We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Tayib to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Tayib
Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
antwerp
1 review
“Great Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great hospitality, excellent food in a nice and quiet Riad in the heart of the medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
106
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had very little time to arrange our bus trip south from Marrakesh. Vincent stepped in and bought our tickets for us in advance--this on top of all the other conveniences and kindnesses mentioned by other guests at Dar Tayib. Vincent and Latifa are charming and thoughtful hosts, you can let yourself be guided by them in confidence.

The hotel itself is clean and full of character, the kind of place we would love to call home ourselves. Check out the view of the Atlas mountains over the rooftops of the Medina, while swallows wheel around the minarets, as you stand on the rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent 5 days at this charming riad last month. Having read so many great reviews beforehand, it was good to see that the Dar el Tayib lived up to expectations! We arrived in the evening and were met at the airport by a taxi-man who escorted us directly to the Riad door. French Vincent and his Moroccan wife Latifa were there to welcome us with mint tea and traditional pastries and then to serve a beautiful chicken tagine.

The riad is in the heart of the medina but away from the main hustle and bustle - a little oasis in the middle of a whirlwind of people, donkeys, mopeds.. There aren't many street names/signs so fortunately Vincent showed us the way to Djemma El Fna - 'La Place' on our first day, although we still managed to get lost on subsequent occasions - there's always a local on hand to direct you back for a small tip!

The bedrooms lead off from a stunning courtyard and are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed on the top floor, leading up to the roof terrace offering great views of the city skyline and on a good day, the mountains.

Breakfast was a selection of French baguette, toasted flat breads and Moroccan pancakes, served with very fresh orange juice and homemade yoghurts. It's also definitely worth eating in in the evening at least once - the food is delicious and there's a lot of it - have a small lunch! I was also lucky enough to have an impromptu cookery lesson one afternoon by the two girls who work there.

Vincent speaks excellent English and seemed to be able to organise any numbers of trips at a moment's notice! We spent a day exploring the Atlas mountains in a hire car with chauffeur Youssef. It is good value and recommended if you don't fancy a 6hr+ drive on winding roads yourself! Their hospitality is endless and their enthusiasm infectious.

After a tiring day of bartering in the souks, the Dar Tayib is the perfect place to relax with a tasty homecooked tagine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We found Dar Tayib in the Lonely Planet and they lived up to all our expectations. They were prompt with their emails for booking and various detail regarding pick up. The food was fabulous and Vincent and Latifa really made us feel at home. The location of the riad really gives you a feel for life in the medina, and was easy to find again once Vincent showed us some of the main landmarks. The riad itself is lovely and we would have loved to stay longer. Aside from the fabulously decorated courtyard and rooms the sunny terrace allowed us to relax after a busy day in the medina. The hospitality and sense of calm made this one of the best places we staid during our two weeks in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to do justice in one paragraph to the warmth and friendliness that we encountered from the moment we stepped through the door. Vincent and his wife Latifa welcome in a way that makes you feel like you are visiting relatives. They go out of their way to show you through the maze of the medina, discover the best shops, get the best bargains and see a side of Marrakech that most tourist won't even glimpse. I'll never forget the precious moments shared over a mint tea and home made pastries, nor the friendships that we made. Filled with people that resemble characters from a novel, this riad is for adventurers in search of something more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked two nights based on reviews in LonelyPlanet and on TripAdvisor, and really enjoyed our time here.

Actually finding the front door of any riad in Marrakesh can be quite a challenge, but we were met from our petit taxi at "El Moukef" (a small square on the north east side of the medina) by Vincent, who then walked us the few yards around the corner to Dar Tayib.

The location is good (about a 10 minute walk through the souks to the main square). Navigation was made much easier thanks to a free map and a "personal walking escort" from Vincent when we first set off into the centre of Marrakech!

The welcome tea and macaroons were very nice, as was breakfast each day (I quite regret not staying one night for dinner at the riad, although I can strongly recommend the Souk Cafe).

Many thanks to Vincent for helping us with a trip to the bus station and ATM after checking out - just another example of how helpful everyone was during our short stay!

Room Tip: "Aicha" room was lovely, but the bathroom is part of the bedroom (perhaps not ideal for ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Fantastic hospitable hosts in Vincent (Mr Fixit) and Latifa (and their delightful assistants) who will personally guide you through the backstreets to find hidden gems, arrange excursions tailored to where YOU want to go and want to do, demonstrate and provide fantastic Moroccan cooking, etc. This beautiful traditional riad is within the northern part of the Medina close to the Souks and within walking distance of most places of interest. It come complete with banana and orange trees, a roof terrace offering spectacular views over the city with the snow-capped High Atlas mountains in the distance, comfortable guest lounges and informal restaurant, plus a comprehensive library of local information. Our ensuite accommodation was compact but perfectly adequate and was cleaned and tidied every day of our week's stay. Nice simple breakfast. Be
sure to sample the in-house cuisine. Accept the offer of transport from the airport to the riad to ensure an untroubled start to your stay. A wonderful all round experience worthy of a sixth star!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tayib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.