We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful riad in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Miski

Save Saved
You added Riad Miski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Miski
6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful riad in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a total of four nights in Riad Miski over a ten day period (one single night and three consecutive nights) and stayed in the Gingembre and Raz El Hanout suites. The riad is located in a bustling residential area away from the main tourist hotspots, but close enough for you not to feel isolated, providing you with a glimpse into the “real” day-to-day life in Marrakech. We found this to be ideal as on our wanders around the area we encountered no hustle from faux guides, paid “local” as opposed to “tourist” prices for snacks and drinks in the little shops, and found the local residents to be genuinely helpful and charming - things not always encountered in other parts of the Marrakech medina. A mere ten minute walk - easily followed and safe (even in the evenings) - takes you to the intensity of the open air circus that is Jemaa El Fna and all the tourist attractions in its proximity.

The booking process via e-mail was simple and pain free, and despite initial confusion (on our part) about how many nights we required and at what times we would arrive, Christine dealt with our requests without problems and managed to accommodate us with fairly short notice, and her e-mail communication was always swift. When we first arrived (late at night) Christine kindly arranged for a private driver to collect us from the train station and take us to the riad, but it is just as easy to take a petit taxi to Ben Saleh square and walk from there (a couple of minutes walk), which we did when we arrived for our second stay.

Christine and Francis really make you feel like family as soon as you step through the door and are usually on hand during the day for advice and helpful recommendations on what to do and see, restaurants to visit (or not visit), and so on. No requests or queries ever seem to be any trouble and they are always happy to help, or just have a chat, and as local residents for many years they have tried and tested many places of interest and can thus provide honest and reliable advice/recommendations. Catering and housekeeping duties are also impeccably provided by Youssef and Raja on a daily basis, and one or both of them are always present whenever Christine and Francis are absent (even at night). Breakfasts are basic but filling and set you up for the day’s activities, and a tasty dinner can be provided if requested in advance (cooked by Raja who also teaches cooking classes) - something we took advantage of on our first night.

The rooms are tastefully decorated by Christine, who has a flair for interior decorating and has added her personal, artistic touches to all the rooms, and the beds are very comfortable. Not all rooms have air-con, but the Raz El Hanout suite - which has no air-con - was provided with a fan that proved more than sufficient to combat the hot climate (and I tend to suffer greatly from overheating at night even in cool London).

Overall Riad Miski is a fantastic place to stay in Marrakech, highly recommended, great value for money, and we would definitely stay there again if/when returning to Marrakech.

(Tip: if you do visit, a gift of rare - in Marrakech - and much coveted French charcuterie and/or fromagerie products will be greatly appreciated by Christine and Francis, and will keep you in their good books forever.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
263
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geertruidenberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Together with my mother a spent 5 days at Riad Miski and from the beginning till the end it was such a warm welkom and nice place! Christine (one of the owners) is a loverly France lady who made from this Riad a wonderful place (she is a designer with a really good taste. Francis (her funny husband and also owner) gives you not only a great hammam and massage but also all the tips and best places of Marrakech. At last Youssef (the host) is there any moment you'll need him. Every evening he'll wait till we are (safe) at home and every morning he makes a lovely breakfast.
No doubt dat we'll go back. This is for us the best place to be!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Easy booking through the website. The hotel is ok, but feels a bit tired in places and the rooms don't quite live up to the promise in the photos, although it is clean and the courtyard is charming. The riad is further from the Medina than we had expected (a good 10 minute walk) and requires you to walk down a few side streets - not a problem during the day, but you are aware of it if walking back later on in the evening. Overall, not a bad choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miskiMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Miski, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Our Riad is located inside the medina so you have just to push the door to feel the authentic atmosphere of the old city. Wandering in the small side streets is one thing you must do in Marrakech and it is safe.
Two hundreds of traveler’s pictures on this site will give you a perfect idea of what you can expect at Riad Miski.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Riad Miski. Christine arranged a taxi transfer from the airport, which although more expensive than getting your own Petit taxi from the airport, is absolutely essential, as you would not find the riad easily. Tucked away in a non touristy part of the Medina, there is still plenty to see and lots of atmosphere, but off the main tourist routes.
We were greeted by the lovely Yusuf, the riad's assistant, who speaks pretty good English. Shortly followed by Christine, who has a lovely warm manner, without being too intrusive. Christine obviously wants you to feel at home in her riad and gets the balance of appearance throughout our 4 night stay just right. Giving us our geographical bearings, restaurant recommendations and ideas for trips etc.

Our room, the rose room, was spot on. Just the right size to make the air con effective, and nicely finished. Worth the extra pennies for the larger room.

Raja cooked us dinner on our arrival which was a fantastic welcome to Marrakesh. She pre-cooked the tagine and Yusuf served it for us on the terrace, meaning there was no pressure as to when we were to eat.

Breakfast is a familiar set up, with Yusuf serving slightly different variations each morning, of fruit, smoothies, juice, pancakes, bread and jams etc.

We had a couples hamam and massage in the private hotel hamam and were blown away by it. Very strange experience for prude English people, definitely worth the experience!

The riad is a tranquil place to stay that I can't recommend enough. Go stay there, you will not be disappointed!! (I stayed in a hotel outside the Medina last time I was in Marrakesh and this is such a better way to visit).

Room Tip: The larger rooms are on the first floor, so offer better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Highly recommended.
Clean, beautifully decorated, just a 7 minutes easy walk to Jemaa elFna, in a safe locality - this riad was an oasis in the chaos that is called Marrakech. :)
The breakfast was amazing and we had lunch in the Riad once and absolutely loved it.
Christine, the owner, is friendly and very nice - made us feel at home right from the moment we stepped in. Everything is perfectly run and there is no room for complaints.
The Rose room that we stayed in was so beautifully decorated that I wanted to stay in all the time. The 45 degrees outside could also be the reason but jokes apart, the Riad had a boutique feel to it - traditional yet modern in its decors.
I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I thoroughly recommend Riad Miski having just enjoyed a stay of five days there. The riad is situated in the Medina, about a 10 minute walk from the main square, so you have ample opportunity to soak up the atmosphere of Marrakech. Even the short walk to the square provides sights and sounds to enthrall.
The riad itself is full of character and is an oasis of calm in the chaos of the Medina. It's clean, quiet, comfortable and ticks all the boxes in terms of Moroccan interior design. Christine and Francis, the owners, are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet and go to great pains to make you feel at ease in a sometimes bewildering city. They sat with us on our first night and talked us through a map of the city, suggesting things to do and places to eat. They booked tables at restaurants, ordered taxis and even walked us to restaurants that were difficult to find. The rest of the staff are equally wonderful, with a special mention for Youssef who always had a smile and a wealth of information about Marrakech, a city he clearly loves.
I would also recommend one of the day trips with their guide, Ali, who is an experience in himself. He took us to the Atlas Mountains and I learned more about Moroccan culture in half a day with Ali than I have from countless books.
The other thing that is a must do at Riad Miski is the massage. This is a bespoke massage developed by Francis over the course of his 20 plus years of experience. My partner and I had a massage mid way through the stay and it was truly special, not to mention deeply relaxing. A word of warning though, do not attempt to do anything after the massage! We went to Pepe Nero straight after to eat and were completely out of it.
If you want an authentic experience Marrakech then Riad Miski is the place for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was my second visit staying at Riad Miski.

The Riad is set within the Medina near the (Sidi) Ben Salah Mosque. This means that although it is only a five to ten minute stroll (ten to fifteen minutes if walking really slowly) from the "Big Square" (حة جامع الفناء jâmiʻ al-fanâʼ) it is actually a relatively calmer part of the Medina.

The Riad itself is absolutely perfect. I have experience of two of the rooms Gingembre and Vanille and this experience is based on two separate trips here with friends on the first trip in 2010 and, moste recently, with family two days ago in August 2012. I shall of course stick to the most recent trip.

Firstly, Francis and Christine the owners of the Riad are in themselves, amazing. They are a wealth of knowledge and advice and always help you in whatever way they can be it recommending and booking tables at restaurants or indeed walking with you to make sure that you actually get through the maze and to the restaurant (anyone who has been in the Medina will know why this is useful). In addition to this they are always available and on hand to make telephone calls and bookings for you so that there is no stress involved. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily by Radia, the food cooked by Raja is really tasty and I would reccommend that you book it for at least your first night, to allow you to settle in without the madness of the Medina.

We went on an excursion to the Ourika Valley and Ali was outstanding. He is so patient with slower members of a group as the walk is fairly challenging for those of average fitness but as he points out readily, we take as long as we take. The trip is excellent and again, I would suggest that you take Christines advice.

I could not finish without mentioning Yousif, who is the most charming young man and who made our breakfasts each morning and was available each night to serve supper etc. He speaks very good English and is always smiling and helpful and is able to give you local advice.

In short I cannot recommend the Riad Miski strongly enough! I would not stay anywhere else in the Medina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Miski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Miski

Address: 6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Miski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Miski Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Miski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.