We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahr

Save Saved
You added Riad Zahr to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zahr
derb El Baroudi | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Marrakech, do yourself a favor and book at Riad Zahr. It is a beautiful place (and I do mean beautiful) and the manager and staff provide a excellent service. Riad Zahr is located in the middle of the Medina and is about a 15min walk away from Djemaa el Fna. It's a bit hidden which made it very interesting to us... you probably won't find better value for your money in Marrakech! I definitely recommend this riad to everyone, who plans a trip to Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadZahr, Owner at Riad Zahr, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Many thanks for this great review.
Your are welcome at home.

Very kind regards
Nicolas, Jean-Rémy and Hicham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for five nights last April and have such warm memories of this place. The riad is cosy and beautiful. Our room was large, comfortable and traditionally decorated. The owners were so warm it felt like you were staying with family which is really something. Absolutely stunning, a haven of calm and breakfast on the roof when weather permitted was gorgeous and so delicious.

We arrived late at night, but were met promptly by the driver. Nicolas the owner of the riad came to greet us and carry our suitcases. Lovely people, Nicolas and Jean-Remy couldn't have been more helpful throughout our entire trip. We ate once in the riad and although a little pricier than the rest of Marrakech it was so worth it! The food was divine and the bottle of wine was well needed after the journey.

Nicolas gives you a map of Marrakech, don't lose this. You will need this coming home late at night. They also walk you through to the centre, pay attention to all the landmarks on the map. They also give you advice not to follow anyone from the centre who tells you there's another market place for non-tourists, better prices etc.. Sounds obvious but they are very persuasive!

Marrakech was fantastic, it was an adventure through to town and back everyday but we enjoyed every second of it. You learn to say no a lot and then you can get around without being hasselled so much. Would absolutely stay again at Riad Zahr!!

Room Tip: Take the transfers, you will never find the riad without them. Don't lose the map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Have just arrived back in the UK after 7 wonderful nights here!

The Riad itself is beautiful, the decor is lovely and it was really nice to relax on the roof after a day of explporing. Our room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. After a day out in Marrakech it was great to come back here, in fact a relief at some points as it was so serene.

Nicolas makes everything so easy for you. He arranged for our airport transfers (15 euros each way, but definately worth it). He then meets you from a drop off point and takes you to the Riad. This is a must as without his help we would have no chance finiding it. On arrival he also gave as a Marrakech mobile, and a map to get to the Riad and up to jemaa el fna. He also organised for us to go on a trip to the Ouzoud Waterfalls which was for a good price and was a brilliant trip.

Only 2 small things, the alley way leading to the Riad, although we were told it was well lit, is actually very dark. I had my phone with me and we had to use this as a torch for a little while. Without it, part of the street was very dark. As well we had also arranged for a meal on our arrival night, and although the meal was lovely, Nicolas had forgotten I was vegetarian (and I perhaps should have reminded him on arrival) and I was served a beef tagine. Although apolgetic, it would have been nice if the price of the main was not charged. Not a big deal though as starter and dessert were lovely and both filling.

I would definately stay here again, and would definately advise others to book here too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I and my mother stayed at the riad for 5 nights, and Nicolas and Jean-Rèmy managed us to feel like we were home.
When we arrived a car was waiting to take us to the riad (previously booked), Nicolas met us close to the riad and walked us there. After we left everything in the room, he showed us the way to Jemaa el-Fna, in details, pointing every reference he could. It was perfect and we never got lost in Marrakech. He also gave us a little map (which was really helpful) and a cell phone in case we needed.
They where really helpful with everything that we've asked, since booking a desert tour, until changing the date of our train ticket.
Our stay was perfect, every day we got an amazing breakfast at the rooftop. We also had dinner two times, and Hicham cooking was perfection.
We spent my mother's birthday at the riad, and for desert Nicolas managed to buy a cake. Lovely!
The riad is located in the medina, 15/20min to Jemaa el-Fna, there's some restaurants and some shops close to it.
We stayed at a beautiful room, with a double bed, and a bathroom. It was a little bit dark, but for what I've noticed that's how the rooms are illuminated in Morocco.
We just wished we spoke French (my mother only speaks Portuguese), so we could spend a few hours chatting with them!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A beautiful and traditional Riad with a central courtyard and roof top terrace. Whilst difficult to find first time (the offer of a taxi from the airport and being met by Nicolas on arrival at the nearest vehicular access point is worth taking up), once you have been taken to the riad and also to the main square, navigating the twisting alleys of the medina after this is easier. Riad Zahr is a 20 minute walk from the main square and is in a very quiet location away from the chaos of the souks and square.

Nicolas and Jean-Remy are excellent attentives hosts, and nothing is to much trouble. The provision of a mobile phone to contact them if required is a nice touch. The breakfatss were always fresh and tasty and even in February it is warm enough to eat breakfast on the roof terrace.

The room and riad were traditionally decorated and very comfortable. The ensuite bathroom always had hot water available for a shower. Wifi was also very efficient.

We would recommend this beautiful riad to anybody visiting Marrakech. Excellent value for money in a homely setting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

There is overwhelming choice for places to stay in Marrakech, but Riad Zahr is definitely a safe bet for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Nicholas met us from the taxi (a necessity, as Riad Zahr is well hidden and not sign-posted) and gave us a mobile phone, map and a tour of the area to ensure we could safely navigate our way around. Nicholas and Jean-Remy are perfectly attentive hosts and we couldn't have asked for more from them. The meal they prepared for us on our arrival was superb, and they were only too happy to arrange a day-trip to Ourika-Asni for us.

Our room (the superior double) was clean, simple and tastefully decorated, with a private toilet and shower. There isn't a key for it, but it is a secure building and our belongings were safe there everyday. Breakfast on the roof-top every morning was a treat - the weather was beautiful even in February, and the various pancakes, breads and jams were delicious. The coffee was the best I have ever tasted, and the location of the Riad means that it is very peaceful and quiet, but still only a 15-minute walk from the main square.

They also have a young cat, which was a plus for us feline-lovers, but might not be if you don't appreciate loud meowing in the early hours of the morning.

We paid 45 euros per night for the superior double room, including breakfast, which was excellent value. I would happily stay here again, although there didn't appear to be any air conditioning which might be a problem in the height of summer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at this lovely Riad for 4 nights, as a base for exploring Marrakech. We had already seen many great reviews about this place, and we weren't disappointed.
The Riad is a beautiful place, hidden away amongst the tiny streets and dark passageways. The peace and quiet, the decoration and the attention to detail were all wonderful, as were our charming hosts Nicolas and Jean-Remy.
We were collected from the airport by private taxi transfer, arranged by Nicolas, who was waiting to collect us at the end of the street ready to lead us to the Riad. He then, very helpfully, walked with us to the main square to show us the way through what is a very confusing and complicated place..! He also gave us a Morroccan mobile phone to use in case we got lost, and this was a really nice touch.
Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated, as was the rest of the house and roof terrace. Breakfast each morning was served in the sunshine on the roof terrace, and we had a different type of bread, pancakes etc each day, as well as orange juice, coffee etc.
Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at Riad Zahr, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech - a wonderful place, lovely hosts and great value for money. Thank you...!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahr

Address: derb El Baroudi | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional home in Marrakech, you dive in the heart of moroccan traditions in a relaxed atmosphere.Let us guide you and taste the joys of Medina.We want your stay is a timeless moment ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Zahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahr Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.