We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful riad and lovely hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Tayib to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, beautiful riad and lovely hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor before but I have been blown away by Riad Dar Tayib. The riad itself is perfectly located in a quiet and peaceful street in the heart of the Medina, minutes from the Souks and main square. The riad is beautifully decorated in an authentic traditional Moroccan way with many tasteful touches. The hosts and staff are the loveliest people, always here to help and give useful advice on what to do and where to go (and how to get there - which can be a challenge in the Medina). Vincent helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains and gave us lots of great tips. Latifa cooked some delicious and fresh traditional Moroccan cuisine for us. They have been very welcoming and helpful and speak perfect French and English. Also, the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of the place. All and all, if you are looking for the real Moroccan traditional experience combined with all the comfort you need and great warm people, Riad Dar Tayib is a must! Loved it! Thanks, Latifa and Vincent for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
111
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Dar Tayib for six nights so we feel we got a good sense of the place. I shopped around with a number of riads, and it is really hard to beat the value you get with this place. The riad is located in a quiet, residential part of the Medina, a refuge from the intensity of the souks.

The absolute best part of the experience of this riad are Vincent and Latifa. They really treat people like guests in their home instead of as clients. Both of them are incredibly helpful and warm people and we really appreciated their attentiveness. I would also recommend having dinner at the riad at least once. We ate at a number of restaurants in the Medina and nothing beat the home-cooked meal for taste and value. The breakfast is also very good.

Thank you so much, Vincent and Latifa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Riad Dar Tayib for two nights. Finding the riad was a bit of a nightmare. You can't get a taxi to near the riad so you have to find your way among the souk and find an unlit unmarked door down a small alley. This was very stressful, so definitely get directions from them.

Once we got there, we stayed in the Yasmina suite, which is a lovely room and it had lots of character with a curtained four poster bed with a day bed on the side. The tub is big enough to swim in, and I pretty much did! The bed is comfy and the overall room was what I expected.

THe rest of the riad was a little less spot on. The wifi is very slow and you have to wander around to get signal. Also in the common areas, it is a bit grotty and could use a face lift and a bit of a scrub. I found old bread under the cushion I was leaning on. The outside space up top was really lovely as well with a multilevel rooftop with some areas in sun, some in shade - well thought out.

Breakfasts were good.

The staff and owners were lovely and enthusiastically helpful. When we had to leave they showed us where to get a taxi and actually got the driver to use the meter on the way to airport, which cost 40 dirhams including tip, as opposed to the 80-100 they usually bargain down to.

Overall this place is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicques, Jura, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you go to Marrakech ... it is the need Dar Tayib book.
Latifa and her team are exemplary kindness.
I hope one day to return. Thank you again. guy

Si vous allez à Marrakech... c'est au Riad Dar Tayib qu'il faut réserver.
Latifa et toute son équipe sont d'une gentillesse exemplaire.
J'espère un jour y retourner. Merci encore. guy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We wanted something a bit special for a 10th wedding anniversary trip to Morocco and got it in Laifta and Vincent's lovely Riad.

We stayed in the Jasmina room which is beautiful and made a little more special for us as it was our anniversary.

We were met at the airport (which was essential - finding Dar Tayib without it would have been tricky that first night) and then by a delicious Moroccan feast cooked by Latifa.

The next morning Latifa gave us a quick tour to Djemma el Fna (the main square) to orientate ourselves and help us find our way back.

Breakfast was lovely and even included the British essential thé anglais (which was trickier to find elsewhere).

They made us so welcome and helped us with bookings for restraunts, Hammans and advice about trips beyond Marrakech. They also helped us find various places around Marrakech as the narrow streats of the Medina can be confusing.

Plenty of mint tea and pastries we also offered after a busy day exploring Marrakech.

As mentioned Dar Tayib is very close to the Souks and tricky to find without Latifa or Vincent's initial help. Latifa's initial tour ensured that we didn't have any trouble finding Dar Tayib (until I decided to go off-piste one evening).

Several faux-guides tried to help us on the way back to the Riad assuming that we didn't know where we going and we had to be pretty strong with a few of them making sure they realised we knew where we were going and didn't want or need their help. But that's all a part of the Marrakech experience.

A great choice of Riad with fantastic hosts. Thank you Latifa and Vincent for making us so welcome during our stay.

Room Tip: Jasmina is a lovely room with great Moroccan features and lovely four poster bed and romantic drapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a long weekend in Marrakech to celebrate a significant birthday, and stayed three nights at Dar Tayib. Vincent and Latifa are amazing hosts, and they made us feel as if we were at home. They arranged an airport transfer for us and this was very helpful as, until you know your way around the souk, it can be confusing to find. We had an amazing home-cooked tagine ready for us when we arrived. The accomodation is on three floors, with the courtyard as its centre, with a fountain and orange trees. On the ground floor are rooms for lounging and reading in (and plenty of books available), with the evening meal served at tables in the courtyard itself. Bedrooms are on the first floor, with the upper floor a rooftop sundeck with loungers and a canopied sofa. We stayed in the Yasmina suite, with a four poster bed, romantic drapes and a HUGE bath tub. Definitely the room to choose for romance!
Vincent took us into the souk the first morning, and showed us landmarks to find our way back. It worked! We negotiated the narrow passages on our return that evening with no difficulty, something we would not have believed possible when we arrived.

Plus points:

Right in the centre of things
Excellent Hosts
Good breakfasts (included) and evening meals (on request)
Clean
Amazing, authentic decor
Lovely accomodation
Great for couples/groups of adults

Minus points:

Hard to find (arrange a transfer)
Steep steps to accomodation
Probably not good if travelling with younger children

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed with Latifa and Vincent for 12 days over the Christmas period (2012). From the moment we entered their Riad, until the day we left, they made us feel like their family and that their Riad was our home. Nothing was too much for them - they took care of us in such a beautiful way, along with their staff. Our time in Morocco was very special and it was made extra special by their warmth and care for us. We miss being with them and highly recommend staying at Riad Dar Tayib if you are visiting Marrakesh.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tayib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.