We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the noisy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Miski

Save Saved
You added Riad Miski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Miski
6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in the noisy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Riad Miski was really great! Christine and Francis were really good hosts, gave us all the tips and a map with all the important sight seeing points in the city.
Youssef, who works there at night, was also very considerate and kind. We also had the best time in a wonderful cooking class with Raja and an unforgettable experience in the Riad´s haman. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
263
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in March 2012. We stayed initially for three nights before leaving for Essaouira and returning to Riad Miski for one night before flying home.

Because of this we stayed in two rooms, both of which were clean and spacious with very comfortable beds.

The best things about Riad Miski are the staff and the Riad itself. The owners, Francis and Christine were great hosts, very helpful and accommodating. The other staff however are extremely helpful, polite and friendly. The cooks are amazing, the food delicious. We had breakfast every day on the rooftop terrace in the morning sun. The breakfast including fresh orange juice, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, jams, hot pancakes and bread. We also had an evening meal at the Riad, which was arranged by informing staff at lunchtime. Again, delicious.

We also tried the Hammam treatment which was good value and worth trying. It included an hour of washing and scrubbing and an hour of massage.

Christine will also help you book anything you like, trips and food reservations. She also provided maps and guides to the city, as well as tips!

The riad is ten minutes walk to the main square. Taxis will drop you two minutes walk away, coming from the south; they can't go any further because the roads are too narrow. I suggest using the taxi organised by Christine, the driver was excellent and escorted us to the door and carried our luggage, also stopping opportunistic bag carriers!

If we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here.

One tip, book a rental car in advance. I assumed we could easily get one of the day from Ave Mohamed V, but we were lucky to get one in the end from the third place we tried.

Room Tip: Vanille was our favourite of the two rooms because it was at the end of the corridor, no one walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently came back from 5 days in Marrakech where we stayed at Riad Miski. This beautiful Riad is situated in the centre of the Medina among all the noise and activity of vibrant Marrakech, but it is a haven of peace, quiet and tranquility. The rooms are very clean, the food is excellent and the hosts could not do enough for you.

The Miski is owned by Christine and Francis and they and their staff made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. We were provided with maps of the Medina and Christine took us on a tour of the souks so that we could get our bearings (and believe me this was a God sent as there are so many small roads and passages it is easy to get lost). Christine also recommended places to eat (and drink, as there are very few places that sell alcohol). We tried the Marrachi and Le Tanjia restaurants, both recommended and excellent.

On one day we had a trip to the Atlas mountains, this was arranged by Christine. We were taken to a valley well away from the touristy areas and had a great day experiencing the Berber culture. Our guide spoke very good English and we would definitely recommend this trip.

The Riad also offers hammam and massage, by Francis and Souad. My friend and I took advantage of this, you will not experience anything like this in England (but be prepared to lose your modesty!!).Definitely worth a try.

All in all a brilliant trip, we would most definitely go back and stay at Riad Miski again. Christine and Francis are fantastic hosts, the food at the Riad from breakfast to evening meal was gorgeous and the staff kind and helpful. A special thank you to Youssef who is absolutely charming, he looked after us so well and always with a smile, nothing was ever too much.

The Riad Miski is a real gem in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a total of four nights in Riad Miski over a ten day period (one single night and three consecutive nights) and stayed in the Gingembre and Raz El Hanout suites. The riad is located in a bustling residential area away from the main tourist hotspots, but close enough for you not to feel isolated, providing you with a glimpse into the “real” day-to-day life in Marrakech. We found this to be ideal as on our wanders around the area we encountered no hustle from faux guides, paid “local” as opposed to “tourist” prices for snacks and drinks in the little shops, and found the local residents to be genuinely helpful and charming - things not always encountered in other parts of the Marrakech medina. A mere ten minute walk - easily followed and safe (even in the evenings) - takes you to the intensity of the open air circus that is Jemaa El Fna and all the tourist attractions in its proximity.

The booking process via e-mail was simple and pain free, and despite initial confusion (on our part) about how many nights we required and at what times we would arrive, Christine dealt with our requests without problems and managed to accommodate us with fairly short notice, and her e-mail communication was always swift. When we first arrived (late at night) Christine kindly arranged for a private driver to collect us from the train station and take us to the riad, but it is just as easy to take a petit taxi to Ben Saleh square and walk from there (a couple of minutes walk), which we did when we arrived for our second stay.

Christine and Francis really make you feel like family as soon as you step through the door and are usually on hand during the day for advice and helpful recommendations on what to do and see, restaurants to visit (or not visit), and so on. No requests or queries ever seem to be any trouble and they are always happy to help, or just have a chat, and as local residents for many years they have tried and tested many places of interest and can thus provide honest and reliable advice/recommendations. Catering and housekeeping duties are also impeccably provided by Youssef and Raja on a daily basis, and one or both of them are always present whenever Christine and Francis are absent (even at night). Breakfasts are basic but filling and set you up for the day’s activities, and a tasty dinner can be provided if requested in advance (cooked by Raja who also teaches cooking classes) - something we took advantage of on our first night.

The rooms are tastefully decorated by Christine, who has a flair for interior decorating and has added her personal, artistic touches to all the rooms, and the beds are very comfortable. Not all rooms have air-con, but the Raz El Hanout suite - which has no air-con - was provided with a fan that proved more than sufficient to combat the hot climate (and I tend to suffer greatly from overheating at night even in cool London).

Overall Riad Miski is a fantastic place to stay in Marrakech, highly recommended, great value for money, and we would definitely stay there again if/when returning to Marrakech.

(Tip: if you do visit, a gift of rare - in Marrakech - and much coveted French charcuterie and/or fromagerie products will be greatly appreciated by Christine and Francis, and will keep you in their good books forever.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geertruidenberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Together with my mother a spent 5 days at Riad Miski and from the beginning till the end it was such a warm welkom and nice place! Christine (one of the owners) is a loverly France lady who made from this Riad a wonderful place (she is a designer with a really good taste. Francis (her funny husband and also owner) gives you not only a great hammam and massage but also all the tips and best places of Marrakech. At last Youssef (the host) is there any moment you'll need him. Every evening he'll wait till we are (safe) at home and every morning he makes a lovely breakfast.
No doubt dat we'll go back. This is for us the best place to be!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Easy booking through the website. The hotel is ok, but feels a bit tired in places and the rooms don't quite live up to the promise in the photos, although it is clean and the courtyard is charming. The riad is further from the Medina than we had expected (a good 10 minute walk) and requires you to walk down a few side streets - not a problem during the day, but you are aware of it if walking back later on in the evening. Overall, not a bad choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miskiMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Miski, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Our Riad is located inside the medina so you have just to push the door to feel the authentic atmosphere of the old city. Wandering in the small side streets is one thing you must do in Marrakech and it is safe.
Two hundreds of traveler’s pictures on this site will give you a perfect idea of what you can expect at Riad Miski.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Riad Miski. Christine arranged a taxi transfer from the airport, which although more expensive than getting your own Petit taxi from the airport, is absolutely essential, as you would not find the riad easily. Tucked away in a non touristy part of the Medina, there is still plenty to see and lots of atmosphere, but off the main tourist routes.
We were greeted by the lovely Yusuf, the riad's assistant, who speaks pretty good English. Shortly followed by Christine, who has a lovely warm manner, without being too intrusive. Christine obviously wants you to feel at home in her riad and gets the balance of appearance throughout our 4 night stay just right. Giving us our geographical bearings, restaurant recommendations and ideas for trips etc.

Our room, the rose room, was spot on. Just the right size to make the air con effective, and nicely finished. Worth the extra pennies for the larger room.

Raja cooked us dinner on our arrival which was a fantastic welcome to Marrakesh. She pre-cooked the tagine and Yusuf served it for us on the terrace, meaning there was no pressure as to when we were to eat.

Breakfast is a familiar set up, with Yusuf serving slightly different variations each morning, of fruit, smoothies, juice, pancakes, bread and jams etc.

We had a couples hamam and massage in the private hotel hamam and were blown away by it. Very strange experience for prude English people, definitely worth the experience!

The riad is a tranquil place to stay that I can't recommend enough. Go stay there, you will not be disappointed!! (I stayed in a hotel outside the Medina last time I was in Marrakesh and this is such a better way to visit).

Room Tip: The larger rooms are on the first floor, so offer better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Miski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Miski

Address: 6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Miski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Miski Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Miski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.