We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay at Riad Zahr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahr

Save Saved
You added Riad Zahr to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zahr
derb El Baroudi | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at Riad Zahr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the second time we visited Marrakech, our second booking at Riad Zahr and I wouldn't dream of going anywhere else. Nicolas and Jean-Rémy continue to provide a Moroccan home for their guests where you can relax in spotlessly beautiful, comfortable and warm surroundings. I've previously reviewed Riad Zahr and nothing has changed since August 2011, it is still a fantastic place to stay. Nicolas and Jean-Rémy work hard to make you happy and they succeed brilliantly.

This year we decided to eat dinner at the Riad and we are so glad we did because the food was excellent. Expertly prepared by Hicham we had six evening meals which were all wonderful, much better than any of the restaurants we ate at last time and so convenient and relaxing. Hicham is a brilliant cook and eating his food in such a lovely setting was the perfect end to each day. Thank you Hicham, we miss you!

I think the huge number of "excellent" Tripadvisor ratings earned by Nicolas and Jean-Rémy for Riad Zahr are completely justified because it really is that good. I recommend it to anyone unreservedly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadZahr, Owner at Riad Zahr, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi,

Hicham, Jean-Rémy and me thank you for this review.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you back home.
We wish you the best for 2013.

Very kind regards.
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My family and I stayed in Riad Zahr just prior to Christmas 2012 for a week. Nicholas and Jean Remy made us feel at home from the beginning; meeting us at our taxi drop off, cooking the meal for our first night (traditional Morrocan fair), and showing us around the maze that are the souqs on our way to the main square, Jeema el Fna in such a way that we wouldn't get lost at all throughout the week.
The Riad itself is a very homely place that is a calm oasis (or siwah - the house cats name!), in the midst of a bustling city. The Riad is sympathetically furnished with a wonderful roof terrace where we ate homemade Morrocan breakfast and listened to the call to prayer in the evening, and played cards!

Merci beaucoup Nicholas et Jean Remy! If we are in Morocco again, we will most certainly be in touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadZahr, Owner at Riad Zahr, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Familly,

Many thanks for your review, from SIWA too (our cat)

We wishes a Happy new year 2013, and perhaps see you next year.

Very kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Marrakech, do yourself a favor and book at Riad Zahr. It is a beautiful place (and I do mean beautiful) and the manager and staff provide a excellent service. Riad Zahr is located in the middle of the Medina and is about a 15min walk away from Djemaa el Fna. It's a bit hidden which made it very interesting to us... you probably won't find better value for your money in Marrakech! I definitely recommend this riad to everyone, who plans a trip to Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadZahr, Owner at Riad Zahr, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Many thanks for this great review.
Your are welcome at home.

Very kind regards
Nicolas, Jean-Rémy and Hicham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for five nights last April and have such warm memories of this place. The riad is cosy and beautiful. Our room was large, comfortable and traditionally decorated. The owners were so warm it felt like you were staying with family which is really something. Absolutely stunning, a haven of calm and breakfast on the roof when weather permitted was gorgeous and so delicious.

We arrived late at night, but were met promptly by the driver. Nicolas the owner of the riad came to greet us and carry our suitcases. Lovely people, Nicolas and Jean-Remy couldn't have been more helpful throughout our entire trip. We ate once in the riad and although a little pricier than the rest of Marrakech it was so worth it! The food was divine and the bottle of wine was well needed after the journey.

Nicolas gives you a map of Marrakech, don't lose this. You will need this coming home late at night. They also walk you through to the centre, pay attention to all the landmarks on the map. They also give you advice not to follow anyone from the centre who tells you there's another market place for non-tourists, better prices etc.. Sounds obvious but they are very persuasive!

Marrakech was fantastic, it was an adventure through to town and back everyday but we enjoyed every second of it. You learn to say no a lot and then you can get around without being hasselled so much. Would absolutely stay again at Riad Zahr!!

Room Tip: Take the transfers, you will never find the riad without them. Don't lose the map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Have just arrived back in the UK after 7 wonderful nights here!

The Riad itself is beautiful, the decor is lovely and it was really nice to relax on the roof after a day of explporing. Our room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. After a day out in Marrakech it was great to come back here, in fact a relief at some points as it was so serene.

Nicolas makes everything so easy for you. He arranged for our airport transfers (15 euros each way, but definately worth it). He then meets you from a drop off point and takes you to the Riad. This is a must as without his help we would have no chance finiding it. On arrival he also gave as a Marrakech mobile, and a map to get to the Riad and up to jemaa el fna. He also organised for us to go on a trip to the Ouzoud Waterfalls which was for a good price and was a brilliant trip.

Only 2 small things, the alley way leading to the Riad, although we were told it was well lit, is actually very dark. I had my phone with me and we had to use this as a torch for a little while. Without it, part of the street was very dark. As well we had also arranged for a meal on our arrival night, and although the meal was lovely, Nicolas had forgotten I was vegetarian (and I perhaps should have reminded him on arrival) and I was served a beef tagine. Although apolgetic, it would have been nice if the price of the main was not charged. Not a big deal though as starter and dessert were lovely and both filling.

I would definately stay here again, and would definately advise others to book here too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I and my mother stayed at the riad for 5 nights, and Nicolas and Jean-Rèmy managed us to feel like we were home.
When we arrived a car was waiting to take us to the riad (previously booked), Nicolas met us close to the riad and walked us there. After we left everything in the room, he showed us the way to Jemaa el-Fna, in details, pointing every reference he could. It was perfect and we never got lost in Marrakech. He also gave us a little map (which was really helpful) and a cell phone in case we needed.
They where really helpful with everything that we've asked, since booking a desert tour, until changing the date of our train ticket.
Our stay was perfect, every day we got an amazing breakfast at the rooftop. We also had dinner two times, and Hicham cooking was perfection.
We spent my mother's birthday at the riad, and for desert Nicolas managed to buy a cake. Lovely!
The riad is located in the medina, 15/20min to Jemaa el-Fna, there's some restaurants and some shops close to it.
We stayed at a beautiful room, with a double bed, and a bathroom. It was a little bit dark, but for what I've noticed that's how the rooms are illuminated in Morocco.
We just wished we spoke French (my mother only speaks Portuguese), so we could spend a few hours chatting with them!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A beautiful and traditional Riad with a central courtyard and roof top terrace. Whilst difficult to find first time (the offer of a taxi from the airport and being met by Nicolas on arrival at the nearest vehicular access point is worth taking up), once you have been taken to the riad and also to the main square, navigating the twisting alleys of the medina after this is easier. Riad Zahr is a 20 minute walk from the main square and is in a very quiet location away from the chaos of the souks and square.

Nicolas and Jean-Remy are excellent attentives hosts, and nothing is to much trouble. The provision of a mobile phone to contact them if required is a nice touch. The breakfatss were always fresh and tasty and even in February it is warm enough to eat breakfast on the roof terrace.

The room and riad were traditionally decorated and very comfortable. The ensuite bathroom always had hot water available for a shower. Wifi was also very efficient.

We would recommend this beautiful riad to anybody visiting Marrakech. Excellent value for money in a homely setting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahr

Address: derb El Baroudi | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional home in Marrakech, you dive in the heart of moroccan traditions in a relaxed atmosphere.Let us guide you and taste the joys of Medina.We want your stay is a timeless moment ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Zahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahr Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.