We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marrakchi

Le Marrakchi
52, rue des Banques, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
212 524 443 377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a busy day in the Souk's we decided to stop in for a glass of wine. After we got there we really enjoyed the view and the atmosphere of the restaurant and decided to stay for dinner. I have to admit after checking how far down the restaurant had been rated by others on trip advisor we hesitated. So glad we decided to stay because we had a very good meal. We had lovely service even thought the restaurant was completely full. We had ordered the typical Moroccan meal for two and enjoyed it very much. We look forward to going back there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    261
    134
    66
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Location and the decor were the only good aspects.

The actual experience was frustrating and humiliating. The waiters took forever and I was impossible to get their attention.

Mid way through taking my order, the waiter walked off to chat to another waiter and didn't come back for 5 mins, very strange and rude I thought.

Took 15 minutes from time of asking the bill to receiving it.

This is a good place to waste your time in Marrakesh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rude and arrogant staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

First we were ignored for ages. Then when we were served the waiter was rude and arrogant. Do not waste your time in here!! We left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were very pleased to be in this restaurant after battling our way round the souks. It's upstairs so you can see the medina and they had a morrocan band playing. I see a couple of poor reviews and am very surprised as I thought the food and wine were reasonably priced and very good. The atmosphere is romantic, with low lighting and candlelight and the waiters made all my food and drink turn up when I wanted it which is all I'm after in waiting staff.

I can definitely recommend a visit there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Completely disrespected by Waiter Abdellah, who was EXTREMELY RUDE from start to finish. After reading Jgy6000's review below, I can only conclude that they don't like english speakers, or are racist.

1) Took everyone else's orders before ours (I didn't mind at that point, but this is the start)

2) Did not inform us that there was no more of the dish I ordered, then got visibly agitated as I had to look at the menu again to make a quick decision. Ran off as I was trying to order my replacement dish. Even people on surrounding tables seemed SHOCKED at the way he was behaving.

3) Took ages to come back to take our order.

4) Got agitated again when my partner tried to point out the starter he already knew that he wanted. He literally got angry and muttered under his breath and rolled his eyes!!! - I think he realised this and came back to apologise and say that the restaurant was too busy but this is really too little too late. I should really have left the restaurant at this point. We stayed, which was a big mistake.

I was fuming and had never been so humiliated and disrespected in my life. This is AFTER spending some time finding this restaurant (recommended by a driver) and then WAITING for 20 mins - which I did not even mind.

As for the food, it was really very average to below average. We had much better Morroccan food in many other places during our stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marrakchi also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Marrakchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marrakchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.