eating in the Riad was 15 euros (expensive compared to restaurants ) we ate there one night and it was lovely.
We were there on Valentines Day and Cecilia bought roses which Andy (my partner) arranged for her she even let us have one for our room.
I see people have mentioned recently of being "locked in " and the place being unattended at night. we did notice that there was no one there at night, which was slightly worrying regarding emergencies etc. however we had a key and could get out if we needed to. We had booked a bus to Essaouira and were up making tea at 5.30 am, no one was there but we just let ourselves out when we were ready .
There is a lovely sun terrace on the top of the Riad, this was great and even in February it was very hot and sunny.
Outside the Riad was a different matter, we got lost on the first night after a taxi dropped us off and said "your Riad down there" we wandered around for a while and then 2 lads walked us back to the Riad they did expect paying but I was so glad to be back safe. After this bad experience we got a taxi back to the bus station and then just walked through madina gates and down to the Riad, it is easy to find if you remember a few landmarks or street names.
Marrakech is an amazing place to visit, most of the people are friendly and a bit of politeness and respect goes a long way here ! The night market is fascinating,we sat on a restaurant roof terrace watching them set up one evening, just seeing how it comes alive was great.
You do get pestered by shop keepers but we just said no, thank you and that was fine.
The streets are quite dirty and there is begging but you just have to accept this, although it was difficult to begin with.
We had a trip to the Atlas mountains organised by the Riad. It was just us and a driver, we stopped off in a little town and visited a market before going to the mountains, what a great day.
We also took a local bus to Essaouira we paid about £24 for both of us, it is a 3 1/2 hour journey but well worth it, the port was lovely and relaxed, a complete contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We had all day there, compared to just a few hours if booked through the Riad and much, much cheaper !
We will certainly be going back to Marrakech and will probably spend a couple more nights in the Riad.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor will certainly have more privacy than those on the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Nabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nabila

Address: 71 Derb el Boumba | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nabila 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Nabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nabila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Nabila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.