We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Miski

Save Saved
You added Riad Miski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Miski
6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in this riad in December 2012. Amazing location (10min from Djema square), amazing service and staff. The owners Christine and Francis made us feel at home, and helped us in planning our trip there, helping us with maps and giving us great local tips. Rooms are affordable and lovely, decorated with charm, bathroom was very clean and beautiful. the riad is beautiful, with a great patio and an amazing sunny terrace where you can have breakfast every day. The service was great, especially Christine for her help and youssef, serving mint tea and breakfasts. really recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
263
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Cristina and Yousef were both awesome hosts and very hospitable! They made sure we had a lovely stay and saw to it that all of our needs were attended to. The riad is very nice and clean and she even upgraded us to a larger room because the Riad was not fully booked.

MAKE SURE TO DO THE COOKING CLASS! it was amazing. Its about 40 euro for a 2 hour class and dinner and well worth it. The teacher is lovely and she takes you to the food markets and is very helpful throughout the course.

Cristina also recommended the Ensemble Handicraft, which is the only government endorsed markets where its much more quiet than the souks and the products are great quality! The prices are close (a little higher) to what you could barter down in the souks, except in these markets items are fixed price and you are guaranteed to have good quality. Even better is that the shopkeepers don't haggle you and you're able to relax and browse. Thanks Cristina for the recommendation.

I'd highly recommend staying here. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here in October, and Christine was the perfect host! Arranged a private hammam and dinner for me, all on short notice! Graciously accommodating during the Eid holiday. Room was quiet, peaceful, and serene. Bathroom absolutely stunning. About a ten minute walk to the main square. Christine prepared a very helpful map so I could explore the medina without a guide. A great way to enjoy Marrakech!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and what a great location to be in. Although situated in the poorer area of Marrakech it is safe and very close to the bustling Medina and Souks. There are 6 rooms and ours was basically furnished but with all you need. As noted by a previous traveller there is only a curtain leading to the shower and toilet area but it did not cause us an issue. I would advise that the bed is very hard, not sure if this is the "norm" but I did struggle a little getting comfy. Lovely and cool throughout the Riad so would be perfect during the hotter months. Lots of greenery growing in the central courtyard making it all feel calm. The roof terrace is lovely to sit and have breakfast on with lovely views across to the Atlas Mountains.
Christine the host met us and spent time going through the map and places to visit which was so helpful. There are several packages available to purchase through the Riad such as cookery lessons, treks to the mountains and they have a small Hamman facility. We did book the cooking lesson and spent a morning with Areja going out to buy our ingredients and then cooking our lunch. It was very enjoyable - maybe some pre-prepared recipe sheets would be useful as it is tricky to pay attention while writing and detracts from your cooking time but overall great fun. I had already booked a mountain trek from the UK and there was a particular Hamman that I wanted to visit so we did not book these options.
We had one evening meal at the Riad which was lovely and the waiter was charming. Overall a great stay at a great price. Many thanks, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the central courtyard and are on two floors. Stairs are steep but that will occur in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I knew I wanted to return one day to this wonderful Riad, after a succesful visit with friends a couple of years ago, - and fortunately my dreams came true last week, medium of nov 2012. This time together with my husband and an other couple. And as the heading says, it was like coming home! Christine and Francis were standing in the hall waiting for us, and so friendly wishing us welcome! The service has been outstanding, and they both have the unique talent of treating you and seeing you as kind of special all the time. The athmosphere in the Riad is so pleasant, warm and calm, and a big contrast to the chaos outside. Christine, who speaks English fluently, took us around in the labyrinths of the souks, she arranged and accompanied us to resturants, and arranged a great tour to the Atlas mountains. The massage treatment from Francis (and his helper (name??), was like beeing in heaven, while relaxing Maroccian music softly filled the room. And when we left, he had copied two CD`s for us with this wonderful World music. We have played it daily after coming home!( I just wished I had attended a course in French so I could talk more to him....) . Yousuf , whoallways was there late in the evening when we returned, and early i the morning serving breakfast, was lovely, allways smiling! His hospitality was so friendly and he gave us a lot of information about Marrakesh and Marocco. And so proud of his country! Raja made exelent food, and fortunately , we were lucky reaching tasting it, since she just had one week left before giving birth! The rooms were very well cleaned every day, and we were precisely picked up and transferred back to the airport.
As last time, the answers of all our questions , Christine answered "Pourquoi-pas? Why not?"
Nothing was a problem! Thank you all of you in the Miski riad, and I hope to see you again.
Love from Nina, close to Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Riad Miski was really great! Christine and Francis were really good hosts, gave us all the tips and a map with all the important sight seeing points in the city.
Youssef, who works there at night, was also very considerate and kind. We also had the best time in a wonderful cooking class with Raja and an unforgettable experience in the Riad´s haman. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in March 2012. We stayed initially for three nights before leaving for Essaouira and returning to Riad Miski for one night before flying home.

Because of this we stayed in two rooms, both of which were clean and spacious with very comfortable beds.

The best things about Riad Miski are the staff and the Riad itself. The owners, Francis and Christine were great hosts, very helpful and accommodating. The other staff however are extremely helpful, polite and friendly. The cooks are amazing, the food delicious. We had breakfast every day on the rooftop terrace in the morning sun. The breakfast including fresh orange juice, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, jams, hot pancakes and bread. We also had an evening meal at the Riad, which was arranged by informing staff at lunchtime. Again, delicious.

We also tried the Hammam treatment which was good value and worth trying. It included an hour of washing and scrubbing and an hour of massage.

Christine will also help you book anything you like, trips and food reservations. She also provided maps and guides to the city, as well as tips!

The riad is ten minutes walk to the main square. Taxis will drop you two minutes walk away, coming from the south; they can't go any further because the roads are too narrow. I suggest using the taxi organised by Christine, the driver was excellent and escorted us to the door and carried our luggage, also stopping opportunistic bag carriers!

If we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here.

One tip, book a rental car in advance. I assumed we could easily get one of the day from Ave Mohamed V, but we were lucky to get one in the end from the third place we tried.

Room Tip: Vanille was our favourite of the two rooms because it was at the end of the corridor, no one walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Miski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Miski

Address: 6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Miski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Miski Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Miski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.