We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Riad Miski” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Miski

Save Saved
You added Riad Miski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Miski
6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Riad Miski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Riad Miski. Christine arranged a taxi transfer from the airport, which although more expensive than getting your own Petit taxi from the airport, is absolutely essential, as you would not find the riad easily. Tucked away in a non touristy part of the Medina, there is still plenty to see and lots of atmosphere, but off the main tourist routes.
We were greeted by the lovely Yusuf, the riad's assistant, who speaks pretty good English. Shortly followed by Christine, who has a lovely warm manner, without being too intrusive. Christine obviously wants you to feel at home in her riad and gets the balance of appearance throughout our 4 night stay just right. Giving us our geographical bearings, restaurant recommendations and ideas for trips etc.

Our room, the rose room, was spot on. Just the right size to make the air con effective, and nicely finished. Worth the extra pennies for the larger room.

Raja cooked us dinner on our arrival which was a fantastic welcome to Marrakesh. She pre-cooked the tagine and Yusuf served it for us on the terrace, meaning there was no pressure as to when we were to eat.

Breakfast is a familiar set up, with Yusuf serving slightly different variations each morning, of fruit, smoothies, juice, pancakes, bread and jams etc.

We had a couples hamam and massage in the private hotel hamam and were blown away by it. Very strange experience for prude English people, definitely worth the experience!

The riad is a tranquil place to stay that I can't recommend enough. Go stay there, you will not be disappointed!! (I stayed in a hotel outside the Medina last time I was in Marrakesh and this is such a better way to visit).

Room Tip: The larger rooms are on the first floor, so offer better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
264
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Highly recommended.
Clean, beautifully decorated, just a 7 minutes easy walk to Jemaa elFna, in a safe locality - this riad was an oasis in the chaos that is called Marrakech. :)
The breakfast was amazing and we had lunch in the Riad once and absolutely loved it.
Christine, the owner, is friendly and very nice - made us feel at home right from the moment we stepped in. Everything is perfectly run and there is no room for complaints.
The Rose room that we stayed in was so beautifully decorated that I wanted to stay in all the time. The 45 degrees outside could also be the reason but jokes apart, the Riad had a boutique feel to it - traditional yet modern in its decors.
I would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I thoroughly recommend Riad Miski having just enjoyed a stay of five days there. The riad is situated in the Medina, about a 10 minute walk from the main square, so you have ample opportunity to soak up the atmosphere of Marrakech. Even the short walk to the square provides sights and sounds to enthrall.
The riad itself is full of character and is an oasis of calm in the chaos of the Medina. It's clean, quiet, comfortable and ticks all the boxes in terms of Moroccan interior design. Christine and Francis, the owners, are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet and go to great pains to make you feel at ease in a sometimes bewildering city. They sat with us on our first night and talked us through a map of the city, suggesting things to do and places to eat. They booked tables at restaurants, ordered taxis and even walked us to restaurants that were difficult to find. The rest of the staff are equally wonderful, with a special mention for Youssef who always had a smile and a wealth of information about Marrakech, a city he clearly loves.
I would also recommend one of the day trips with their guide, Ali, who is an experience in himself. He took us to the Atlas Mountains and I learned more about Moroccan culture in half a day with Ali than I have from countless books.
The other thing that is a must do at Riad Miski is the massage. This is a bespoke massage developed by Francis over the course of his 20 plus years of experience. My partner and I had a massage mid way through the stay and it was truly special, not to mention deeply relaxing. A word of warning though, do not attempt to do anything after the massage! We went to Pepe Nero straight after to eat and were completely out of it.
If you want an authentic experience Marrakech then Riad Miski is the place for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was my second visit staying at Riad Miski.

The Riad is set within the Medina near the (Sidi) Ben Salah Mosque. This means that although it is only a five to ten minute stroll (ten to fifteen minutes if walking really slowly) from the "Big Square" (حة جامع الفناء jâmiʻ al-fanâʼ) it is actually a relatively calmer part of the Medina.

The Riad itself is absolutely perfect. I have experience of two of the rooms Gingembre and Vanille and this experience is based on two separate trips here with friends on the first trip in 2010 and, moste recently, with family two days ago in August 2012. I shall of course stick to the most recent trip.

Firstly, Francis and Christine the owners of the Riad are in themselves, amazing. They are a wealth of knowledge and advice and always help you in whatever way they can be it recommending and booking tables at restaurants or indeed walking with you to make sure that you actually get through the maze and to the restaurant (anyone who has been in the Medina will know why this is useful). In addition to this they are always available and on hand to make telephone calls and bookings for you so that there is no stress involved. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily by Radia, the food cooked by Raja is really tasty and I would reccommend that you book it for at least your first night, to allow you to settle in without the madness of the Medina.

We went on an excursion to the Ourika Valley and Ali was outstanding. He is so patient with slower members of a group as the walk is fairly challenging for those of average fitness but as he points out readily, we take as long as we take. The trip is excellent and again, I would suggest that you take Christines advice.

I could not finish without mentioning Yousif, who is the most charming young man and who made our breakfasts each morning and was available each night to serve supper etc. He speaks very good English and is always smiling and helpful and is able to give you local advice.

In short I cannot recommend the Riad Miski strongly enough! I would not stay anywhere else in the Medina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

really enjoyed my time here. i loved how we had a different version of pancakes every morning for breakfast! the day out we did to the berber village was FANTASTIC! we had a chauffer and a personal tour guide for the day for 50euros each which i thought was alot but it was more then worth it - was a great adventure off the tourist track. The riad was about 15-20min walk to the main square and you had to make sure you memorised the route as it's easy to get lost. it's very busy, vibrant and dusty in marrakesh and this riad is the opposit. very peaceful and clean yet atmospheric - almost as if you're staying in a palace! The lovely french lady gave us some good tips on places to eat. we had a great time but 3 nights was enough in marrakesh.

Room Tip: we stayed in the purple room which was really nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I selected the Riad Miski for our honeymoon based on the Trip advisor reviews and the Riad certainly lived up to our expectations. Christine is incredibly efficient with the way the Riad is run and all her staff help to provide a wonderful experience. They were all first class especially Yusef who took a real interest in making sure we got the most out of HIS city. We were ever so slightly concerned when the taxi driver dropped us off near the Riad as it wasn't what we were expecting. There were half clothed children running around infront of the taxi as we pulled up and as we got out we were confronted by lots of people offering to carry our bags etc. Please don't be put off by this as the Riad is situated in a residential part of the city so you will be staying in the real Marrakech with real people yet only a brief walk to the main square. They are the most friendly, kind and hospitable people you will meet so don't be put off by the initial shock. We took the opportunity of doing a cooking lesson with Rana the chef at the Riad and this involved heading to the local market and buying the ingredients. What an experience! A real opportunity to see a master at work as she negotiated with the various sellers to pick the best produce at the best price. The afternoon of cooking taught us so much and resulted in a beautiful meal (thanks to Rana's help) on the roof terrace. We also made use of the Hamman at the Riad and enjoyed a relaxing authentic Hamman followed by one of the best massages I've ever had. All in all this really is a special place to stay........

Room Tip: They are all really good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Another vote from me, for how nice this place is.

I think everything has already been said, I have nothing else to do but to agree.

Only one remark, we've stayed in Gingimbre room and the bathroom has no door (it has a curtin instead). This was no problem for us but might be for others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Miski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Miski

Address: 6, derb Abdelouassaa | Ben Saleh, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Miski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Miski Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Miski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.